Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2013, 03:42 PM   #1
shenan1982
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Going + 16GB on top of 27's 8GB original?

So I have the 27" iMac 27" on it's way. I went with the 8GB standard (plus fusion). My initial impression is that the computer only takes 2 RAM cards, but now I understand it'll take 4.

Am I ok to just add the 2x8GB Crucial to the existing 2x4GB, or am I better removing the 2x4GB and keeping the RAM all the same, or possibly ordering another 2x8GB kit to have 32GB total?

Thanks!
shenan1982 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 04:15 PM   #2
FreemanW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: The Real Northern California
It really is up to you.

The iMac core i5 & i7 chipsets support dual-channel memory--not triple-channel. When you open your memory access panel, you will see that the two SODIMM are in staggered slots.

Whatever matched pairing memory you order, you will install that pair in the open slots, and you're good to go.

I did opt for and went with the 32GB option. I couldn't be happier . . . well . . . if my 3TB Fusion drive were a 3TB SSD, I'd be happier, but only if someone else paid for it.
__________________
iMac, iPad, iPhone, TimeCapsule x 2
FreemanW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 05:20 PM   #3
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by shenan1982 View Post
So I have the 27" iMac 27" on it's way. I went with the 8GB standard (plus fusion). My initial impression is that the computer only takes 2 RAM cards, but now I understand it'll take 4.

Am I ok to just add the 2x8GB Crucial to the existing 2x4GB, or am I better removing the 2x4GB and keeping the RAM all the same, or possibly ordering another 2x8GB kit to have 32GB total?

Thanks!
Yes, you can have 2x4GB plus 2x8GB in the system.

And whatever you decide, you need to hold on the original Apple memory for certain AppleCare issues. The most important is if they decide to replace your system for some reason.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 06:25 PM   #4
DocMultimedia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by shenan1982 View Post
So I have the 27" iMac 27" on it's way. I went with the 8GB standard (plus fusion). My initial impression is that the computer only takes 2 RAM cards, but now I understand it'll take 4.

Am I ok to just add the 2x8GB Crucial to the existing 2x4GB, or am I better removing the 2x4GB and keeping the RAM all the same, or possibly ordering another 2x8GB kit to have 32GB total?

Thanks!
Yep, that is what I did. Love my iMac.
DocMultimedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 07:14 PM   #5
shenan1982
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I actually went ahead and ordered an additional 2x8GB... I figure for $78 it's a very small price to pay for an additional level of futureproofing. I'll hang on to the old and to 4x8GB.

Thanks for the advice everyone, I greatly appreciate it!
shenan1982 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still have a nearly new iPhone original 8gb... California iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Apr 12, 2014 12:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC