Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2013, 11:59 AM   #1
G4TheWin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: A ditch somewhere
Question iBook G4 connection drops with WPA2

Just what the title says is happening. The WiFi in my house used to be WEP, but was changed to WPA2 to work with an XBOX wireless bridge. My laptop was made before the redesign, so there should be no solder problems with the Airport Extreme, and the connection was working perfectly before the security was changed. Any suggestions? I'm going to try to set the connection to WPA to fix it, but don't know if that will work.
G4TheWin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 12:36 PM   #2
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
What OS are you running? I faced similar problem and atleast in that case Tiger had problems while with Leopard it was OK.
Zotaccian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 12:50 PM   #3
G4TheWin
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: A ditch somewhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotaccian View Post
What OS are you running? I faced similar problem and atleast in that case Tiger had problems while with Leopard it was OK.
I'm running Tiger. Leopard just runs way too slowly on anything lower than a G5 or something.
G4TheWin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:32 AM   #4
crewkid89
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Is Tiger fully updated to 10.4.11? I know I had some issues at first doing wifi on wpa2 before updating.
crewkid89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 11:35 AM   #5
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by G4TheWin View Post
I'm running Tiger. Leopard just runs way too slowly on anything lower than a G5 or something.
I put Leo on a 1 GHz TiBook last night. It ran fine, I would try that and see if the issue is resolved.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:22 PM   #6
G4TheWin
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: A ditch somewhere
I'm sorry for this bump, but it's STILL not working! First, I upgraded to Leopard. Connection still drops regularly. Next, I thought that the connection wasn't strong, so I got one of those Wi-Fi extenders. Nothing. My laptop was made before the motherboard redesigns, so there shouldn't be any issues there, and I don't think it's the case heat, as just connecting to another network (temporarily) fixes the problem. Can anyone tell me what's up?
__________________
I have an iBook G4. Get it? G4TheWin? It's a portmanteau of G4 and For The Win. Isn't it funny? No? Well, it's because... Oh? You get it? I guess I'm just horrible at everything.
G4TheWin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:39 PM   #7
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
What model iBook do you have?
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:58 PM   #8
G4TheWin
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: A ditch somewhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
What model iBook do you have?
I have model A1054. Low End Mac says that my model number is M9623LL/A. CoconutIdentifyCard says that my laptop was built between May 30th 2005 and June 5th, 2005, so right before the July 2005 redesign with the fast hard drive, Mac OS X tiger pre-installed, Bluetooth, and two finger scrolling. I'm kinda jealous that my mac comes so close, now. I'm sorry if this is too much, but that's better than too little in my opinion.
__________________
I have an iBook G4. Get it? G4TheWin? It's a portmanteau of G4 and For The Win. Isn't it funny? No? Well, it's because... Oh? You get it? I guess I'm just horrible at everything.
G4TheWin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 11:41 PM   #9
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
It sounds like you have model A1055. This model, like all G4 iBooks, has an ATA/100 hard drive bus. You iBook also has Bluetooth 1.1.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 06:55 AM   #10
G4TheWin
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: A ditch somewhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
It sounds like you have model A1055. This model, like all G4 iBooks, has an ATA/100 hard drive bus. You iBook also has Bluetooth 1.1.
I don't mean to argue, and want this problem to be solved, but my iBook is 1.2 GHz and has a 30 GB hard drive. Plus, the bottom of my machine says model A1054.
__________________
I have an iBook G4. Get it? G4TheWin? It's a portmanteau of G4 and For The Win. Isn't it funny? No? Well, it's because... Oh? You get it? I guess I'm just horrible at everything.
G4TheWin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 03:50 PM   #11
G4TheWin
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: A ditch somewhere
Sorry for double post, but I just zapped the PRAM with no better results than before. Does anyone have any help?
__________________
I have an iBook G4. Get it? G4TheWin? It's a portmanteau of G4 and For The Win. Isn't it funny? No? Well, it's because... Oh? You get it? I guess I'm just horrible at everything.
G4TheWin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 01:34 PM   #12
Babykins
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Try setting up and connecting to your guest network. My G3 wouldn't connect to my regular network but did to our guest network. We have it password protected so it is secure. Hope this helps
Babykins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 02:06 PM   #13
G4TheWin
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: A ditch somewhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babykins View Post
Try setting up and connecting to your guest network. My G3 wouldn't connect to my regular network but did to our guest network. We have it password protected so it is secure. Hope this helps
We have no guest network. Why would you need one anyway? My family's wifi used to be unprotected, but we kept getting notices from our ISP. Piracy notices, that is. I have a wifi extender box in my room, however. Are there any known problems with WPA2 and Leopard with an Airport Extreme, or is it heat related? The connection worked perfectly on WEP.
__________________
I have an iBook G4. Get it? G4TheWin? It's a portmanteau of G4 and For The Win. Isn't it funny? No? Well, it's because... Oh? You get it? I guess I'm just horrible at everything.
G4TheWin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:21 AM   #14
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by G4TheWin View Post
I'm running Tiger. Leopard just runs way too slowly on anything lower than a G5 or something.
Depends on your specs, though a G4 laptop can't really have a nice GPU upgrade to bump performance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
I put Leo on a 1 GHz TiBook last night. It ran fine, I would try that and see if the issue is resolved.
K.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G4TheWin View Post
I'm sorry for this bump, but it's STILL not working! First, I upgraded to Leopard. Connection still drops regularly. Next, I thought that the connection wasn't strong, so I got one of those Wi-Fi extenders. Nothing. My laptop was made before the motherboard redesigns, so there shouldn't be any issues there, and I don't think it's the case heat, as just connecting to another network (temporarily) fixes the problem. Can anyone tell me what's up?
Maybe try a USB wireless card. Like a Ralink 5370 chipset model for $5 on ebay, theres another, much smaller, nublet sized, 802.11n chip called the 8088cus something you can get. My Macbook 4,1 with no Airport antenna uses one to epic effect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G4TheWin View Post
Sorry for double post, but I just zapped the PRAM with no better results than before. Does anyone have any help?
Nah PRAM zapping has only helped with my faulty built-in Macbook iSight problem.
__________________
Emergency Cheesegrater - 2x 1.8 G5 - 4GB - OWC SSD - ATI Fire GL X3 256MB - 10.5.8
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:54 PM   #15
G4TheWin
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: A ditch somewhere
Just got it working again! I simply deleted the connection from Settings and the Keychain, fixed permissions, and it worked! Got it from an Apple forum somewhere.
__________________
I have an iBook G4. Get it? G4TheWin? It's a portmanteau of G4 and For The Win. Isn't it funny? No? Well, it's because... Oh? You get it? I guess I'm just horrible at everything.
G4TheWin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC