Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2013, 06:05 AM   #1
fa.ce
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Connect to new Mac Mini Server without keyboard/display

I've a new Mac Mini Server (last Mac OS X server avaible) without keyboard / monitor.
On my new iMac (last Max OS X avaible) i've installed Apple Remote Desktop.
I can see the ip of Mac Mini Server but when i try to connect it clicking on control tab appears a admin/password dialog box.
I leave as stated here http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4938?viewlocale=en_US
blank user and insert the correct long Mac Mini Serial as password, BUT i cannot connect it.
Why ? Any help would be highly appreciated ...
fa.ce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 07:26 AM   #2
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
Try your login credentials and see if they work.
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 07:48 AM   #3
pcconvert
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I think you will have to use the server app to connect using credentials you described and set up users and remote access. Dunno how to get one, I copied mine from the server after install... if you can't login directly I say you will need to purchase the server from App Store on your laptop or whatever you have and select to administer 'other computer on the network' when prompted.
pcconvert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 08:32 AM   #4
fa.ce
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
My iMac user/password not works to access to Mac Mini Server.

Are you sure there's no other way to access that buy OSX Server and install it also on my iMac ?
Is seems quite add all that ...
fa.ce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 08:34 AM   #5
chrfr
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Did you enable Remote Management in System Preferences on the mini? If you turned on Screen Sharing alone, you won't be able to use Remote Desktop, but regular Screen Sharing from the Finder will work fine.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 08:42 AM   #6
fa.ce
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Ehm how can i enable that on my Mini if i cannot access to it ???
I'm trying to download on my iMac that tool http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1419
Don't know though if that can help ...

----------

No, Server Admin Tools not works on my iMac, probably needs an OSX Server edition.
Any more suggestions ?

Last edited by fa.ce; Jan 20, 2013 at 08:48 AM.
fa.ce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 09:42 AM   #7
chrfr
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by fa.ce View Post
Ehm how can i enable that on my Mini if i cannot access to it ???
If you don't have a display or keyboard to attach to it, you may need to contact Apple to see if there is an alternate suggestion on what to use for a password on initial setup.
I am assuming that you have not done any initial setup whatsoever, correct?
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 09:48 AM   #8
fa.ce
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Yes, it's my first start up.
It's odd, cause, as said i can see Mac Mini IP in my network but when i try to connect through my iMac - Apple Remote Desktop and insert as password serial number, as stated by Apple the app doesn't connect ...
fa.ce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 10:10 AM   #9
fa.ce
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Probably i should use that:
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2370
But, frankly, i'm afraid to create ... damages
fa.ce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 10:24 AM   #10
chrfr
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by fa.ce View Post
Probably i should use that:
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2370
But, frankly, i'm afraid to create ... damages
You can only use those steps if you're able to connect remotely to the computer by the command line. As you can see the Mini in Remote Desktop, those steps are unnecessary.
Contact Apple; they will likely be able to get you running in short order.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 10:28 AM   #11
fa.ce
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I'll do it tomorrow, cause today they're closed.

I don't think that a simple startup should be so difficult ... it's not in the Apple style ...
fa.ce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 10:49 AM   #12
pcconvert
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Don't worry about that server purchase. You are actually buying 'just' a server app (it's actually called Server.app:-) When it finishes download and starts it will ask you where do you want to set up server and will offer option 'Other server'. Choose that and it will find your mac mini and will connect to it. Simple @ $19 and instant.
pcconvert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:02 AM   #13
fa.ce
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
So it will not install a NEW OS X ?
Buying it on my iMac client it will simply download an ... app not a new OS ?
At the end of my initial Mac Mini Server may i simply disinstall from my iMac, as an app ?
fa.ce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:10 AM   #14
pcconvert
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
That's correct, no new OS, just an app. And you will want to keep that app and not delete it to administer your mac mini server afterwards :-) Imagine that app like a more advanced remote desktop app - just connects to a server and allows to 'unlock' certain features of ML.
pcconvert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:47 AM   #15
fa.ce
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I've downloaded and install OS X Server.
Is ask for Host or IP and user / password.
I insert IP and leave user blank and as password Mac Mini Serial.
But it not works.
Any hints ?
fa.ce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:13 AM   #16
fa.ce
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I've seen that great article
http://www.ivanexpert.com/blog/2011/...n-sharing-vnc/

Unfortunately when insert ssh root@ip.address with the correct ip.address i receive a port 22: Connection refused message. Why ?
fa.ce is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC