Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:00 PM   #1
stanw
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Trying to connect old Mac Mini to old 23-inch Cinema Display

I have an old Mac Mini, I think it is from 2006 or 2007 and I would like to connect it to a 23-inch (maybe it is 21-inch?) Cinema display that is also from either 2006 or 2007. The connector on the end of the display does not connect directly into the Mac Mini, so I had to use an adapter. After powering up the Mac Mini and the display, nothing comes on the display, just the little indicator light telling me that it is turned on.

1. Is this Mac Mini powerful enough to run this display?
2. Any idea why it is not working? Is this not the right adapter? Picture #3 shows the adapter connected to the Mac Mini.
3. Without being able to get the Mac Mini working with the display, is there a way to figure out the graphics card, or processor from some model number on it?

Thanks for any info!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	2.11 MB
ID:	390708   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	2.01 MB
ID:	390709   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	1.89 MB
ID:	390710  

Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	1.71 MB
ID:	390711  
stanw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:04 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
That screen should plug right into the Mini, no adapter is required. The Mini has an Intell GMA950 that is able to drive any and all Apple displays except for the 30" model. It has either a 1.5Ghz CoreSolo to a 2.0Ghz Core2Duo in it. Besides the CPU, the 2006 and 2007 Mini's are identical.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:19 PM   #3
stanw
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
OK, I feel stupid...that took care of the problem.

1. I think I'm going to use this Mac Mini to just stream Netflix and maybe DirecTV. Is the graphics card in this going to be good enough to support doing this with the 23-inch display?

2. Any idea how much one of these go for these days? Is it not worth much at all?

Thanks.
stanw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:29 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
The Intell GMA950 is one of the worst GPUs Apple ever put into an Intell Mac. While it will drive that screen, it will struggle with some more intense things. I've had mine drive a 23" ADC screen before with no problems when playing movies. Depending on the CPU in yours, it could be worth between $200 and $400. Not too bad for a 6 or 7 year old Mac. If you look at the sticker on the bottom, you'll see some information about that particular Mini. You'll see the ram it cam with and the CPU it came with as well. It'll look something like "2.0/2x512/160" on it. This is the CPU speed, the ram 2 sticks of 512MB, and the hard drive size in GB. It'll say some other stuff as well, but that's the most important. I've found that the 1.5Ghz can barely do Netflix and 1.86Ghz is needed for 1080p playback at the very least. You can upgrade the ram to 4GB, of which only 3.3GB will be usable due to hardware limitations, the CPU, and the hard drive. You can upgrade the CPU to a 2.33Ghz Core2Duo.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:35 PM   #5
stanw
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I just got it turned on, here is a bit of info about it:

Macmini2,1
Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GHz
2GB memory
Bus speed 667 MHz

It is running 10.4 and Netflix will not work with it, though I can't download Firefox or Chrome to it because it is such an old OS. I am doing the basic OS updates right now.

1. What is the latest version of OSX that I should try to update this Mac to without it becoming real slow?
2. Any other advice?

Thank you!
stanw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:38 PM   #6
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
That Mini can run up to Lion. I suggest Snow Leopard. If you're technical, you can open it up and upgrade the ram to 4GB and install Lion. With Lion, that machine will have a few years of life left in it. Even more if you aren't really wanting to run the latest and greatest software on it.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:57 PM   #7
gertruded
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northwestern Illinois
I have one of these, a 1.66 core duo that still runs constantly. It was originally supplied with a DVI to VGA converter for use with a VGA monitor. I use a 23 inch VGA monitor, works great. The connector you see is DVI, not the mini DVI that newer units have.

I even use mine to run Handbrake, a standard movie takes 6 to 7 hours overnight to run. It gets the job done. I put in 2gb of memory.

I don't think it will ever wear out, going more than 6 years now and running like new. I have upgraded the OS to Leopard.
gertruded is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:57 PM   #8
stanw
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I'm not so sure if I care about upgrading to Lion, as much as I just want it to be able to watch Netflix, DirecTV and maybe share my iTune Library from another Mac in the house.

1. Will upgrading the RAM on it make much difference with watching Netflix/DirecTV?

2. What type of RAM do I need to get for it?

Thanks!
stanw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:03 PM   #9
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
For those simple tasks, 2GB is plenty. It takes two standard 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMMs.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:19 PM   #10
stanw
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
1. So the max ram you can put in it is 4GB?
2. If I want to upgrade I will need to but two separate 2GB of RAM?

Thanks!
stanw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 06:27 AM   #11
chrise2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gertruded View Post
I have one of these, a 1.66 core duo that still runs constantly. It was originally supplied with a DVI to VGA converter for use with a VGA monitor. I use a 23 inch VGA monitor, works great. The connector you see is DVI, not the mini DVI that newer units have.

I even use mine to run Handbrake, a standard movie takes 6 to 7 hours overnight to run. It gets the job done. I put in 2gb of memory.

I don't think it will ever wear out, going more than 6 years now and running like new. I have upgraded the OS to Leopard.
6-7 hours to convert a movie. Lol. My new 2012 mini converted Avatar in 25 minutes. Though I'm sure that old mini will surf the web and do most tasks just fine. Its amazing how well Macs still work over time. You take a 2 year old Windows laptop and you feel like you want to throw it out of a window. Sure wiping it and reinstalling Windows freshens it up again, but most people won't be able to do that.
chrise2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 08:43 AM   #12
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
The maximum ram that Mini can take is two sticks of 2GB for a total of 4GB. However, due to limitations of the chipset, the Mini will only be able to use 3.3GB of it. But for maximum speed, 4GB is better than 3GB.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 08:59 AM   #13
TWO2SEVEN
macrumors Demi-God
 
TWO2SEVEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanw View Post
1. So the max ram you can put in it is 4GB?
2. If I want to upgrade I will need to but two separate 2GB of RAM?

Thanks!
I have a 2gb set (2x 1gb) that I used on this model Mini for a few months before I sold it. If you are interested I would let it go pretty cheap. Just let me know.

As others have said, I ran Snow Leopard on mine and it ran smoothly. I don't remember if I used Netflix on it, but any other task went smoothly. Especially after the RAM upgrade.
__________________
Two2seveN
www.facebook.com/applefixdfw
Instagram: @AppleFixDFW
TWO2SEVEN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 11:52 AM   #14
stanw
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Thanks everyone for your help!!!!

TWO2SEVEN, thanks for the offer, though if I upgrade it, I think I'm going to max it out with 2 2GB sticks.
stanw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 12:00 PM   #15
TWO2SEVEN
macrumors Demi-God
 
TWO2SEVEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanw View Post
Thanks everyone for your help!!!!

TWO2SEVEN, thanks for the offer, though if I upgrade it, I think I'm going to max it out with 2 2GB sticks.
No problem . I may have 2x2, I can't remember. I'll check when I get home.
__________________
Two2seveN
www.facebook.com/applefixdfw
Instagram: @AppleFixDFW
TWO2SEVEN is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to connect a Cinema Display with mini DisplayPort to DVI or DP asierra Mac Pro 4 May 12, 2013 12:39 PM
Mac Mini --> Thunderbolt Display --> Cinema Display. possible? Hessel Mac mini 3 Feb 19, 2013 07:13 AM
Mac Mini + Thunderbolt Display + LaCie little big disk + 27 Cinema Display Drharrington Mac mini 14 Feb 5, 2013 06:40 PM
Need to connect my 23" Apple Cinema Display to my old beige Power Mac G3 tower sparkie7 PowerPC Macs 11 Dec 19, 2012 05:59 AM
trying to connect macbook pro 2010 to Mac G5 cinema display monitor Brody-Carmichae PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 5, 2012 07:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC