Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2013, 06:03 PM   #1
TheGreenBastard
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Using any kind of RAM in a 2011 iMac?

I want to upgrade the RAM in this pig to at least somewhat future proof it. I'd like to get it up to 8GB but I was looking into buying THIS. But as it turns out it won't work with a Mac for some reason? Because it doesn't say "Apple" or "Mac"? What's the difference between the Mac RAM and laptop RAM that makes it incompatible?

Just curious because that 8GB on Amazon is a great deal...
__________________
Lots of Apples in my basket.
TheGreenBastard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 06:11 PM   #2
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Funny the reviews from Amazon.com say that memory works fine in a 2011 iMac.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 06:15 PM   #3
TheGreenBastard
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear View Post
Funny the reviews from Amazon.com say that memory works fine in a 2011 iMac.
Wow. I showed that link to a person on Apple support chat and "Dave" said it wouldn't work...should've read the reviews. Someone shoot me, please. I apologize for this thread.
__________________
Lots of Apples in my basket.
TheGreenBastard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 07:37 PM   #4
Imac Sam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Harrisonburg, Virginia
I ordered and installed this today on mine, and it works great. I am up to 24Gb now.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o00_s00_i01
__________________
Imac(2011) 27 with 256Gb SSD, 1Tb Hd, and 24Gb RAM
Gold Iphone6 128Gb, White Ipad Air 128Gb, White Ipad Mini 32Gb, Black Ipad-2 32Gb; ATV-2
www.mountcrawfordweather.org
Imac Sam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 07:56 PM   #5
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
The difference between "mac" ram and other ram is the sticker on it.

It is sold as certified for mac by vendors who are milking the fear/reputation that PPC macs had for needing different RAM to PCs.

Nowadays, Macs ARE PCs as far as architecture goes.

I just installed 16GB of non-Mac strontium/hynix DDR3 1600 in my Macbook Pro and it is FINE.

Just make sure you buy the appropriate spec (DDRx, proper speed, etc) and you'll be fine.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:15 PM   #6
bobcan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunny but Cold.. Canada
Lightbulb 204 Pin vs 240 Pin

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreenBastard View Post
I want to upgrade the RAM in this pig to at least somewhat future proof it. I'd like to get it up to 8GB but I was looking into buying THIS. But as it turns out it won't work with a Mac for some reason? Because it doesn't say "Apple" or "Mac"? What's the difference between the Mac RAM and laptop RAM that makes it incompatible?

Just curious because that 8GB on Amazon is a great deal...
** I clicked on your LINK.. I am pretty sure you DO need 204 Pin and THAT one is 240 Pin, so YES, it Will Not Work!!

Since I see you are in Canada, I have used NewEgg.ca and Mushkin RAM (USA made and great support and reviews) in my last 2x MBPs as well as just 2 days ago I put 4x 8GB into my friend's 2011 iMac.. Very Snappy Now!!

Pretty sure ALL of these will fit, and you can 'filter results' at the LH Column by GB-MFG etc.. Pretty sure they are very competitive and have been great to me over the years.. Lots of Options, Name Brands likely better support and not much more $$ for sure!!
__________________
bw
bobcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:33 PM   #7
bobcan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sunny but Cold.. Canada
Good Site to Reference MAC Hardware Options

Here is a good site to go to Look Up your iMac (or other) and see what Speeds and Designations are proper for your MAC.. Hope it helps!!

http://www.everymac.com/systems/by_y...d-in-2011.html
__________________
bw
bobcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 10:49 PM   #8
TheGreenBastard
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobcan View Post
** I clicked on your LINK.. I am pretty sure you DO need 204 Pin and THAT one is 240 Pin, so YES, it Will Not Work!!

Since I see you are in Canada, I have used NewEgg.ca and Mushkin RAM (USA made and great support and reviews) in my last 2x MBPs as well as just 2 days ago I put 4x 8GB into my friend's 2011 iMac.. Very Snappy Now!!

Pretty sure ALL of these will fit, and you can 'filter results' at the LH Column by GB-MFG etc.. Pretty sure they are very competitive and have been great to me over the years.. Lots of Options, Name Brands likely better support and not much more $$ for sure!!
What, are kidding me?

From a review on Amazon: "Purchased this to upgrade the memory in my 2011 27" iMac and it is working flawlessly."

Do 27" and 21" differ? ****, I bought this RAM...

Edit: I checked out a link on Apple's site about upgrading RAM, it says the the 27" model requires the 204 pin RAM as well. So either he's a liar, or 204 pin will work...as well as 240? Idk.

Edit2: Another review on Amazon: "This worked like a charm for a new (2011) iMac 21.5" I purchased for my wife."

Edit3: It's a SODIMM (laptop) chip rather than DIMM (desktop), so it should work. (Hoping)

Crossing my fingers.
__________________
Lots of Apples in my basket.

Last edited by TheGreenBastard; Jan 15, 2013 at 11:15 PM.
TheGreenBastard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:50 AM   #9
TheGreenBastard
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
bump
__________________
Lots of Apples in my basket.
TheGreenBastard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:59 AM   #10
SlCKB0Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
It is sold as certified for mac by vendors who are milking the fear/reputation that PPC macs had for needing different RAM to PCs.
Just make sure you buy the appropriate spec (DDRx, proper speed, etc) and you'll be fine.
Maybe try a simple Google search before running your mouth.

There are plenty of examples of people matching RAM specs exactly and still running into problems. I've encountered this myself on a couple of Macs - they can be fussy about RAM.

This isn't limited to Macs either, other brand name laptops can also have this issue...

If the manufacturer certifies the RAM to work with a given system it usually means they have actually tested it in that system.

Given that the "certified" I got was within a dollar or two of the price of the standard RAM by the same manufacturer, exactly what were they "milking"?
SlCKB0Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:23 AM   #11
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlCKB0Y View Post
Maybe try a simple Google search before running your mouth.

There are plenty of examples of people matching RAM specs exactly and still running into problems. I've encountered this myself on a couple of Macs - they can be fussy about RAM.
If the RAM spec "matches exactly" and doesn't work - you have faulty ram or faulty installation.


I've been doing this PC industry stuff for 18 years now - long enough to know that the majority of people posting on google are muppets
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)

Last edited by throAU; Jan 16, 2013 at 08:30 AM.
throAU is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:39 AM   #12
TheGreenBastard
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
If the RAM spec "matches exactly" and doesn't work - you have faulty ram or faulty installation.


I've been doing this PC industry stuff for 18 years now - long enough to know that the majority of people posting on google are muppets
Back to the question at hand please.
__________________
Lots of Apples in my basket.
TheGreenBastard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:13 AM   #13
TheGreenBastard
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
bump 2
__________________
Lots of Apples in my basket.
TheGreenBastard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 04:14 PM   #14
SlCKB0Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
If the RAM spec "matches exactly" and doesn't work - you have faulty ram or faulty installation.
All I'm saying is this:

1. I too thought it was rubbish, until I encountered the problem first hand.
2. Regardless of being reseated, the RAM caused unpredictable behaviour when running in the Mac (random beach balling etc).
3. The same RAM installed into a Windows laptop worked perfectly and did not cause any problems.
4. There are many examples of this online.

When building things to a specification, there will be variation when coming off a production line and different computers have different levels of tolerance for these variations. I tend to think it's got to do with the required voltage for the RAM.

Also, you'll just have to believe me when I tell you i'm far from a novice user.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreenBastard View Post
bump 2
You've bumped your thread twice within 4 hours even though it's getting replies. This is inappropriate and if you continue with this you might find that a mod takes action.
SlCKB0Y is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 MP 2.2 i7 16 gb ram vs 2012 iMac 2.9 i5 32gb ram absoluteelsewhe iMac 3 Feb 8, 2014 03:03 PM
2011 iMac RAM Q Apple Fan 21 iMac 5 Jan 28, 2014 10:54 PM
iMac 2011 ram upgrade soslan123 iMac 0 Mar 9, 2013 09:30 AM
Buying the right kind of RAM for 2012 iMac iMcLovin iMac 2 Nov 25, 2012 07:28 AM
Different kind of wifi problem - 2011 imac thekb iMac 2 Aug 31, 2012 08:46 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC