Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 10, 2013, 12:15 PM   #1
desertman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arizona, USA
Why is it impossible to create keyboard shortcuts for some applications?

I don't know since when, but since a while it is possible to create one's own keyboard shortcuts for menu items in (non-Apple) applications through the Keyboard preference panel. A very good OS X feature that I use frequently.

However, for certain applications it is not possible to create such keyboard shortcuts - i. e. Adobe Acrobat Pro X. Does anybody know why this is so? Is it possible that Adobe prevents this, or is this due to some other reason?
__________________
[i5 iMac; 2.7 GHz; 12 GB RAM; OS X 10.9.5 iPad Air; iOS 8.1 iPhone 4S; iOS 8.1 Apple TV 2; OS 5.2]
desertman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 12:30 PM   #2
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Well, that's interesting.

I note that none of Adobe CS6 appears in the list of apps to choose in the Keyboard Shortcut creation dialog.

I presume that Adobe uses non-standard user-interface code, i.e. they don't use Apple's provided APIs for creating menus and other interface controls.

You might want to consider using an app like iKey, which gives you much greater control over triggering commands and events with keyboard shortcuts. You may have better luck there.
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 12:52 PM   #3
desertman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arizona, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwiggy View Post
... they don't use Apple's provided APIs for creating menus and other interface controls.
Thanks, that at least explains it. The stupid thing about Acrobat is that it - unlike all other Creative Suite applications - does not offer the possibility to create or change keyboard shortcuts from within itself. As far as I know Indesign was the first application at all that had this feature and I still think it's just awesome that I can configure almost each and every function of it according to my needs and likings.

I do use QuicKeys for cases like this, I just wondered (and think it's quite stupid and arrogant of Adobe) why it is not possible "the normal way" for Acrobat.
__________________
[i5 iMac; 2.7 GHz; 12 GB RAM; OS X 10.9.5 iPad Air; iOS 8.1 iPhone 4S; iOS 8.1 Apple TV 2; OS 5.2]
desertman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 01:02 PM   #4
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by desertman View Post
I just wondered (and think it's quite stupid and arrogant of Adobe) why it is not possible "the normal way" for Acrobat.
It's not uncommon for multi-platform software to work in this way. Adobe writes as much code as possible to work on both platforms, which in this case includes all the menus, palettes, etc.
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assigning keyboard shortcuts on Apple Wired keyboard w/ numpad comatory Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 1 Dec 8, 2014 10:10 AM
Can you create shortcuts on chrome? The Game 161 Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 2 Oct 19, 2013 11:38 AM
iPhone: Seeking help to create navigation shortcuts 561427 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 May 5, 2013 04:49 PM
Is there a way to create shortcuts for folders in the Save dialog? Doju Mac Basics and Help 2 Sep 17, 2012 03:50 PM
Is it possible to prevent Windows applications from creating shortcuts? haravikk Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 10 Jul 13, 2012 06:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC