Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:27 PM   #1
macpokerstars
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Is it possible to open up the new iMac 27 inch and put both an SSD and a hard drive?

Hi,

The title says it all.

The options available in the Apple Store are outrageous: no SSD whatsoever.
So I would like to open it up myself and add both SSD and HD.

Thanks in advance
macpokerstars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:32 PM   #2
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Seems possible, also possible to royally screw it up (as has happened recently to a user here)

I've put an SSD in a 2009 iMac 27" and that took some skill and I've been building PCs for decades. I wouldn't even attempt the new ones as they're glued.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 05:19 PM   #3
djrobsd
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by macpokerstars View Post
Hi,

The title says it all.

The options available in the Apple Store are outrageous: no SSD whatsoever.
So I would like to open it up myself and add both SSD and HD.

Thanks in advance
Yes, there is a thread here with photos and the whole lot, BUT... If you want a SSD and an HDD you will need an SSD expansion card, NOT a normal SSD drive, such as the Aura Pro from OWC:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/O...ro_Retina_2012

It's a very risky upgrade, you have to pry your machine open with a guitar pick (see ifixit tear down) and then remove the logic board to get to the slot where the SSD expansion card will go. This is the same type of card they use in the Macbook Air, Retina Macbook Pro, and also they use this for the fusion drive.

I wish I had book marked the original thread, someone else have it handy?
djrobsd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 05:26 PM   #4
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrobsd View Post
Yes, there is a thread here with photos and the whole lot, BUT... If you want a SSD and an HDD you will need an SSD expansion card, NOT a normal SSD drive, such as the Aura Pro from OWC:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/O...ro_Retina_2012

It's a very risky upgrade, you have to pry your machine open with a guitar pick (see ifixit tear down) and then remove the logic board to get to the slot where the SSD expansion card will go. This is the same type of card they use in the Macbook Air, Retina Macbook Pro, and also they use this for the fusion drive.

I wish I had book marked the original thread, someone else have it handy?
I don't believe that's true, at least in the case of the 27". The drive appears to be directly exposed after the screen is removed. I believe that R.OG reported that he only had to remove a speaker to get at the hard drive bracket.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 05:34 PM   #5
christophermdia
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I am having amazing results using the Fusion drive....everything is just as snappy as my Macbook Air...even a 460GB Aperture library which would obviously be stored on the hard drive portion.....That is a better option than trying to crack open the imac
christophermdia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 05:38 PM   #6
djrobsd
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by christophermdia View Post
I am having amazing results using the Fusion drive....everything is just as snappy as my Macbook Air...even a 460GB Aperture library which would obviously be stored on the hard drive portion.....That is a better option than trying to crack open the imac
Yes, it is a better option, but most people don't want to wait for BTO, so they bought one off the shelf from Best Buy or another retailer.

Going directly SSD is still maybe 30-40% faster then fusion, but you loose the capacity.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
I don't believe that's true, at least in the case of the 27". The drive appears to be directly exposed after the screen is removed. I believe that R.OG reported that he only had to remove a speaker to get at the hard drive bracket.
That is true for replacing the normal drive, but if you want to add a 2nd drive, the only option is to remove the logic board which gives you access to the slot to put the SSD card into.
djrobsd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 07:56 PM   #7
Tri-stan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrobsd View Post
Yes, it is a better option, but most people don't want to wait for BTO, so they bought one off the shelf from Best Buy or another retailer.

Going directly SSD is still maybe 30-40% faster then fusion, but you loose the capacity.
Not necessarily 30-40% there are some benefits to the fusion drive in being able to read from two drives simultaneously and still offer full ssd speed when purely accessing that drive. Where fusion falls down is when the files are too big to be stored on the main drive and large file writes of any kind.

The blade ssd no matter if fusion or not is quite a bit slower especially in write times when compared to a full size 2.5 inch drive. If you were ever going to plan on doing an upgrade yourself for an ssd in terms if shear performance it would be best to go for a reasonably priced 500GB 2.5 inch drive which could achieve 550mb read and 500mb write.

Originally I was going to buy a standard hdd 27 iMac and upgrade to a 256 blade ssd but tracking down the correct tape and the benefits over the fusion setup it just not worth it at the moment.

In two to three years time when the hhd starts to get old 2.5 inch 750-1tb ssd's will be fairly priced and the tape will be readily available so it would be a good time to upgrade, other than that it is not worth risking the warranty for fairly minor gains.
__________________
Haswell or Broardwell MBP? iGPU!
Tri-stan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 09:00 PM   #8
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
Seems possible, also possible to royally screw it up (as has happened recently to a user here)

I've put an SSD in a 2009 iMac 27" and that took some skill and I've been building PCs for decades. I wouldn't even attempt the new ones as they're glued.
Actually, I have the opposite opinion. If anything the new Mac is EASIER to get into, because instead of having to remove a bunch of screws that are sitting near screen magnets as well as disconnect several cables, all you have to do is cut some adhesive off and remove two ribbon cables.

The thing scaring people seems to be the adhesive. I've ordered the factory kit that includes everything needed to remove the adhesive on the screen and new strips for re-installation. It actually looks pretty easy assuming you have the right stuff.

If it was as dangerous as you guys are saying then OWC would not be selling a DIY kit for RAM replacement on the 21.5" iMac.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:18 AM   #9
macpokerstars
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Hi guys,

Thanks all for your responses.
So from what you are saying, wouldn't I be able to put a SECOND hard drive inside this iMac 27 (late 2012)?

What I'm looking to do is find a 2.5 inch drive inside, so I can hook an SSD + 2.5 adapter, like the ones OWC sell.

Thanks for your help
macpokerstars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:03 AM   #10
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by macpokerstars View Post
Hi guys,

Thanks all for your responses.
So from what you are saying, wouldn't I be able to put a SECOND hard drive inside this iMac 27 (late 2012)?

What I'm looking to do is find a 2.5 inch drive inside, so I can hook an SSD + 2.5 adapter, like the ones OWC sell.

Thanks for your help
You cannot put a second hard drive in. You can either replace the 3.5" drive with a 2.5" drive that is in a bracket/enclosure or you can ADD a blade SSD to the 2.5 or 3.5 drive that is in the system.

What I am planning on doing with my 27" when it shows up is replacing the 1TB 7200 RPM hard drive with a 512GB 840 Pro SSD.

You should scan the "rip those macs open" thread as it has a lot of info on this topic.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:19 AM   #11
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Here is the Link the poster above mentioned.

Rip those Macs open
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:27 AM   #12
Tri-stan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
You cannot put a second hard drive in. You can either replace the 3.5" drive with a 2.5" drive that is in a bracket/enclosure or you can ADD a blade SSD to the 2.5 or 3.5 drive that is in the system.

What I am planning on doing with my 27" when it shows up is replacing the 1TB 7200 RPM hard drive with a 512GB 840 Pro SSD.

You should scan the "rip those macs open" thread as it has a lot of info on this topic.
The 512GB 840 Pro SSD is what I would do but 500 gigs in a few years time is just not going to be enough. I would not recommend bothering with the msata blade ssd as it just does not have the performance for the effort of opening the case up, better off to get fusion.
__________________
Haswell or Broardwell MBP? iGPU!
Tri-stan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 12:34 PM   #13
phillipteeth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
adhesive strips for new iMac 27"

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
Actually, I have the opposite opinion. If anything the new Mac is EASIER to get into, because instead of having to remove a bunch of screws that are sitting near screen magnets as well as disconnect several cables, all you have to do is cut some adhesive off and remove two ribbon cables.

The thing scaring people seems to be the adhesive. I've ordered the factory kit that includes everything needed to remove the adhesive on the screen and new strips for re-installation. It actually looks pretty easy assuming you have the right stuff.

If it was as dangerous as you guys are saying then OWC would not be selling a DIY kit for RAM replacement on the 21.5" iMac.
http://applecomponents.com/items/076...19&per_page=30
phillipteeth is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you put an OWC Aura Pro 6G Solid State Drive into a Late 2012 21.5 inch iMac? jmadmaqu92 iMac 2 Jan 1, 2014 11:00 AM
Just put a SSD in my imac optical drive bay - it looks slow? Romf iMac 22 Nov 9, 2013 05:17 PM
Put 2 SSD's in imac without removing Optical drive Entertainer iMac 3 Aug 3, 2013 01:53 PM
Best external thunderbolt drive to open and put a 512gb ssd into and use to boot? shenan1982 Mac Peripherals 15 Feb 8, 2013 06:24 PM
Late 2009 27 inch Imac : SSD Upgrade & hard drive replacement guynorton iMac 7 Nov 3, 2012 07:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC