Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2013, 02:01 PM   #1
DEATHCON51
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Talking iMac late 2012 (or now, 2013) RAM

I was wondering if I were to buy some more RAM for the new iMac. Would it be compatible if I were to buy some more RAM for my Late 2011 MBP 17'', then later move it over to the new iMac when I get it?
DEATHCON51 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 06:51 AM   #2
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
2011 Macs can handle 16GB DDR3-1600MHz easily.

Based on available info today 2013 Macs would use the same DDR3-1600MHz memory as 2012 Macs.



Source: http://vr-zone.com/articles/pc-cpus-...ell/18558.html

Last edited by Hexley; Jan 17, 2013 at 07:07 AM.
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 01:38 AM   #3
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
What would work great on both the iMac and the 2011 MBP would be the Corsair Vengeance 16GB kit.


If you decide to put it in the iMac, you can use it together with two existing modules without any problems.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:13 AM   #4
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
What would work great on both the iMac and the 2011 MBP would be the Corsair Vengeance 16GB kit.
Image

If you decide to put it in the iMac, you can use it together with two existing modules without any problems.
I'm not sure if that's completely accurate (mixing this kit with the original RAM). I believe I saw another response in a different thread that indicated that this kit has a lower CAS Latency (CL) than the stock RAM and when mixing the two it would bump the memory bus down to a lower speed.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:41 AM   #5
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
I'm not sure if that's completely accurate (mixing this kit with the original RAM). I believe I saw another response in a different thread that indicated that this kit has a lower CAS Latency (CL) than the stock RAM and when mixing the two it would bump the memory bus down to a lower speed.
All memory modules run at the speed of the slowest, so either buy a second kit to have 4x8GB or live with the rather small decrease in performance which will be greatly outweighened by the increases from the added amount of RAM.

What I was saying it that it will work without a problem and won't prevent the machine from booting. FWIW, it would be as fast as the RAM Apple installs in the iMacs, so it won't be slower than stock.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 03:34 PM   #6
rjs2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
A lot of people are using crucial ram. do a search, there are loads of threads
rjs2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 27 - SSD (late 2012) vs Fusion (late 2013) jorged iMac 2 Mar 19, 2014 07:35 PM
Late 2012 and Late 2013 iMac display xFormational iMac 1 Dec 12, 2013 01:07 PM
Would this ram be ok for late 2013 imac emporer iMac 18 Oct 19, 2013 01:51 AM
iMac 27" Late 2012 -- Can I use July 2012 Macbook Pro RAM? Reg88 iMac 3 Apr 18, 2013 03:23 PM
Article: iMac release not until late 2012 or 2013? Not good news cypress822 iMac 10 Jun 15, 2012 10:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC