Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:18 PM   #1
sharpiess
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
ATI PC Cards in MacPro???????

Really new to this and do not know if this is right place to post. Looking for any and all info. on using the 4850 and 4870 PC cards in a Pro. I have looked for a long time reading different forums, a lot of them outdated. Just when I get on the trail in a forum, someone jumps in with their problem and just derails everything. A lot of the links have been removed and so on. Trying to find the mac roms. for some of these cards. Any help at all will be appreciated, Thanks
sharpiess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 01:12 AM   #2
tjlazer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Send a message via ICQ to tjlazer Send a message via Yahoo to tjlazer
ATI 4870 can be flashed easily for Mac use. Use google.
__________________
--
Mac Pro 4,1, Hex 3.20 GHz, 16GB, 2TB, ATI 5870 1GB, SL
iMac 24", 2.4GHz, 4GB, 500GB HD, ML
Powerbook G3 Bronze, 333MHz, 512MB, 40GB HD, OS 9.22
tjlazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:51 AM   #3
sharpiess
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Yeah, I googled, Binged, yahooed, metacrawlered, and just came up with basically the same links over and over no matter how I worded it. Unless somebody has a different way to search.
sharpiess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 12:43 PM   #4
tjlazer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Send a message via ICQ to tjlazer Send a message via Yahoo to tjlazer
I just flashed a PC ATI 4870 512MB card I got for $28. Works great with boot screens! See here:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...661681&page=14

If you want I can send you a archive with everything you need, send me a PM.
__________________
--
Mac Pro 4,1, Hex 3.20 GHz, 16GB, 2TB, ATI 5870 1GB, SL
iMac 24", 2.4GHz, 4GB, 500GB HD, ML
Powerbook G3 Bronze, 333MHz, 512MB, 40GB HD, OS 9.22

Last edited by tjlazer; Jan 15, 2013 at 01:03 PM.
tjlazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:24 PM   #5
sharpiess
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Great. Thanks for that. I know for a lot of you guys on here that have genius IO's it is simple to do, a lot of the terminology is a foreign language to guys like me. I have looked at a lot of posts in a lot of forums, downloaded ATI flasher, Win flash, Freya,(which, when finished looks to be pretty slick), and some roms, but trying to isolate one method, without error seems daunting. I can try the posted method and see. I would be a lot more comfortable with one post that says:
1. Do ABC,then
2. Do XYZ, then
3. You are done
Thought I had a lead on a simple way, then realized it was a Hackintosh forum. So, thanks for the help, and any future suggestions you may have
sharpiess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 03:14 PM   #6
tjlazer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Send a message via ICQ to tjlazer Send a message via Yahoo to tjlazer
Here is a archive I threw together, with updated step by step. Give it a go.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ATI 4870 Flash.zip (2.27 MB, 43 views)
__________________
--
Mac Pro 4,1, Hex 3.20 GHz, 16GB, 2TB, ATI 5870 1GB, SL
iMac 24", 2.4GHz, 4GB, 500GB HD, ML
Powerbook G3 Bronze, 333MHz, 512MB, 40GB HD, OS 9.22

Last edited by tjlazer; Jan 21, 2013 at 11:23 PM.
tjlazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 03:34 PM   #7
sharpiess
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Before you replied, I took a Sapphire 4850, stuck it in slot 1 of the MacPro 1.1, installed; ATI Package.pkg, version 1, and installed; Enabler_for_Nvidia_and_multiple_ATI_cards.pkg
This allowed the 4850 to be recognized in System Profiler with this:
Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 4850
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-1
PCIe Lane Width: x16
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x9442
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision ID 113-B1480A-236
EFI Driver Revision: 01.00.236
Displays:
Display connector:
Display connector:

Showing no display connected I guess????

Tried hooking up monitor--black screen..........but it showed up in System Profiler
Any ideas before i try your latest suggestion??

Last edited by sharpiess; Jan 15, 2013 at 03:45 PM. Reason: add some more info
sharpiess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 03:46 PM   #8
sharpiess
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Just took a quick peek at what you posted and I downloaded---Freakin' awesome!!!!!!!
sharpiess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:29 PM   #9
sharpiess
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Well, followed your guidance step by step and I have success with the ATI 4870 512mb card. I about stroked out though, when I hooked up the monitor, booted,
got the boot screen and then the screen went black! I switched the monitor to the other DVI connector on the card and the screen came up-YAHOOOO!!! Put an empty DVI-VGA adapter in the connection closest the logic board, and then stuck the monitor on the outside connection--success,,again!!!! You rock!!! And it will also work in the PC I have been using. Couldn't be happier,, Thank you
Will this work the 4850 cards??????????????
sharpiess is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5,1 MacPro + ATI 5870 = screen artifacts Caesar_091 Mac Pro 4 Jan 19, 2014 10:05 AM
MACPRO does not recognise ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT anymore. laopengyou Mac Pro 3 Oct 31, 2013 05:52 PM
3 Monitors on MacPro and ATI Radeon HD5770 (VGA) frankyboy Mac Pro 8 Aug 19, 2013 11:23 AM
MacPro 3.1 Early 2008 - ATI Graphics Card b0mb4 Mac Pro 19 Feb 21, 2013 05:01 AM
Ati radeon 5770 doesn't work on MacPro 2.1 pb Inc Mac Pro 11 Jul 18, 2012 03:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC