Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 17, 2013, 06:29 AM   #1
timmygee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Apple TV to existing setup

Hi all. I want to buy an Apple TV but am slightly confused about the potential setup.

My current system is a SONY HDTV connected via RCA to AUX of my Technics Amp which the TV sounds great through some Spirit speakers.

Here's what I want to do: Use my Sony HDTV and Technics Amp to be able to stream music, video & internet browsing from my iPad & my PC with iTunes. I would also like the ability to use stereos and/or airplay speakers in other rooms around the house to play from iTunes.

Is it possible to do all this with an Apple TV and what is the best & easiest way to connect this into my existing setup with the TV & amp?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
timmygee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 06:51 AM   #2
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
I know absolutely nothing about Technics (or any kind of) amps, but I'm assuming here it doesn't have HDMI in & out sockets.

If not, I'd connect the ATV via HDMI directly to your TV. The sound would then output via the existing RCA to the amp. Alternatively, you could also connect the ATV via optic cable directly to the amp, though that might add the additional step of having to switch audio inputs every time you switch between TV/cable and the ATV. Using the optic cables should provide better sound and (where applicable) surround sound.
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 08:04 AM   #3
JoshMKB24
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Midwest
I agree is there any reason you are using RCA connections and not HDMI? I thought HD tvs, even the old tube 720p kind had at least 1 or 2 HDMI connections? You will need to get an adapter for ATV, because it connects via HDMI
__________________
Lots of Apple stuff........
JoshMKB24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 08:16 AM   #4
Ratatapa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Well since it<s an amp it might be an old AMP without HDMI

Cuz he would have to plug ATV to AMP to TV
Ratatapa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 08:40 AM   #5
hallux
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
If your TV has HDMI, absolutely. My setup is below, works great for video/audio streaming from a Mac or iPad and sending the sound through the surround speakers.

ATV to TV using HDMI, TV to RCA receiver using optical output from TV to optical input on the receiver.

I also have my cable box connected to my TV using HDMI.
__________________
2012 15" MBP, 2.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 750 GB Samsung EVO SSD, Hi-Res glossy
2012 Mac Mini 2.5, 8 GB RAM, 120 GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD (soon, need the install kit)
hallux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 10:20 AM   #6
timmygee
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks for the help. Just to clarify, my Technics amp is indeed old (but very good). But it does not have an HDMI connection. The TV has 3 HDMI connections.

I currently go from the TV with an RCA connection into the AUX of the amp.


So can anyone answer the part about streaming to other speakers/stereos around the house? Do I need an airport express to do this or will the Apple TV do the same job?
timmygee is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pioneer Brings Apple CarPlay to Existing In-Dash Receivers MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 80 Apr 27, 2014 11:26 AM
Will Apple release new ipad with existing size? everythingfun iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Dec 29, 2012 06:15 AM
Consumers Most Interested in Apple Products Because of Existing Ecosystem, Ease of Use MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 119 Dec 19, 2012 12:08 PM
How to setup Fusion Drive on existing Optibay combo ratboy90 MacBook Pro 5 Dec 7, 2012 01:05 PM
How do Apple retail stores upgrade their existing inventory? Nosrettap OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 31 Jul 18, 2012 09:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps