Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 17, 2013, 08:14 PM   #1
royal shrimp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: california
live streaming kills internet

hi,

i have internet from comcast. i get 24mbps down, and 4mbps up. i have an Xbox and i like to live-stream. the problem is when I'm live-streaming at 2.5mbps, the ping goes from 10ms to over 400ms and all other computers have SUPER slow internet.

my equipment:
Retina macbook pro(where i stream from, wirelessly)
Apple airport extreme (2.4ghz mode)
motorola SB6121 modem.

ANY AND ALL HELP is appreciated, this is stupid, it shouldn't be happening, and comcast technical support, as per usual, is no help at all

thanks in advance, Phil
royal shrimp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 08:31 PM   #2
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
I guess you're on ADSL2?

Are you actually SYNCING at 24 megabit? You will only attain such speed within 900m (err... 2700 feet) cable run from the telephone exchange.

The chances are if you're like most ADSL2 customers, you're probably syncing somewhere around half that speed or less.

So, say... 10 megabit.

Streaming HD video will take maybe 4-6 megabit of that, leaving 4 megabit for everyone else.

Also, the other traffic (like ping) will need to be inserted in between large packets on your network connection. So there will be additional latency incurred as even if you have capacity available, if a series of large DSL packets are already queued at either end, the small ping packet will need to wait for those to be transmitted.


You may be able to tweak the ADSL settings with your ISP's web toolbox page (if they have one) for preference to lower latency vs higher throughput, and if you have a decent router you may be able to set up QoS tagging on your outbound traffic, but you're going to run into limitations inherent to ADSL at some point. Smaller MTU on your connection will help with latency.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 09:20 PM   #3
krravi
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by royal shrimp View Post
hi,

i have internet from comcast. i get 24mbps down, and 4mbps up. i have an Xbox and i like to live-stream. the problem is when I'm live-streaming at 2.5mbps, the ping goes from 10ms to over 400ms and all other computers have SUPER slow internet.

my equipment:
Retina macbook pro(where i stream from, wirelessly)
Apple airport extreme (2.4ghz mode)
motorola SB6121 modem.

ANY AND ALL HELP is appreciated, this is stupid, it shouldn't be happening, and comcast technical support, as per usual, is no help at all

thanks in advance, Phil
I am afraid something is throttling your speed. Maybe the ISP or QoS settings on your router.
__________________
Lots of Apple,Sony and other gadgets.
krravi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 09:22 PM   #4
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by royal shrimp View Post
this is stupid, it shouldn't be happening
How do you know this?

It's likely that you're saturating your upload which will affect download. You'll find plenty of references out there on the internet as all this is due to the nature of TCP. I'm no network expert but here's my explanation based on my understanding (I recommend finding your own trusted sources and reading up for yourself):

Downloading isn't simply a unidirectional transmission of data. The client performing the download has to send acknowledgements to the server. If the acknowledgements are delayed because the upload is saturated then the data being downloaded will be delayed as well.

You say your stream is 2.5Mb but is that just the encoding rate of the stream itself? How much are you actually using with overhead? Additionally, you may not actually be getting the full 4Mb for upload. Have you actually tested with network monitoring tools to confirm the actual upload rate of your stream? Have you used network monitoring tools to determine what upload speeds you're actually getting with Comcast or are you just relying on the numbers for the tier of service that you're subscribed to?

Quote:
Originally Posted by royal shrimp View Post
comcast technical support, as per usual, is no help at all
If you're saturating your upload it's not Comcast's fault. That is, unless you're not getting anywhere near 4Mb up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
I guess you're on ADSL2?
With Comcast (read the OP)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by krravi View Post
Maybe the ISP or QoS settings on your router.
I'm not familiar with the Airport Extreme but I'm guessing it lacks the QoS to prioritize TCP ACK's which would probably help the OP.

Last edited by takeshi74; Jan 17, 2013 at 09:59 PM.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 09:26 PM   #5
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by takeshi74 View Post
With Comcast (read the OP)?
Comcast is not a global ISP, i have no idea what their connectivity services are. Where I live most ISPs offer multiple connectivity options...


edit:
most of the crap I wrote probably applies anyway, except for the sync speed bit.


Also - QoS only works on outbound traffic. Unfortunately, inbound, you'll get whatever scheduling the ISP sees fit.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)

Last edited by throAU; Jan 17, 2013 at 09:38 PM.
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 10:19 PM   #6
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
From the information given, this should not happen. I suggest running a few tests to correlate the information.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:01 AM   #7
krravi
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I have the exact same equipment and ISP as the OP.

See what the settings for IP V6 are in Airport Utility. Change it to "link local only"...Its under "Internet Options"
__________________
Lots of Apple,Sony and other gadgets.
krravi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC