Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 15, 2013, 07:36 PM   #1
tximacusr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Mirror iMac to TV.

This may be redundant, but I'll ask again:
I want to connect my mid-2010 iMac to mirror on my TV.
I can't connect via Apple TV due to the year of my model.
The iMac isn't near the TV.

I bought the MiniDisplayPort to HDMI adaptor and a 20 ft HDMI cable.
I connected the MiniPort to the back of the iMac, connected the adaptor to the HDMI cable and the cable to one of the HDMI inputs on the TV.

I checked the "Displays" settings under "Hardware" and made sure the box is checked that will show mirror options in the menu bar when available; however, nothing shows up.

Apple Tech Support stated upgrading to Mountain Lion is not feasible for my year model. Any troubleshooting assistance is appreciated.
__________________
2010 iMac 21.5, i5, 3.6 GHz, 4G, 1T, magic trackpad, wireless keyboard, Airport Extreme, iPod, iPad, Apple TV.
tximacusr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 07:43 PM   #2
fotura
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany, Dresden
Maybe you need to change the setting for the screen size or rate for your tv.
to change at System Preferences -> Display.
fotura is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:22 PM   #3
tximacusr
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by fotura View Post
Maybe you need to change the setting for the screen size or rate for your tv.
to change at System Preferences -> Display.
I don't know how to adjust rate on a TV. I have a Hitachi.
The attached screen shots are what shows on the iMac Displays settings:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 8.18.32 PM.png
Views:	47
Size:	94.2 KB
ID:	390504   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 8.18.57 PM.png
Views:	46
Size:	78.7 KB
ID:	390505  
__________________
2010 iMac 21.5, i5, 3.6 GHz, 4G, 1T, magic trackpad, wireless keyboard, Airport Extreme, iPod, iPad, Apple TV.
tximacusr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:26 PM   #4
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
The chipset in your Mac doesn't support mirroring and probably never will.
Peace is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 04:25 AM   #5
FFabian
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bochum, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by tximacusr View Post
Apple Tech Support stated upgrading to Mountain Lion is not feasible for my year model. Any troubleshooting assistance is appreciated.
Never heard of that. I had a 2010 27" iMac and it ran ML just fine.
FFabian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 04:31 AM   #6
BillyBobBongo
macrumors 68000
 
BillyBobBongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: On The Interweb Thingy!
You could try AirParrot.
__________________
"You didn't have a bad experience with tequila, you had an experience with bad tequila!" : crushedagave
Mac Pro: 2.93GHz Quad-Core, iMac 21.5":2.7 GHz Core i5, MacBook Air: 1.8GHz i5
BillyBobBongo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:29 AM   #7
rcp27
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tximacusr View Post
Apple Tech Support stated upgrading to Mountain Lion is not feasible for my year model. Any troubleshooting assistance is appreciated.
Somebody had better tell my mid 2010 iMac, as it has been running ML since it was released. According to the apple website, iMacs from mid 2007 onwards can run ML (those that came after the switch from white plastic to machined aluminium chassis).

What it won't do, however, is support airplay mirroring via an Apple TV (regardless of OS X version).
rcp27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:06 PM   #8
fotura
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany, Dresden
with "display menu" you can easily change settings for all recognized displays in your menu bar. best thing itīs free.

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id549083868
fotura is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:48 PM   #9
BillakisKar
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Any news?

Hello guys. I am Bill and i am new to the forum. So i have the same problem that our friend has and i was wondering if anyone find a solution. I am talking about mirror my screen to my tv. My imac is also mid 2010 i3 model. The only difference is that i am not using an adapter but belkin av360. Thank u!
BillakisKar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:13 PM   #10
xkmxkmxlmx
macrumors 6502a
 
xkmxkmxlmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tximacusr View Post
I don't know how to adjust rate on a TV. I have a Hitachi.
The attached screen shots are what shows on the iMac Displays settings:
I don't think it is recognizing your TV. You would see it as a selectable display if it was. You may have a bad adapter or HDMI cable.

Also, there is no need to mirror. It is actually the worst way to go as it could mess with resolutions and such. If you ever get it set up correctly, you should uncheck the mirror option and set it up so that it treats your TV as a second monitor.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillakisKar View Post
Hello guys. I am Bill and i am new to the forum. So i have the same problem that our friend has and i was wondering if anyone find a solution. I am talking about mirror my screen to my tv. My imac is also mid 2010 i3 model. The only difference is that i am not using an adapter but belkin av360. Thank u!
The Belkin av360 is a device that allows you to use an HDMI source (PS3, XBOX, etc) on your iMac monitor and not vice/versa. You need a simple mini display port to hdmi adapter such as this http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
__________________
iPhone 4s
xkmxkmxlmx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:16 PM   #11
smoking monkey
macrumors 6502a
 
smoking monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by tximacusr View Post

Apple Tech Support stated upgrading to Mountain Lion is not feasible for my year model.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FFabian View Post
Never heard of that. I had a 2010 27" iMac and it ran ML just fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcp27 View Post
Somebody had better tell my mid 2010 iMac, as it has been running ML since it was released. According to the apple website, iMacs from mid 2007 onwards can run ML (those that came after the switch from white plastic to machined aluminium chassis).

What it won't do, however, is support airplay mirroring via an Apple TV (regardless of OS X version).
I think the OP means that upgrading to Mountain Lion won't solve the problem even though ML will mirror on 2011 macs or later. There's no way Apple Support told the OP he couldn't upgrade to ML on a 2010 machine.
__________________
G3 450 B&W, K-Lime iBook G3/466SE, PB G4 867(Ti), G4 800 DP(QS), PB G4 1.5 17 (Al), iPT 1G, 08 24 iMac, MBP 09 17, iP3Gs, iPad1&2, iP4s, '12 27 iMac, iP5s, rMBP(H) 15", Air.
smoking monkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mirror iMac audio to iphone? villanovaadam iMac 1 Nov 30, 2013 08:21 PM
Can you mirror screen via airplay with new imac? 212rikanmofo iMac 1 Sep 23, 2013 12:54 PM
How can I wirelessly mirror my iMac to 3 different displays? PixelWolf Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Jul 27, 2013 04:08 AM
Can MBP be an exact mirror of my iMac? legaleye3000 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jun 21, 2013 02:55 AM
Mirror iMac to TV GAUG3 iMac 7 Aug 28, 2012 07:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC