Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:24 PM   #1
Cuechick
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Unhappy Display Seems Weird??

I just got a new Mac Mini and hooked up to an older Mac cinema display... it seems like the display is really huge and I can't figure out a way to adjust it?

When I open my website or blog the images and graphics are all distorted... I had hooked up to a Mac Book pro before and did not have this issue?

Any way to fix it?
__________________
Fresh Pie!
Cuechick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:57 PM   #2
COrocket
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
How is the mini hooked up, is it through the HDMI port or the thunderbolt port?

Check to make sure the resolution is set to the highest (native) setting using System Preferences -> Display menu. Another trick if the text and graphics seem really big/small is hold down the Command key and use the + and - keys to adjust the size onscreen.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini - i7 Quad Core 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM - 128 GB SSD - (2) Dell S2340M
COrocket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 10:16 PM   #3
Cuechick
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by COrocket View Post
How is the mini hooked up, is it through the HDMI port or the thunderbolt port?

Check to make sure the resolution is set to the highest (native) setting using System Preferences -> Display menu. Another trick if the text and graphics seem really big/small is hold down the Command key and use the + and - keys to adjust the size onscreen.
I think it is the HDMI port... They only included one hook up thing and that fit my display hook up. Though mime also had a usb cord and a firewire cord it does not fit the fire wire port on the mac mini... It does seem to be on the highest... I did try making the screens smaller but it still it only goes down about 4xs then it stops. The images on my blog for example are too big and pixel-ized... I tired making the window smaller?

It is a 30 inch cinema display....
It all looks too big...
__________________
Fresh Pie!
Cuechick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 10:44 PM   #4
COrocket
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
The firewire not fitting is probably because you have a firewire 400 cord and the back of the mini has a firewire 800 port. use something like this http://www.amazon.com/Sonnet-FireWir...to+800+adapter
and you should be set to go with that.

Ok, I looked around and found this http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3571 which explains that the maximum resolution on a 30" cinema display is 1280x800 using a single link DVI adapter, which came with the mini. Is this the case?

This would explain why everything seems pixelated, because the native resolution on the display is 2560x1600. How was your macbook pro hooked up to the display? If it is a relatively recent, did you have it hooked up via mini displayport?
__________________
2012 Mac Mini - i7 Quad Core 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM - 128 GB SSD - (2) Dell S2340M
COrocket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 10:58 PM   #5
Cuechick
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by COrocket View Post
The firewire not fitting is probably because you have a firewire 400 cord and the back of the mini has a firewire 800 port. use something like this http://www.amazon.com/Sonnet-FireWir...to+800+adapter
and you should be set to go with that.

Ok, I looked around and found this http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3571 which explains that the maximum resolution on a 30" cinema display is 1280x800 using a single link DVI adapter, which came with the mini. Is this the case?

This would explain why everything seems pixelated, because the native resolution on the display is 2560x1600. How was your macbook pro hooked up to the display? If it is a relatively recent, did you have it hooked up via mini displayport?
My old mac book which works fine with it and has a built in port, I just looked and my newer mac book pro does not have that port....?

It sounds like I need to do this: Mini DisplayPort (which I think is what it came with?) to Dual-Link DVI adapter....?
__________________
Fresh Pie!
Cuechick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:13 PM   #6
COrocket
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuechick View Post
My old mac book which works fine with it and has a built in port, I just looked and my newer mac book pro does not have that port....?

It sounds like I need to do this: Mini DisplayPort (which I think is what it came with?) to Dual-Link DVI adapter....?
To answer your question, yes, you do need a mini display-port to Dual Link DVI adapter to get the 2560x1600 resolution.

Even though the new mini has a thunderbolt port, it is the same connector as mini display port. The reason i asked about your macbook pro is I thought all the recent macbook pros had mini displayport on them. When I saw you used to have it hooked up I thought you might already have this adapter.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini - i7 Quad Core 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM - 128 GB SSD - (2) Dell S2340M
COrocket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:21 PM   #7
Cuechick
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by COrocket View Post
To answer your question, yes, you do need a mini display-port to Dual Link DVI adapter to get the 2560x1600 resolution.

Even though the new mini has a thunderbolt port, it is the same connector as mini display port. The reason i asked about your macbook pro is I thought all the recent macbook pros had mini displayport on them. When I saw you used to have it hooked up I thought you might already have this adapter.
My old MBP has a port and the display hooked right up with no problem... it looks like this is what I need?

http://www.amazon.com/Apple-MB571Z-DisplayPort-Dual-Link-Adapter/dp/B001IF252C
__________________
Fresh Pie!
Cuechick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:29 PM   #8
COrocket
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuechick View Post
My old MBP has a port and the display hooked right up with no problem... it looks like this is what I need?

http://www.amazon.com/Apple-MB571Z-DisplayPort-Dual-Link-Adapter/dp/B001IF252C
Yes, that is what you need. (I forgot that the macbook pro's that are from 2008 or earlier have a full size DVI port on them)
__________________
2012 Mac Mini - i7 Quad Core 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM - 128 GB SSD - (2) Dell S2340M
COrocket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 12:17 AM   #9
Cuechick
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Thanks, just ordered it, will let you know how it works out...

and guess that MBP is even older than I thought...
__________________
Fresh Pie!
Cuechick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:10 PM   #10
Cuechick
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Thanks so much COrocket! Got the cord and all seems to be working now.

__________________
Fresh Pie!
Cuechick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:45 PM   #11
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Maple Custard Pie looks good.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:14 PM   #12
Cuechick
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
Maple Custard Pie looks good.
Oh yes, it was!
__________________
Fresh Pie!
Cuechick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:36 PM   #13
COrocket
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuechick View Post
Thanks so much COrocket! Got the cord and all seems to be working now.
Cool! Should be a good setup. Did you ever figure out the firewire thing?
__________________
2012 Mac Mini - i7 Quad Core 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM - 128 GB SSD - (2) Dell S2340M
COrocket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:20 PM   #14
Cuechick
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by COrocket View Post
Cool! Should be a good setup. Did you ever figure out the firewire thing?
Yes, I actually had one, and I have it plugged in, not really sure if is doing anything though, it worked without it also... !
__________________
Fresh Pie!
Cuechick is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Another Weird Display Problem .. dikey MacBook Pro 3 Apr 14, 2014 02:33 PM
Weird Blotch on my iMac Display kalivas iMac 4 Apr 8, 2014 08:11 AM
Macbook pro display looking weird labelkill MacBook Pro 6 Aug 18, 2013 09:52 AM
Weird display under About This Mac Raunien MacBook Pro 8 Dec 7, 2012 07:40 AM
Weird lines/display distortions javtrincoll MacBook Pro 0 Oct 1, 2012 09:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC