Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 4, 2005, 08:45 PM   #1
MacBytes
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Autodesk to acquire Alias




Category: 3rd Party Software
Link: Autodesk to acquire Alias

Posted on MacBytes.com
Approved by Mudbug
MacBytes is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 08:51 PM   #2
eva01
macrumors 601
 
eva01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gah! Plymouth
Send a message via AIM to eva01 Send a message via MSN to eva01 Send a message via Yahoo to eva01
byebye maya, hello 3Dsm for Mac?
__________________
If I go on a crazy non-sensical rant, it's the painkillers talking. If however I make perfect sense I take full credit.
eva01 is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 08:54 PM   #3
ITASOR
macrumors 601
 
ITASOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oneida, NY
Send a message via AIM to ITASOR
Woohoo, I want Inventor for Mac!
__________________
11.6" MBA | 4GB | 64GB
ITASOR is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 08:59 PM   #4
szark
macrumors Demi-God
 
szark's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arid-Zone-A
Quote:
Originally Posted by eva01
byebye maya, hello 3Dsm for Mac?
I don't think they could drop Maya without a long transition period -- too many production workflows depend on it.

I just hope they continue releasing products for Mac OS X.
__________________
...let's climb those fences with signs that say...Don't...
szark is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 09:00 PM   #5
Daveway
macrumors 68040
 
Daveway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Orleans / Lafayette, La
Send a message via AIM to Daveway
Isn't this the 3rd or forth time Alias is kicked around?
__________________
Spare me my life.
Daveway is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 09:01 PM   #6
technocoy
macrumors 6502a
 
technocoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
I don't like this one bit...

It raises concerns of the best 3D platform for the mac being nixed... I also really like maya above 3ds max (just a matter of preference).

now if they begin to make all their software mac compatible (come on autocad) then it's another story...

we'll see. I have received several questionaires from them about buying mac products from autodesk...
__________________
4GB 1G nano, 16GB iPhone
2.4 17" MBP
2.66 MacPro, 3TB, 5Gigs of RAM, 8800GT
2.9 Quad FakePro, 2TB, 8Gigs, 2 9800s, BR/HD DVD
technocoy is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 09:06 PM   #7
jholzner
macrumors 65816
 
jholzner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
If Alias was "for sale" why the heck didn't Apple buy them? Seems like perfect fit to me!
__________________
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
-Terry Pratchett.
http://homepage.mac.com/jholzner
jholzner is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 09:06 PM   #8
eva01
macrumors 601
 
eva01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gah! Plymouth
Send a message via AIM to eva01 Send a message via MSN to eva01 Send a message via Yahoo to eva01
Quote:
Originally Posted by szark
I just hope they continue releasing products for Mac OS X.
that would be my second question as i know autodesk doesn't make Mac programs (yet?)
__________________
If I go on a crazy non-sensical rant, it's the painkillers talking. If however I make perfect sense I take full credit.
eva01 is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 09:06 PM   #9
eva01
macrumors 601
 
eva01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gah! Plymouth
Send a message via AIM to eva01 Send a message via MSN to eva01 Send a message via Yahoo to eva01
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholzner
If Alias was "for sale" why the heck didn't Apple buy them? Seems like perfect fit to me!
well Apple does have Renderman (to an extent), that could be part of the reason.
__________________
If I go on a crazy non-sensical rant, it's the painkillers talking. If however I make perfect sense I take full credit.
eva01 is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 09:14 PM   #10
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
I remember Alias announcing a while ago that something like 25% of their sales are on Mac. Autodesk would be stupid to discontinue Mac support, so I can only assume that the Mac versions will continue to exist.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The FAQ
Q23: What platforms do the Autodesk 3ds Max and Alias’ Maya software support?
A23: 3ds Max and Maya software products differ greatly in supported platforms.
Maya software supports Linux®, Windows® and Macintosh® operating systems, making it the top choice for platform-sensitive segments like high-end film, whereas 3ds Max software is a Windows application that is used most often in world-building for games.
We expect customers to benefit from the wide range of platforms upon which the combined company will offer its products.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 09:15 PM   #11
dongmin
macrumors 68000
 
dongmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
I wonder what percentage of Maya users are on Macs. Personally, this does not bode well. Autodesk has remained steadfastly against porting any of their software over to OS X, even as numerous grassroots efforts have been made to motivate them. Perhaps things will change with Intel Inside™ (crossing my fingers).

Maya is about the only really serious 3D app left on the Mac. I sure hope it survives a while.
dongmin is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 10:03 PM   #12
eva01
macrumors 601
 
eva01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gah! Plymouth
Send a message via AIM to eva01 Send a message via MSN to eva01 Send a message via Yahoo to eva01
Well there is Lightwave from NewTek as well
__________________
If I go on a crazy non-sensical rant, it's the painkillers talking. If however I make perfect sense I take full credit.
eva01 is offline   0
Old Oct 4, 2005, 10:55 PM   #13
mduser63
macrumors 68040
 
mduser63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Send a message via AIM to mduser63
Autodesk also bought Discreet, and they still sell Combustion for the Mac, so it's not like they don't have any history of selling Mac software. If this motivates them to better support Macs, then I'm all for it.
mduser63 is offline   0
Old Oct 5, 2005, 01:44 AM   #14
cc bcc
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: nl
Quote:
Originally Posted by eva01
well Apple does have Renderman (to an extent), that could be part of the reason.
No, that would be a reason to buy Alias. Renderman and Maya are a good team.
cc bcc is offline   0
Old Oct 5, 2005, 04:04 AM   #15
MontyZ
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
.

Last edited by MontyZ; Nov 9, 2005 at 04:35 PM.
MontyZ is offline   0
Old Oct 5, 2005, 06:28 AM   #16
Doraemon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe (EU)
They are still making CAD software.

And it's a real loss that they don't support the Mac platform if you're into engineering, architecture or planning.

Of course there are other CAD apps for Mac, but unfortunately, often AutoCAD is still standard.
Doraemon is offline   0
Old Oct 5, 2005, 07:31 AM   #17
Fitzcaraldo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by dongmin
Maya is about the only really serious 3D app left on the Mac. I sure hope it survives a while.
That would be 3D for media, animation, and games...

For serious Pro 3D (Solids) we have 'Ashlar Cobalt', 'Solidthinking' and 'Archicad'.

Alias Studio (for Industrial Design) is not available on Mac.

There are also other high-end systems on the Mac, suffice to say with Maya you can design a nice spaceship for a Movie, but if you need one that you want to actually fly into space... Ashlar Cobalt would be your choice.
Fitzcaraldo is offline   0
Old Oct 5, 2005, 07:44 AM   #18
Mr. Anderson
Moderator emeritus
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: VA
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Anderson
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fitzcaraldo
That would be 3D for media, animation, and games...

For serious Pro 3D (Solids) we have 'Ashlar Cobalt', 'Solidthinking' and 'Archicad'.

Alias Studio (for Industrial Design) is not available on Mac.

There are also other high-end systems on the Mac, suffice to say with Maya you can design a nice spaceship for a Movie, but if you need one that you want to actually fly into space... Ashlar Cobalt would be your choice.
Newtek's Lightwave is a great animation package and is used in many shows and hollywood movies.

Here's a small list of some of the things Lightwave has been used on:

Elektra
Fantastic Four
Serenity
Sin City
Mr. and Mrs. Smith
Harry Potter
and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Hellboy
I, Robot
Spider-Man 2
Lord of the Rings:
The Return of the King
The Matrix Revolutions
Pirates of the Caribbean:
The Curse of the Black Pearl
X2: X-Men United
Blade Trinity
Monsters, Inc.
Little Nicky
Toy Story 2

As for engineering, don't forget Pro/E and Solidworks - both PC only apps.

As for Alias being sold/bought again so soon after it just changed hands can't be a good thing for the people working there. It makes me wonder why its been happening.

D
__________________
"Klaatu varada nikto!"
Mr. Anderson is offline   0
Old Oct 5, 2005, 01:29 PM   #19
solvs
macrumors 601
 
solvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: LaLaLand, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doraemon
Of course there are other CAD apps for Mac, but unfortunately, often AutoCAD is still standard.
Weren't they the ones that, when asked if they were coming out with a Mac version, said something like "that is our #1 request, but unfortunetly we just don't think there is enough demand for it at this time". Maybe that was Intuit. Same principle. I keep hearing they're interested, and I'm sure they'd make a ton of money (they'd lose more by snubbing us), but for some reason it still hasn't been released. Maybe with the MacTels and if there are a lot of switchers.
__________________
True love never dies
The only thing more dangerous than a woman scorned, is a man with nothing left to lose...
solvs is offline   0
Old Oct 5, 2005, 07:33 PM   #20
dongmin
macrumors 68000
 
dongmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fitzcaraldo
That would be 3D for media, animation, and games...

For serious Pro 3D (Solids) we have 'Ashlar Cobalt', 'Solidthinking' and 'Archicad'.

Alias Studio (for Industrial Design) is not available on Mac.

There are also other high-end systems on the Mac, suffice to say with Maya you can design a nice spaceship for a Movie, but if you need one that you want to actually fly into space... Ashlar Cobalt would be your choice.
I'm an architect, not a product designer. So your milege may vary. But you can't compare the market position and 'street cred' of Maya to Ashlar or Archicad. Yes, Maya is not a CAD program, as you noted, but it's still widely used in architecture because it can do fluid forms better than a lot of other apps. Maya, Form-Z, and Vectorworks make OS X a viable platform in architecture.

You can add SolidWorks and Rhino to the list of 'serious' 3D (CAD) apps not available on OS X.
dongmin is offline   0
Old Oct 5, 2005, 08:07 PM   #21
etoiles
macrumors 6502a
 
etoiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Where the air is crisp
3DSmax for Mac would be cool... but they are more likely to swing the other way around: dropping Mac support for Maya...we shall see.

How about Apple acquiring Autodesk now... now THAT would be a shake-up
etoiles is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > MacBytes.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Did You Acquire Your PPC Macs? ifrit05 PowerPC Macs 58 Feb 15, 2014 07:10 AM
Have You Used Autodesk Smoke? Sophia. Digital Video 12 Mar 24, 2013 09:48 AM
Best way to acquire one of these? jae999 iMac 2 Dec 27, 2012 06:36 PM
WiFi tough to acquire fjs08 iPhone 14 Dec 16, 2012 08:21 AM
650m and Autodesk 3DS laurent05 MacBook Pro 8 Jun 20, 2012 06:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC