Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2013, 03:40 PM   #1
super tomtendo
macrumors 6502a
 
super tomtendo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Florida
Does apple stock 27" with fusion drive?

Could just call the store, but this may be easier. Does anyone know if apple stocks the 27 inch models with fusion drive at the store?
super tomtendo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 03:43 PM   #2
mabaty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Try ordering one on Apple.com and select "pick up in store" it will tell you if it is available.
__________________
I write stuff on a bottlerocket
mabaty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 03:45 PM   #3
super tomtendo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
super tomtendo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabaty View Post
Try ordering one on Apple.com and select "pick up in store" it will tell you if it is available.
Says "Not Eligible"
super tomtendo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 04:10 PM   #4
drambuie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by super tomtendo View Post
Could just call the store, but this may be easier. Does anyone know if apple stocks the 27 inch models with fusion drive at the store?
Yes, the standard top end 27" store model has a 3.4GHz i7 CPU, 8GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, and the 2GB GTX 680MX GPU. It has part # MD580LL/A and model # A1419, and is priced at $2599.00.

I got mine at an Apple retail store last week, but the stock is still sporadic at this time, so it's best to call, or better yet, be there. The one I got had just been put into inventory from the morning shipment. If I hadn't grabbed mine, it would have been gone by the evening, as they had people calling every day looking for one of that configuration.
drambuie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 10:29 AM   #5
lshin037
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
I called all the Apple Stores around in my area and, for the 27", they either have the base model with i5 2.9 or the i7 3.4 with 1TB fusion, 8GB Memory, 680MX graphics card. Nothing in between or with more memory and bigger Fusion drive.
lshin037 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 10:37 AM   #6
Stevi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Winnipeg, Mb, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by lshin037 View Post
I called all the Apple Stores around in my area and, for the 27", they either have the base model with i5 2.9 or the i7 3.4 with 1TB fusion, 8GB Memory, 680MX graphics card. Nothing in between or with more memory and bigger Fusion drive.
That was my experience. Since I wanted to almost max it right out, BTO was the only way to go.
__________________
Apple TV (3rd Gen) iPad2 64GB WiFi iPhone4 32GB iMac 27" 13' MacBook Pro 2.8 i7/16/512
Stevi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 10:45 AM   #7
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by drambuie View Post
Yes, the standard top end 27" store model has a 3.4GHz i7 CPU, 8GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, and the 2GB GTX 680MX GPU. It has part # MD580LL/A and model # A1419, and is priced at $2599.00.
...
Seems like a perfect unit. Buy third party memory and if you need more disk space later, you have USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt to connect disks to your system.

And you don't have to wait for a BTO unit. If I was doing BTO, I might consider the i5 instead and I would think about the 3TB Fusion disk.

And do note that there is a chance some stores might get a different fusion drive configuration. Unlikely but still possible.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 11:12 AM   #8
lshin037
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear View Post
Seems like a perfect unit. Buy third party memory and if you need more disk space later, you have USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt to connect disks to your system.

And you don't have to wait for a BTO unit. If I was doing BTO, I might consider the i5 instead and I would think about the 3TB Fusion disk.

And do note that there is a chance some stores might get a different fusion drive configuration. Unlikely but still possible.
Thats what I did. I went to Microcenter and picked up the 16GB Crucial kit right after picking up the imac.
lshin037 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OWC blog post about 10.8.3 "roll your own" fusion drive lssmit02 Mac Pro 39 Mar 28, 2013 07:43 PM
Apple's New 'Fusion Drive' Not a Typical Hybrid Drive MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 363 Jan 8, 2013 07:52 AM
How fast is the "slow half" from a fusion drive? idutch iMac 6 Nov 28, 2012 03:53 PM
Is the fusion drive function similar to "Caching" kristenanne77 iMac 2 Nov 15, 2012 07:52 PM
Create your own "Fusion Drive" in your Mac Mini That-Guy Mac mini 16 Nov 4, 2012 09:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC