Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:06 PM   #1
JamerTheProgram
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: One Infinite Lo- I've said too much...
Buying a no service iPhone 4

Hey guys!
I have found a good deal on an iPhone 4 with a no signal fault on eBay.
I'm thinking of buying it so I can repair the antenna in it. I heard this issue is caused by a loose antenna cable in the phone, or even a software bug. Is that all it can be caused by? If so, I could probably fix it my self. What else can no signal be caused by?
Thanks!
PS:
Its only 80 pounds so its not too much if it goes wrong as I could use with an iPod Touch anyway.
__________________
21" iMac mid 2011 i5 @ 2.5 | Macbook Aluminium* Almost dead| iMac G5 | iMac G4 | iMac G3 | Apple Messagepad |
-I like to collect old Macs.... Sometimes-
JamerTheProgram is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:41 PM   #2
Tunny
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Staffordshire
A bit of a grey area mate.
I've been stung once before as this can also mean it has been barred, which means you may even be handling stolen goods
Tunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 03:46 PM   #3
bursthead
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamerTheProgram View Post
Hey guys!
I have found a good deal on an iPhone 4 with a no signal fault on eBay.
I'm thinking of buying it so I can repair the antenna in it. I heard this issue is caused by a loose antenna cable in the phone, or even a software bug. Is that all it can be caused by? If so, I could probably fix it my self. What else can no signal be caused by?
Thanks!
PS:
Its only 80 pounds so its not too much if it goes wrong as I could use with an iPod Touch anyway.
I do not believe it is a hardware issue, it's probably a bad esn/imei. Meaning it's carrier blocked.
__________________
Current as of 6/13/2013: Verizon Note 3,White iPad Air 16gb ATT. Sony Xperia Z Ultra. Z10 ATT. Proud unlimited iPad ATT Data Plan Owner & Verizon Unlimited Data User.
bursthead is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:07 PM   #4
617aircav
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamerTheProgram View Post
Hey guys!
I have found a good deal on an iPhone 4 with a no signal fault on eBay.
I'm thinking of buying it so I can repair the antenna in it. I heard this issue is caused by a loose antenna cable in the phone, or even a software bug. Is that all it can be caused by? If so, I could probably fix it my self. What else can no signal be caused by?
Thanks!
PS:
Its only 80 pounds so its not too much if it goes wrong as I could use with an iPod Touch anyway.
Why are you asking these questions, you are the one buying the phone to repair it, and I would assume you know how to do this.
617aircav is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:26 AM   #5
JamerTheProgram
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: One Infinite Lo- I've said too much...
Quote:
Originally Posted by 617aircav View Post
Why are you asking these questions, you are the one buying the phone to repair it, and I would assume you know how to do this.
It could be caused by multiple issues could it not?
A faulty update, loose antenna wire, antenna that needs replacing.
Just wondering.
__________________
21" iMac mid 2011 i5 @ 2.5 | Macbook Aluminium* Almost dead| iMac G5 | iMac G4 | iMac G3 | Apple Messagepad |
-I like to collect old Macs.... Sometimes-
JamerTheProgram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:29 AM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Yep. Sounds like its blacklisted.
Not a hardware issue that can be fixed.
It was probably reported lost or stolen.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:55 AM   #7
JamerTheProgram
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: One Infinite Lo- I've said too much...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Yep. Sounds like its blacklisted.
Not a hardware issue that can be fixed.
It was probably reported lost or stolen.
Theres no way of knowing whether or not its blacklisted?
__________________
21" iMac mid 2011 i5 @ 2.5 | Macbook Aluminium* Almost dead| iMac G5 | iMac G4 | iMac G3 | Apple Messagepad |
-I like to collect old Macs.... Sometimes-
JamerTheProgram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:59 AM   #8
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamerTheProgram View Post
Theres no way of knowing whether or not its blacklisted?
If you bought it behind the pipes in a dark alley...

Google IMEI checker.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 12:06 PM   #9
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamerTheProgram View Post
Theres no way of knowing whether or not its blacklisted?
Ask the seller but he might not tell you the truth or say he doesn't know.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC