Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2013, 10:57 AM   #1
jonfarr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Portland
TC backup of MacBook restored to new iMac?

I have a question regarding TC backup restore. I am planning on selling my macbook pro and going to a iMac. Can I restore my macbook pro backup from my time capsule to my iMac? Also, will all the apps still work like Microsoft office? Will it be as seamless as going from a macbook pro to a new macbook pro? (probably a dumb question, but this is the only way I have ever done it).
__________________
iMac, Macbook Air, iPhone 6+, riPad mini w/ LTE
jonfarr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 11:14 AM   #2
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Since there are a couple of different ways you might mean "restore", what you want to do is when you start up the iMac during its initial setup, it will ask if you want to import user data and apps from a Time Machine backup. That is what you want to do. And yes it will be okay going between machine types.

The only thing is you will want to double check some system preferences if you copy those as well from the backup.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 11:37 AM   #3
jonfarr
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Portland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear View Post
Since there are a couple of different ways you might mean "restore", what you want to do is when you start up the iMac during its initial setup, it will ask if you want to import user data and apps from a Time Machine backup. That is what you want to do. And yes it will be okay going between machine types.

The only thing is you will want to double check some system preferences if you copy those as well from the backup.
Ok, I only ask because I would obviously be selling the laptop before getting the iMac and wouldn't have both on hand at the same time.
__________________
iMac, Macbook Air, iPhone 6+, riPad mini w/ LTE
jonfarr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 12:27 PM   #4
LornaP
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonfarr View Post
Ok, I only ask because I would obviously be selling the laptop before getting the iMac and wouldn't have both on hand at the same time.
You should be fine. I set up a new iMac from a TC backup (from MBP) and it went very smooth. I also had Microsoft Office on the MBP and everything transferred over, all I had to do was reenter the key code when I opened up Excel (or Word etc) for the first time on the new computer.
LornaP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:34 PM   #5
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonfarr View Post
I have a question regarding TC backup restore. I am planning on selling my macbook pro and going to a iMac. Can I restore my macbook pro backup from my time capsule to my iMac? Also, will all the apps still work like Microsoft office? Will it be as seamless as going from a macbook pro to a new macbook pro? (probably a dumb question, but this is the only way I have ever done it).
You don't want to restore, you want to use Migration Assistant, which will present at the end of the setup process on the new machine. Just launch Migration Assistant and point it to your TM drive and it will import everything (check all the boxes in the MA import options).

The only issue you will have is you will have to reenter your MS Office serial number after the migration. The app will migrate, but Office will see it is on a new machine and require the serial number.

Other than that, it is very seamless and works well.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 03:32 PM   #6
jonfarr
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Portland
Quote:
Originally Posted by LornaP View Post
You should be fine. I set up a new iMac from a TC backup (from MBP) and it went very smooth. I also had Microsoft Office on the MBP and everything transferred over, all I had to do was reenter the key code when I opened up Excel (or Word etc) for the first time on the new computer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
You don't want to restore, you want to use Migration Assistant, which will present at the end of the setup process on the new machine. Just launch Migration Assistant and point it to your TM drive and it will import everything (check all the boxes in the MA import options).

The only issue you will have is you will have to reenter your MS Office serial number after the migration. The app will migrate, but Office will see it is on a new machine and require the serial number.

Other than that, it is very seamless and works well.
Awesome, thanks for both of your replies!
__________________
iMac, Macbook Air, iPhone 6+, riPad mini w/ LTE
jonfarr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:21 PM   #7
Dr FranknFurter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cambridge UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
You don't want to restore, you want to use Migration Assistant, which will present at the end of the setup process on the new machine. Just launch Migration Assistant and point it to your TM drive and it will import everything (check all the boxes in the MA import options).

The only issue you will have is you will have to reenter your MS Office serial number after the migration. The app will migrate, but Office will see it is on a new machine and require the serial number.

Other than that, it is very seamless and works well.
That's exactly how I did it from my TC backup of my Macbook Air. Works very well indeed. Just be sure to do it right away before you set up any user accounts as it will migrate the accounts for you as they are on the backup.
__________________
MacBook Air 2012 # Old iPad 3 # iPhone 5 # Apple TV3 # Time Capsule 2TB # 2 x Pods # and finally received my 2012 27" iMac
Dr FranknFurter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:25 PM   #8
xlii
macrumors 68000
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Millis, Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr FranknFurter View Post
That's exactly how I did it from my TC backup of my Macbook Air. Works very well indeed. Just be sure to do it right away before you set up any user accounts as it will migrate the accounts for you as they are on the backup.

I'll second this. I used migration assistant to move my & my wife's accounts from a Time Machine backup of my 2009 mbp to a new 2012 mac mini. Worked great.
xlii is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two iOS devices restored from the same icloud backup iamPro iOS 7 5 Feb 11, 2014 12:24 PM
Old 32gb i5 backup, restored on my new 5s 16gb...problem! Alag28 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Sep 23, 2013 09:06 AM
Setup as new, restored from icloud backup from last night... Subby2012 iOS 7 0 Sep 18, 2013 05:13 PM
What isn't restored when Restoring from Backup? zachnelson iPhone 0 Sep 16, 2012 12:52 PM
Restored iPhone as new; the right backup not showing in iTunes mapapic iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Aug 3, 2012 02:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC