Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2013, 02:47 AM   #1
VideoNewbie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
This Pic is So Cool! How Would I Recreate This?

i know its an animated gif . but how would i make that static effect?

VideoNewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:13 AM   #2
citizenzen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Noise.

and/or

Motion Blur.

and/or

Filter >Artistic > Film Grain

and/or

Filter > Distort > Wave
citizenzen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 05:44 PM   #3
VideoNewbie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by citizenzen View Post
Noise.

and/or

Motion Blur.

and/or

Filter >Artistic > Film Grain

and/or

Filter > Distort > Wave
are you saying to create multiple layers with the fx u listed above?
it still wouldnt produce the same realistic quality of the pic i posted.
VideoNewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 08:09 PM   #4
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
If you have After Effects, there are are several plugins that you can get to achieve that precise effect. I might assume that that's what they used. AE also comes with several presets to achieve the effect.

If you've got it, I can explain how to do it.

Otherwise, what the other guy said.
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:24 AM   #5
citizenzen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
are you saying to create multiple layers with the fx u listed above?
it still wouldnt produce the same realistic quality of the pic i posted.
It wouldn't? How do you know?

Perhaps I'm confused by your OP ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
i know its an animated gif . but how would i make that static effect?
When you said, "i know its an animated gif," I assumed you meant "I know it's animated, but I need to achieve a similar static effect in a still picture."

Otherwise, why make a point about it being animated? You'd just ask, "how do I achieve this effect?"

The decision then is choosing which frame of your animated GIF you wish to replicate. That's the key difference between still photography and animation: in still photography you don't get the added effect that sequential frames of images provide.

Or so I hear

Though you seem to doubt that a static TV effect could be pulled off in Photoshop, I assure you that it can, using the techniques I listed along with other basic Photoshop functions.

YMMV.

Last edited by citizenzen; Jan 14, 2013 at 08:37 AM.
citizenzen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:44 AM   #6
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
are you saying to create multiple layers with the fx u listed above?
it still wouldnt produce the same realistic quality of the pic i posted.
You're making it more complicated than it really is. Gifs like this are not complex. It has a few frames. Look at them individually. Pick the one you want to emulate, and go from there. There are complex things which would need to be picked apart by hand. This is not one of them. This can be replicated well enough via filters. If you're referring to the tones, that's another issue. If you're trying to recreate a certain tonality or film look beyond what filters and pre-built LUTs can provide, it often involves a certain amount of illustration skill.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12dylan34 View Post
If you have After Effects, there are are several plugins that you can get to achieve that precise effect. I might assume that that's what they used. AE also comes with several presets to achieve the effect.

If you've got it, I can explain how to do it.

Otherwise, what the other guy said.
There's that too ^^ Anytime there's a cheesy overused effect of some kind, you can find a plugin aimed at recreating it in less time.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 06:48 AM   #7
VideoNewbie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12dylan34 View Post
If you have After Effects, there are are several plugins that you can get to achieve that precise effect. I might assume that that's what they used. AE also comes with several presets to achieve the effect.

If you've got it, I can explain how to do it.

Otherwise, what the other guy said.


i am downloading after effects as we speak.
pls explain thank u for ur help!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
You're making it more complicated than it really is. Gifs like this are not complex.

okay so if its so simple would you please try recreating it on any picture ? id really like to see how this would turn out with just a few easy uncomplicated photoshop layers which is what you are suggesting .

here is an image

if you can show me how u would make this image look like the image i posted id appreciate it thanks

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by citizenzen View Post
It wouldn't? How do you know?


Though you seem to doubt that a static TV effect could be pulled off in Photoshop,
i didnt say it couldnt i said the effect wouldnt look exactly the same. its going to look really choppy.

the gif i posted looks like one continuous looping video which if broken down would be way more than just 2-3 layers. i dont mean this facetiously, but since it is so easy for you would you mind making one off any sample image to demonstrate ? thank u citizenzen
VideoNewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:17 AM   #8
MhzDoesMatter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Send a message via AIM to MhzDoesMatter
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
the gif i posted looks like one continuous looping video which if broken down would be way more than just 2-3 layers. i dont mean this facetiously, but since it is so easy for you would you mind making one off any sample image to demonstrate ? thank u citizenzen
Just wanted to say that at first read, I thought you meant how could you make a "static image," not a animated image of "static," as well. Just another case of message board misinterpretation. After Effects is the Photoshop of video. Though, I imagine there is some cheaper specialized shareware app that does that effect and only that effect. It's only a matter of finding the right application with the right filter plug-ins and exporting your gif.
__________________
Disclaimer: Posts are so often filled with such eviscerating sarcasm that little attention to detail is exercised i.e. spelling, grammar, and basic regard for the english language.

Last edited by MhzDoesMatter; Jan 15, 2013 at 08:19 AM. Reason: punctuation.
MhzDoesMatter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:20 AM   #9
R1PPER
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
1 minute in Photoshop. Draw some lines in illustrator. Drag them in float selection and float layer move around and play. You need to be able to use PH to do this effect. If you want distorion as well. get effect right thin use the warp tool.

Didn't realise you wanted it animated...if this is the case. Then its an after effects job would be easier than hand animating a loop.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2013-01-15 at 14.18.06.png
Views:	108
Size:	180.4 KB
ID:	390420  
R1PPER is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:26 AM   #10
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post

if you can show me how u would make this image look like the image i posted id appreciate it thanks
I never volunteered to do it for you, but I will offer some explanation. The important thing is that you stop trying to view it a single package. Bring it into something like preview or photoshop where you can view individual frames. If it can done with filters I'd guess a polar coordinate version of a radial blur and some distorts. You may have to layer them. If you have to do that by hand it will take much longer cutting it into strips. The vertical offset can actually be done with the filter offset. You may have to mask this in on parts, as you can see the image is not always affected in its entirety. If you just view this as a black box where it's all one thing rather than a built up approach of different elements, you'll never understand it. After Effects as mentioned might have a filter. They often exist for this kind of stuff. They package various actions just like you would with a script. It offers less control than doing something by hand, but obviously it doesn't take very long if you need to replicate it.

Anyway I'm saying something probably exists as a plugin, but if you want to do it by hand, you'd need to address each thing separately. The vertical scan motion is completely different from the wavy distortion. The black bars that darken in parts are another thing. Don't try to make them into a single action if you're doing it by hand (I emphasize if). Just handle them one by one. It's not very long, so I'm not sure I'd even bother with keyframing here.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 10:23 AM   #11
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoNewbie View Post
i am downloading after effects as we speak.
pls explain thank u for ur help![COLOR="#808080"]
File> import the video or image that you want to use. Create a new composition by going to composition> new.

Drag your video/image into the composition.

Out of the box, AE has several presets that can maybe achieve what you want.

With your video/image layer selected, type "bad tv" into the effects and presets box on the right. 3 different things should come up. Double click on each one until you find which one you want. Make sure that your layer is selected when you do this, and that you cmd-z (undo) one preset before choosing another.

You'll probably have to tweak the properties in the effects panel in the upper left (it may be in a tab and not visible).

As a background, this is a preset, not an effect. It applies multiple effects with tuned settings to your layer.

If none of these get you the effect you want, google a tutorial on it, since they exist, or look at the plugin that I linked to in my last post (though it's kind of expensive)
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone recreate/fix this Mavericks/iTunes glitch? shogun180 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Apr 14, 2014 08:50 PM
Recreate Instagram folder on iPhone norbiheim iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Sep 6, 2013 08:38 PM
How to recreate the App Nap demo from WWDC? happywaffle OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Aug 8, 2013 04:34 PM
Recreate the Acoustical properties of Headphone Bleed Javik Digital Audio 6 Mar 29, 2013 07:06 PM
Hilarious antics, can't recreate the bug. Dewroo OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jul 14, 2012 09:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC