Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 18, 2013, 02:19 PM   #1
uzit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Slow Internet on one Mac, fine on the other.

Hey guys,

I changed my router yesterday as I was getting weak wifi signals with the old one. Everything was fine until this morning where the internet over wifi on my Macbook Air is VERY slow and sometimes it just will not load the website.

We have two iMac', one Windows laptop, Apple TV and all seem to be working fine. Any help?

Thanks
__________________
27" iMac, i3, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD 11" Macbook Air, 2GB RAM, 64GB HD iPhone 3GS 16GB

Bloggy!

Last edited by uzit; Jan 18, 2013 at 03:01 PM.
uzit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 02:45 PM   #2
Mlrollin91
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura
I have a very similar problem. I'm using the airport express base station. On my iMac, I'm getting my 18mbps down, but my 2012 MBA, sitting right next to my iMac, only gets 2-4mbps down. If I move my MBA closer to the router I get my 18mbps down. Too me to seems like the MBA wifi range is much smaller than in an iMac or even a MBP for that matter.

Unfortunately I do not have an answer to this, and neither did Apple when I called them. I also took it in and they ran a hardware test on my Airport and Air and both checked out.

Try tweaking your router channels, having it set on automatic probably isn't the best. Experiment with all of them until you find the fastest one (or least amount of nearby routers on that channel).

Goodluck!
Mlrollin91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 03:01 PM   #3
uzit
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
I cant even get to speedtest website to check, It will just load the homepage...sometimes...and thats it :/
__________________
27" iMac, i3, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD 11" Macbook Air, 2GB RAM, 64GB HD iPhone 3GS 16GB

Bloggy!
uzit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:02 PM   #4
gnasher729
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by uzit View Post
I cant even get to speedtest website to check, It will just load the homepage...sometimes...and thats it :/
A thing to check... If one of your neighbours has WiFi without a password, one of your Macs could be using their WiFi by mistake and the other your own router. Check that you are both on the same WiFi network.

Then start System Preferences, select "Network" on both Macs, and compare all the settings.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:25 PM   #5
uzit
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Changed the 'channel' on my router....seems to be working....and pretty fast!
__________________
27" iMac, i3, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD 11" Macbook Air, 2GB RAM, 64GB HD iPhone 3GS 16GB

Bloggy!
uzit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 06:46 PM   #6
Mlrollin91
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura
Quote:
Originally Posted by uzit View Post
Changed the 'channel' on my router....seems to be working....and pretty fast!
Glad to hear. Its amazing how other's routers interfere without realizing just because of it being on the same channel. Typically, automatic just reverts to channel 1.
Mlrollin91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 07:14 PM   #7
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by uzit View Post
Changed the 'channel' on my router....seems to be working....and pretty fast!
See that doesn't make sense. Why would a certain channel affect the Mac only but not ur other devices?

Buy oh well as long as it works, until next glitch.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 02:01 AM   #8
Mlrollin91
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbobb View Post
See that doesn't make sense. Why would a certain channel affect the Mac only but not ur other devices?

Buy oh well as long as it works, until next glitch.
Because if the MBA is farther away from the router than the other devices, and there are other routers nearby with the same channel frequency, it can confuse the WiFi chip and just interfere. Its weird but it happens.
Mlrollin91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 02:11 AM   #9
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mlrollin91 View Post
Because if the MBA is farther away from the router than the other devices, and there are other routers nearby with the same channel frequency, it can confuse the WiFi chip and just interfere. Its weird but it happens.

Well that's certainly plausible. I just wish people asking WIFI questions give us all their details and we don't have to guess. There are so many variables, we are not there in their environment.

One would think this day and age, WIFI routers' auto channel select would be smarter, but NOOOOooooooo.
__________________
Solution: FREE, Explanation: Is gonna cost ya.
Mrbobb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 02:29 AM   #10
Mlrollin91
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbobb View Post
Well that's certainly plausible. I just wish people asking WIFI questions give us all their details and we don't have to guess. There are so many variables, we are not there in their environment.

One would think this day and age, WIFI routers' auto channel select would be smarter, but NOOOOooooooo.
Completely agree with you on both counts.
I'm surprised that routers pretty much auto-tune to channel 1. They should be able to scan the nearby routers and make sure no signals cross. When AT&T was at my apartment, they said they had 20 routers in the area on channel 1, thats what my Airport was auto-tuned to. Changed it to channel 5 and it was a night and day difference. Crazy.
Mlrollin91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet really slow on mac but not pc rodchop Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 22, 2013 05:33 PM
iPhone 5 slow app downloads via wifi, internet browsing fine ToddsterAU iPhone 2 Nov 13, 2012 04:34 AM
Slow Wireless on Mac OS X (10.8), but Windows is fine? 007bond MacBook Air 0 Oct 24, 2012 02:00 PM
Mac causes internet to slow? Jules=3 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Sep 3, 2012 09:31 PM
powerbook/mac G4 slow internet michaelsvx PowerPC Macs 9 Jun 19, 2012 10:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC