Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2013, 06:59 AM   #1
mattbm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
iTunes 11 can't remember window size

Hello,
I've just updated iTunes to 11 (11.0.1 for the time) on Snow Leo 10.6.8, almost everything works perfectly, it's much faster than previous version BUT:

- every time I relaunch iTunes, it goes back to its default window size (which is a bit wider than my macbook screen resolution 1280). I had tried everything, this trick with Option+maximize from older versions but nothing helped. Any ideas?
mattbm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 06:13 PM   #2
msc126
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I have a similar problem: I've updated to iTunes 11 (11.0.1) and I've mountain lion 10.8.2.

No matter how I resize iTunes, if I quit it and then open it, the window will come back to default size. It only seems to happen on the horizontal length. If i resize it vertically, it will remember next time I open iTunes. The same doesn't happen for the horizontal resize: iTunes will show the default horizontal size every time I open it.
msc126 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 03:21 AM   #3
F1 Fan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Has anyone got anywhere on this issue yet? I'm on Windows 7 and having the same problem. Really annoying thing is that it defaults to slightly larger than my screen so that the right hand side scroll bar is off the screen! To fix it, I have to drag it down away from the edge, shrink it, move it back into the centre and then maximise it - every time! :@
F1 Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 06:17 PM   #4
msc126
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by msc126 View Post
I have a similar problem: I've updated to iTunes 11 (11.0.1) and I've mountain lion 10.8.2.

No matter how I resize iTunes, if I quit it and then open it, the window will come back to default size. It only seems to happen on the horizontal length. If i resize it vertically, it will remember next time I open iTunes. The same doesn't happen for the horizontal resize: iTunes will show the default horizontal size every time I open it.
I've found the solution for this! Maybe it will help for the original post issue!

Code:
cd /Applications/iTunes.app/Contents/Resources/YOURLANGUAGE.lproj/
replace YOURLANGUAGE with the system language!

Code:
sudo nano AppConfig.plist
edit the field "browser-window-minimum-width" for 700 (english version has this value).

Ctrl + X, and then confirm Yes, and finally Enter.
msc126 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 10:55 AM   #5
genimac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by msc126 View Post
I've found the solution for this! Maybe it will help for the original post issue!

Code:
cd /Applications/iTunes.app/Contents/Resources/YOURLANGUAGE.lproj/
replace YOURLANGUAGE with the system language!

Code:
sudo nano AppConfig.plist
edit the field "browser-window-minimum-width" for 700 (english version has this value).

Ctrl + X, and then confirm Yes, and finally Enter.
Thanks a lot for the tip.
In my MacBook with 10.7.5 and iTunes 11.0.2 I need to change
Code:
<key>browser-window-minimum-width</key>
                <integer>1300</integer>
to
Code:
<key>browser-window-minimum-width</key>
                <integer>1000</integer>
now I can resize the width from 1000px to full screen.
genimac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 03:27 PM   #6
bekble
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
can sb explain it to me step by step please?

hi,

I don't understand how to follow this instructions,

1)does "cd /Applications/iTunes.app/Contents/Resources/YOURLANGUAGE.lproj/" mean to open "Terminal" and write "cd /Applications/iTunes.app/Contents/Resources/YOURLANGUAGE.lproj/"?

2)if yes, when I replace "Applications" to "Programy" what means Applications in my language and "YOURLANGUAGE" to "pl.Iproj" than Terminal says:"-bash: cd: /Programy/iTunes.app/Contents/Resources/pl.lproj: No such file or directory"

3)how can I find how my language is called in iTunes folder and what did I do wrong?

4)I also tried to edit AppConfig.plist by TextEdit - I changed "<key>browser-window-minimum-width</key>
<integer>1200</integer>" into <key>browser-window-minimum-width</key>
<integer>1000</integer> but in vain.

please help,

best regards,
bekble

Last edited by bekble; Mar 25, 2013 at 03:33 PM.
bekble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 08:28 AM   #7
genimac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bekble View Post
hi,

I don't understand how to follow this instructions,

1)does "cd /Applications/iTunes.app/Contents/Resources/YOURLANGUAGE.lproj/" mean to open "Terminal" and write "cd /Applications/iTunes.app/Contents/Resources/YOURLANGUAGE.lproj/"?

2)if yes, when I replace "Applications" to "Programy" what means Applications in my language and "YOURLANGUAGE" to "pl.Iproj" than Terminal says:"-bash: cd: /Programy/iTunes.app/Contents/Resources/pl.lproj: No such file or directory"

3)how can I find how my language is called in iTunes folder and what did I do wrong?

4)I also tried to edit AppConfig.plist by TextEdit - I changed "<key>browser-window-minimum-width</key>
<integer>1200</integer>" into <key>browser-window-minimum-width</key>
<integer>1000</integer> but in vain.

please help,

best regards,
bekble
Do the following:
- open the Application folder
- right-click or ctrl-click the iTunes application
- select the second option on the menu (show package contents)
- open all needed folders until you see the YOURLANGUAGE.lproj folder
- open terminal
- type "cd " (yes put an space) and drag the YOURLANGUAGE.lproj folder to the terminal window, you have the path typed so "enter"
- do the "sudo nano AppConfig.plist"
genimac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 05:04 PM   #8
bekble
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
thank you "genimac" very very much!!

it solved not only this problem but in the future I will understand solutions like this one

best regards
js
bekble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2014, 07:19 PM   #9
cosmicrepairman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
a far simpler solution

I have Snow Leopard, just installed iTunes 11.3.1, was instantly annoyed by the fact that it wouldn't remember either the window size that I set, or that I wanted the sidebar visible.

Found this and other threads with others complaining of the same thing, wasn't happy with the solutions offered - I just want the damn thing to remember how I left it when it re-opens like every other app.

The solution: I toggled the green dot a few times, and it switched between full screen and where I had it. Then I quit and restarted it and it remembered not only the size but kept the sidebar. And it continues to do so, no matter how big or small I leave the window.
cosmicrepairman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Imac 27' Safari text size Remember? mocman iMac 4 Jan 6, 2014 07:25 AM
Keep a new Finder window the same size? Imola Ghost OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 May 20, 2013 11:24 PM
Finder window size JoeSay Mac Basics and Help 2 May 2, 2013 09:45 PM
Safari won't remember its window size parish OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 Dec 4, 2012 02:07 AM
Application window size issue(s) derek.fulmer Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Aug 8, 2012 10:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC