Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:00 PM   #51
Nunyabinez
macrumors 6502a
 
Nunyabinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Provo, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stetrain View Post
On a 4K display like he mentioned, "Looks like 1080P" HiDPI mode would not require scaling. OSX would output the full 3840x2160, but because it's HiDPI mode you would get the effective "real estate" of a 1080P display.

The only thing that would be scaled would be applications which aren't HiDPI-aware.
Got it. Looks like I'm waiting for 4K .
__________________
iMac w/Retina 4GHz; 27" iMac, 3.4 GHz i7; 15" MBP, 2.53 GHz Core 2 Duo; 13" MBA 1.7 GHz i5; iPad (3rd Gen); iPad Mini; iPhone 6+;
Nunyabinez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:03 PM   #52
JH4DC5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
i hope they include a magsafe 2 -> magsafe 1 adapter. I would love to have this for my 2011 mbp.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz i7-2720QM / Samsung 830 256 GB SSD / Crucial 8 GB ram / Hi-res
iPhone 5 / iPad Air LTE / Rockboxed iPod 5G
JH4DC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:04 PM   #53
greg78x
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: So Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by troop231 View Post
why? Do you sit the same distance from your 27" monitor as you do a 15" macbook pro?
:d
greg78x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:07 PM   #54
Michael73
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
It would be nice if the connectors put out more power. I can dock my iPhone but not my iPad with the USB ports on my ACD. And by extension, I can't use the USB ports on my wired keyboard either.
__________________
nMP 8/32GB/1TB/D500, MP 3,1(ret.), 30" ACD
MBP 15.4" 2.2GHz Quad, 8GB RAM, 500GB
MBA 13" 1.7GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD
2TB TC, 64GB iPad / 5S / 4S, Drobo 5D, 3 x TV
Michael73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:08 PM   #55
AppliedMicro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick_elt View Post
Why dont these have an hdmi input aswell? Or do they am I reading it wrong???
You're not reading it wrong.
Your HDMI devices are (likely) outputting it wrong.

Most HDMI devices (and cables, if I'm not mistaken) do support Full HD resolution only, rather than the 27" CD's native resolution. This includes most (all?) of Apple's Computers as well.

And because even most uninformed people know HDMI but not DisplayPort, chances are that some will purchase this thing and/or try via HDMI - and then find out later that it's native resolution isn't supported. Lest we forget all the other functionality (except sound).

So put it short: HDMI would be a bag of hurt on this display.
This is why it won't be included.
AppliedMicro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:08 PM   #56
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Can't wait for a longer cable. Or some kind of compatibility with more models.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:08 PM   #57
AppliedMicro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JH4DC5 View Post
i hope they include a magsafe 2 -> magsafe 1 adapter. I would love to have this for my 2011 mbp.
Likely - as it's also included on the current generation.
AppliedMicro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:09 PM   #58
ryansimmons323
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Isn't quite funny how these displays are thicker than the iMacs?
ryansimmons323 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:09 PM   #59
rmwebs
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
I've been waiting for an updated Thunderbolt display since buying my rMBP. Currently got it hooked up to a couple of Samsung Syncmaster 24" displays, but they are pretty old and have a very slight yellow tint that you really notice next to the rMBP.

Only reason I didn't bite the bullet and buy the Thunderbolt display was because of its crap range of features. USB 2.0, only 1 TB port, etc. For it's price I'd like to see 2 thunderbolt ports and at least 3 USB 3.0 ports.

A price drop would be welcomed too!

I couldn't give a crap about it being thin though - there really is zero point in even trying to call that a feature for a desktop monitor.
rmwebs is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:10 PM   #60
Nunyabinez
macrumors 6502a
 
Nunyabinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Provo, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg78x View Post
lol Exactly.
This is a silly discussion. Use an iPhone 4 or 5 for a while and then pick-up an iPad mini. The difference is jarring (at least it was to me). People who don't appreciate the value of a retina display have just not seen one in action. My iMac looks nice, but I can clearly see pixillation at (what for me) is a normal viewing distance (YMMV). I use my computer for many hours a day and I know that eye strain would be reduced with a retina display. Eventually, we will all be saying "I can't believe I used to look at that crap all day long." The reality is that we could live with much more crappy displays, but once you acquire a taste for quality, it doesn't go away.
__________________
iMac w/Retina 4GHz; 27" iMac, 3.4 GHz i7; 15" MBP, 2.53 GHz Core 2 Duo; 13" MBA 1.7 GHz i5; iPad (3rd Gen); iPad Mini; iPhone 6+;
Nunyabinez is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:13 PM   #61
mgipe
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CA
My wish list (in priority order):

27 inch reduced glare screen from the new iMac
Same thin edge styling as new iMac
Second input to support legacy Macs and PCs (and eliminate the need for an ACD) DVI or HDMI or whatever
USB 3.0 (maybe more of these?)
Ability to daisy chain to a mini DP monitor
Audio out -- the same analog/optical plug used for other Apple products
Other features the same
Same price

Credit card in hand....
mgipe is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:13 PM   #62
NutsNGum
macrumors 68030
 
NutsNGum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryansimmons323 View Post
Isn't quite funny how these displays are thicker than the iMacs?
Not really, seeing as this design has been around for several years and the iMac has just been updated.
NutsNGum is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:13 PM   #63
rainydays
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by xionxiox View Post
I never knew why the display was so thick when all you really need is space for the connector ports. Display technology can get way thinner than this. I can't wait to see the redesign.
Not really. The ATD contains a bit more than that http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Apple...eardown/6525/1

Besides. I honestly don't get why it would need to be any thinner than it is.
rainydays is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:14 PM   #64
fiveainone
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by troop231 View Post
Why? Do you sit the same distance from your 27" monitor as you do a 15" MacBook Pro?
I do. Otherwise what's the point? Covering more of your field of vision is part of the point of a bigger screen. I never understand why people buy a 46" TV and put it 30 feet away.
fiveainone is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:16 PM   #65
rainydays
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Let's hope that they include an audio out connector on the new one!
I can't imagine why they didn't put one on the current one. It ruins the docking experience.
rainydays is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:16 PM   #66
AppliedMicro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgipe View Post
My wish list (in priority order):

(...)
I second that and might add to that:

Make actual display area lining up properly with current 27" iMacs' height (instead of being lower next to the iMac)
AppliedMicro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:18 PM   #67
koppie644
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by troop231 View Post
Why? Do you sit the same distance from your 27" monitor as you do a 15" MacBook Pro?
After using too much iPad3, I am really pissed off by all my five desktop displays
koppie644 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:19 PM   #68
puckhead193
macrumors G3
 
puckhead193's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
Now lets hope for a new Mac Pro with these new display!
__________________
nMP - 6 core, D700s, 32 gig, 1 TB, NEC PA272W
20" iMac C2D
17" MBP i7
128GB iPhone 6+, 64 GB iPad 3
puckhead193 is online now   6 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:19 PM   #69
hayesk
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by troop231 View Post
Why? Do you sit the same distance from your 27" monitor as you do a 15" MacBook Pro?
Yes. My external monitor is right next to my 15" MacBook Pro.

Retina would be awesome, though I don't expect it in a panel that size.
hayesk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:21 PM   #70
andrepelly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
credit card: ready.
Let me pull the trigger, apple!
andrepelly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:21 PM   #71
rainydays
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gugy View Post
Heck,
I would love a 30" or larger ACD version.
It's been so many years. These larger displays are great for designers. The space is so nice. If they can manage even higher resolutions, even better.
The resolution on the 27" is exactly the same as on the 30" so it's not as if you get less screen real estate. Sure the display itself is a bit smaller, but you could just move it a bit closer to make up for that.

I personally prefer the 27" size on the desktop.
rainydays is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:22 PM   #72
AppliedMicro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainydays View Post
The resolution on the 27" is exactly the same as on the 30" so it's not as if you get less screen real estate.
Actually it's not the same resolution (though being close to it) - so you do get less real estate.
AppliedMicro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:23 PM   #73
iamkarlp
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Samurai View Post
Heres hoping they'll introduce sensible pricing points... (Over everything else).
The pricing is already sensible.


Other panels of this type are 800$~ without the docking components.

While it would certainly be reasonable to ask them to make one without docking components for 749~799$, for what it is the price is justified.

If you want a cheaper monitor those already exist and are fully compatible.

Karl P
iamkarlp is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:23 PM   #74
BC2009
macrumors 68000
 
BC2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
USB 2.0 was a major sticking point for me in buying a MacBook for my wife this last Christmas. She wants a MacBook to use mostly as a desktop replacement, but plans on keeping it on her desk most of the time with a Thunderbolt Display. I could not see buying a Thunderbolt Display with USB 2.0 when USB 3.0 was available on all the latest Macs. The MagSafe versus MagSafe-2 thing was a minor issue for me since the adaptor was available.

There is no adaptor to convert USB 2 to USB 3 speeds.
BC2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:24 PM   #75
deconstruct60
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgiguere1 View Post
It still is the most elegant solution you can get for a Mac, and as always, Apple choses elegancy over standards compliance.
Elegant for the Mac laptops. For the Mac mini ( and Mac Pro if had Thunderbolt ) there is the question of the dangling, superfluous power cord. Apple doesn't always go for elegant. It is more combination of elegant and quantity.

It would make sense to come up with a Thunderbolt-less $799 monitor. There is little to no margin loss if they simply just dump the additional TB complexity, power distribution complexity, and cost along with the additional price. It would still share costs with a TB docking station ( 27 panel and most of the enclosure design) but only would have a USB 3.0 hub instead of a full fledged USB 3.0 controller ( Ethernet , FW would drop also.).

So it does less non display stuff and you'd pay less.

Quote:
Take a look at other monitors using the same LG 27" 2560x1440 IPS panel, you'll see they cost the same while being made out of plastic and having no webcam, no speakers, no FireWire/Thunderbolt/Ethernet hub, no charger for your laptop and a lower resale value.
Generally, the 2013 models are heading for the $700-800 street pricing levels. These display also generally have more video switching conversion capabilities to (i.e., handle 2-3 inputs formats. ) and factory calibration if pointing at the $900-1,100 level monitors.
deconstruct60 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt Vs. Third Party Display Onewinged37 Mac Peripherals 25 May 16, 2014 02:22 PM
Apple Thunderbolt Display Supplies Again Running Low at Third-Party Resellers MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 150 Jul 1, 2013 01:24 PM
Apple halting Thunderbolt Display shipments to resellers ahead of new Mac Pro release Relznuk Mac Pro 12 Jun 26, 2013 03:13 PM
Running a second display off of Thunderbolt Display's Thunderbolt Port? Rob.G Mac Peripherals 6 Nov 5, 2012 11:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC