Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:45 PM   #1
iAco
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
DDR3L RAM comparability with new iMac?

I ordered 4 8GB sticks of Crucial's memory.

This: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o01_s00_i00

I did not receive my new iMac yet. I do wonder if low power memory (DDR3L) differs from the non-lower power RAM. Is there ANY difference other than power usage? The clock speed is 11CL, so everything spec-wise matches the type of RAM Apple uses in these new iMacs.
iAco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:13 PM   #2
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
If you update all 4 modules, why didn't you go with faster CL10 RAM like the Corsair Vengeance 16GB kit? It's both faster and cheaper.


The RAM you've ordered supports both 1.35V and 1.5V, so it definitive works with the Mac. DDR3L just operates at a lower voltage to save energy (which isn't so much of a concern in an iMac as it is in a MBP).
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:18 PM   #3
large farva
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, FL
You mean 1.35V versus 1.5V? Well, I know that when browsing Crucial's website, it stated that my iMac I had at the time was compatible with the 1.35V RAM, but the RAM that was installed from the factory was 1.5V. So I bought that instead, even though Crucial's website said it wasn't compatible. Now, I believe that 1.35V RAM is Dual-Voltage, meaning you can use it in 1.35V and 1.5V machines, it won't matter either way. Apparently the 1.35V RAM is more energy efficient, uses less power, doesn't get as hot. Some people I know don't like the low voltage RAM, but this is the same guy that has real stupid opinions, so... I would say if Crucial's website states that it's compatible, it's going to compatible. But if you are that worried, simply wait until you get the iMac, pop off the cover, remove one of the sticks and see what the voltage is. Usually shows it right on the label on most RAM. THOUGH, on my Mid-2011 iMac I had, it didn't display the RAM voltage on the label, so I had to do a google search for the model number and found that it was 1.5V RAM.

----------

Also, I wanted to say. I checked out your link there, and I believe Crucial has it on their website for cheaper. At $87 last time I checked. So it might be worth it to check their sight out versus buying from Amazon. Also, I've heard horror stories about people buying RAM and memory on Amazon. Too many counterfeits, incorrect model numbers and such.
__________________
Late-2012 27" iMac (3.4 GHz i7 / 1TB 7200rpm HDD / 8GB RAM / GTX 680MX 2GB)
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
iPhone 5 64GB (Black,Verizon)
large farva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:33 PM   #4
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Judging by the huge amount of 5 star reviews, mostly from Mac users, those have to be awesome conterfeits.

Seriously though, reading the reviews before a purchase and looking for alternatives if they aren't satisfactory for you is kinda self-explainatory.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 10:01 PM   #5
TigerClaw27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I accidentally ordered 1.35V DDR3-1600 modules for my 2012 iMac 27" and they work just fine with the original apple sodimms.
TigerClaw27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 10:38 PM   #6
iAco
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
OK I can confirm that the RAM stated in the OP is perfect and works flawlessly in the new iMac (late 2012).

Perhaps the low-power RAM will generate less heat? That may help when I jam 4 of them in there. Who knows!
iAco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 11:24 AM   #7
large farva
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
Judging by the huge amount of 5 star reviews, mostly from Mac users, those have to be awesome conterfeits.

Seriously though, reading the reviews before a purchase and looking for alternatives if they aren't satisfactory for you is kinda self-explainatory.
I'm not talking about JUST counterfeits. I'm talking about the incorrect model number either being listed on the product page or incorrect model number shipped. I don't doubt there is some counterfeit RAM out there on Amazon, though it's probably not as likely with Crucial products on Amazon. Mostly the counterfeit items are memory cards and flash drives. But still, I would rather save $10 and purchase from the actual manufacturer, rather than pay an extra $10 for the same product from a company that occasionally sells counterfeit products. I want to be clear though, that I doubt this is of any wrong doing by Amazon. More than likely it's to do with their supplier supplying them with the counterfeit or incorrect item. Still, why not save $10 and go directly from Crucial is my point.

Also, just because an item has a lot of 5 star reviews, doesn't mean there aren't negative reviews. And all as I'm saying is that the negative reviews I've seen are because people received the incorrect model number, or the incorrect model number was listed on the product page.
__________________
Late-2012 27" iMac (3.4 GHz i7 / 1TB 7200rpm HDD / 8GB RAM / GTX 680MX 2GB)
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
iPhone 5 64GB (Black,Verizon)
large farva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 04:48 PM   #8
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
I don't really see how "Sells and ships from Amazon.com" can end up being a counterfeit product, or the wrong product (which actually comes most of the time as "I ordered 8GB, it says 8GB on the box but only 4GB on the Mac", which is due to the memory limit of the Mac and not the RAMs fault - but that doesn't apply here, as the Mac in question supports 32GB of RAM).

Also, the Crucial is only $1 cheaper, but is has a slower timing of CL11 as opposed by the faster CL10 of the Corsair.

Last edited by Giuly; Jan 19, 2013 at 05:14 PM.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When will we hear about bootcamp crossfire comparability? Radiating Mac Pro 3 Dec 20, 2013 11:39 AM
OWC DDR3L 1600MHz Memory Upgrades lssmit02 MacBook Pro 1 Jun 21, 2013 11:59 AM
Refreshed 15" rMBP uses DDR3L instead of DDR3 emt1 MacBook Pro 9 Feb 14, 2013 09:59 PM
Final cut pro comparability Ericus Macabeus MacBook Air 2 Jul 25, 2012 12:18 PM
16GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM (New Retina Display Macbook Ram Question) loon3y MacBook Pro 4 Jun 12, 2012 04:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC