Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 10, 2013, 02:35 PM   #1
Liske
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: California
W3670 + 1333mhz 1066mhz OWC Ram

I bought 4 sticks of ram 8 x 4 from OWC, Mac Sales.

The ram is 1333mhz.

I have a W3670 3.2ghz Hexacore.

The ram is registering at 1066 in the system profile, after pram reset etc...

OWC says, which is what I was wondering this forum response is -

"
This is completely normal in this instance. These modules are dual programmed, they run in 1066MHz and 1333MHz computers. Due to a limitation in system report only the first line of code is read and that is why it reports as 1066MHz memory.

Sincerely,

OWC
Technical Customer Service Representative
Other World Computing, Inc. (OWC)
"
__________________
www.redwooddesign.com
Liske is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 02:48 PM   #2
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liske View Post
I bought 4 sticks of ram 8 x 4 from OWC, Mac Sales.

The ram is 1333mhz.

I have a W3670 3.2ghz Hexacore.

The ram is registering at 1066 in the system profile, after pram reset etc...

OWC says, which is what I was wondering this forum response is -

"
This is completely normal in this instance. These modules are dual programmed, they run in 1066MHz and 1333MHz computers. Due to a limitation in system report only the first line of code is read and that is why it reports as 1066MHz memory.

Sincerely,

OWC
Technical Customer Service Representative
Other World Computing, Inc. (OWC)
"
Seems odd to me, I run dual rank 16GB modules from Kingston and they run at.... 1333Mhz. Even system profiler shows 1333Mhz. I guess you could use a tool such as CPU-Z to determine the actual speed?

What do 3 modules run at? 1 module?
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 02:52 PM   #3
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liske View Post
I bought 4 sticks of ram 8 x 4 from OWC, Mac Sales.

The ram is 1333mhz.

I have a W3670 3.2ghz Hexacore.

The ram is registering at 1066 in the system profile, after pram reset etc...
Your CPU only supports up to 1066MHz memory type as specified in this link in the memory specs section. Only W3680 and 3690 support up to 1333MHz. But the OWC response is just pure BS as well.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 02:58 PM   #4
Liske
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: California
Oh thanks. There seems to be conflicting information out there about the 3670. A lot of places says it can run and it acknowledges 1333

Thanks so much this forum rocks!
Liske is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:06 PM   #5
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
The speed difference between 1066 and 1333 is so miniscule that it is not noticeable in real life use.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 04:00 PM   #6
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Quote:
Originally Posted by actionablemango View Post
the speed difference between 1066 and 1333 is so miniscule that it is not noticeable in real life use.
+1
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC