Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 19, 2013, 03:42 PM   #1
hannesoth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
How well can I make music on a Macbook Air?

Hej.

I will probably get a Macbook Air with 11.6-inch screen with 1.3GHz Inter Core i5, 128 GB flash storage and 4 GB memory. I will probably use Logic Pro when I make music. I will get the Macbook Air from school so I can't choose another. How well can I make music on it?
hannesoth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 03:48 PM   #2
GSPice
macrumors 68000
 
GSPice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannesoth View Post
Hej.

I will probably get a Macbook Air with 11.6-inch screen with 1.3GHz Inter Core i5, 128 GB flash storage and 4 GB memory. I will probably use Logic Pro when I make music. I will get the Macbook Air from school so I can't choose another. How well can I make music on it?
Very well.



Logic Pro on an Air? If you have to ask...
__________________
15" Haswell rMBP 2.3/16/512/750m | 24" iMac 3.06/500/4/8800 | Mac OS X 10.9.2
AEBS MC340LL/A | APC RS 800VA/XS 1000 | iPhone 5 16GB 7.1 | iPad 16GB LTE 7.1 | Apple TV 2
GSPice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 03:50 PM   #3
Boyd01
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey Pine Barrens
I used a 2011 13" i5/4gb/256gb MBA with Logic for almost two years and it ran great. You should be fine, although 128GB isn't much disk space so you will probably want an external drive. The screen on the 11" model is a bit small, but an external monitor can fix that too.

I just sold my 13" MBA and upgraded to a new 11" i7/8gb/512gb MBA, and really like it also. The 11" model is great for travel.
Boyd01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 03:53 PM   #4
hannesoth
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSPice View Post
Very well.



Logic Pro on an Air? If you have to ask...
What do you mean? Will Logic Pro run well or not?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyd01 View Post
I used a 2011 13" i5/4gb/256gb MBA with Logic for almost two years and it ran great. You should be fine, although 128GB isn't much disk space so you will probably want an external drive. The screen on the 11" model is a bit small, but an external monitor can fix that too.

I just sold my 13" MBA and upgraded to a new 11" i7/8gb/512gb MBA, and really like it also. The 11" model is great for travel.
Okay, sounds great. Yea exactly it's great for travel and using it at school and when I'm home I will use an external monitor. Thanks for your reply.
hannesoth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2013, 03:56 PM   #5
Suraj R.
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannesoth View Post
Hej.

I will probably get a Macbook Air with 11.6-inch screen with 1.3GHz Inter Core i5, 128 GB flash storage and 4 GB memory. I will probably use Logic Pro when I make music. I will get the Macbook Air from school so I can't choose another. How well can I make music on it?
Yes, I have used Logic flawlessly on my 2013 13" i5/8/128 model. Logic ran semi-decently on my old C2D iMac so you should be fine.
__________________
2013 MacBook Air 13" i5/8/128
iPhone 5S Gold 32GB
Suraj R. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2013, 09:12 AM   #6
AXs
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
You're not going to be lacking power nor RAM.

What you're going to be lacking, are ports.
AXs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2013, 09:54 AM   #7
Boyd01
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey Pine Barrens
Yeah, that bothered me at first. Had to replace my firewire interface with a USB interface. But I now have a 4 channel Akai EIE pro USB interface and it fits my (modest) needs perfectly. It also includes a 3 port powered USB hub, which is handy.

I have a Seagate thunderbolt dock that you can snap external drives into. It cost about $130 and the drives range from $100-$200 depending on size. It has a pass-through port and I connect my (ancient) 23" 1920x1200 Apple Cinema display to that.

I believe you can now get a thunderbolt to firewire adaptor at a reasonable cost. And there's also an inexpensive thunderbolt to ethernet adaptor.

So it may not be optimal, but it's certainly possible to make-do with the limited ports. And it seems like a reasonable trade-off for the portability. I don't find it at all limiting anymore, which is why I just got a 2013 MBA after two years using a 2011 MBA.
Boyd01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC