Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2013, 11:34 AM   #1
Big Byte
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
How do I copy and paste files into Time Machine?

I recently upgraded from Lion to Mountain Lion. After doing so, I reformatted my Time Capsule external disk drive and backed up the contents of my computer using Time Machine, which is working fine.

In the past, I did not back up my music files, but directly copied and pasted them into my Time Capsule. But, I forgot how to do that this time around. Does anybody know how to do this? I've tried using shortcuts to copy and paste my music files into Time Capsule, but the paste function won't work. I've tried using the options in the menu bars, but the paste function still won't work. Any ideas? Thanks.
Big Byte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 11:51 AM   #2
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Why are you not using Time Machine to backup the Music files?

I have my music backed up vie Time Machine and in general if my system is mostly idle, a backup uses 25 MB of space.

If I play music, the file that holds the play counts gets updated so that's a few megs more, not much additional space. And what if you add more music, now you have to remember to backup the music and the iTunes catalog.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 12:05 PM   #3
Big Byte
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear View Post
Why are you not using Time Machine to backup the Music files?

I have my music backed up vie Time Machine and in general if my system is mostly idle, a backup uses 25 MB of space.

If I play music, the file that holds the play counts gets updated so that's a few megs more, not much additional space. And what if you add more music, now you have to remember to backup the music and the iTunes catalog.
On my old laptop, which only had 80g of space, I would use the Time Capsule to store my music files, which were accessed by iTunes from the Time Capsule. This allowed me to clear up space on my laptop. Even though I don't necessarily need the space (my new laptop has 750g of space), I would still like to set it up the way I did with my old laptop). Adding music was never a problem, as I simply directed the new music files to be stored on my Time Capsule.
Big Byte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:07 PM   #4
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Hmmm...

You're running a huge risk of losing your data by using a backup drive for more than just backup.

Just some hopefully helpful advice.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:04 PM   #5
Big Byte
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhurst View Post
You're running a huge risk of losing your data by using a backup drive for more than just backup.

Just some hopefully helpful advice.
I didn't know that. Any idea why?
Big Byte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:06 PM   #6
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Not to mention you should have at least two backups. I actually have three; an external disk with time machine and SuperDuper plus two separate externals that get SuperDuper backups and I rotate one into a fireproof safe.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:13 PM   #7
Big Byte
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
Not to mention you should have at least two backups. I actually have three; an external disk with time machine and SuperDuper plus two separate externals that get SuperDuper backups and I rotate one into a fireproof safe.
Yeah, I'll be buying another hdd for further back-up. I like the Elements one, it's 1T, small, portable, can be stored away and only needs a USB slot (no power cord).
Big Byte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:46 PM   #8
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Okay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Byte View Post
I didn't know that. Any idea why?
The more you access a drive, the shorter its life is going to be.

Now, this isn't a reason NOT to use hard drives as little as possible, but I like my backup drives to be as clean as possible just to prevent any drive errors or early failure.

I may be paranoid, but backups are sacred to me.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2013 13" rMBP i5, 2.4 c2d Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 06:50 AM   #9
Dave Braine
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Warrington, UK
Quote:
I didn't know that. Any idea why?
Because if your Time Capsule fails, you've lost your music and your backup. As you've got 750Gb on your Mac now, I'd put your music back on to your Mac and use Time Capsule for what it's designed for.
__________________
PPC Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mini, 10.6.8, White MacBook 10.9.2
iPhone 3GS, using o2 PAYG
Dave Braine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 10:26 AM   #10
Big Byte
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Ok, I think I'll buy another external hard disk drive and use it as a secondary backup device. I like the one that the technician used when he upgraded my laptop to Mountain Lion. It's made by Elements, it's small, holds 1T and does not require a power cord. On top of it all, it's relatively cheap. Thanks for the input everyone.
Big Byte is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I access files on Time machine HD from another Mac and copy them? rema Mac Basics and Help 2 Nov 26, 2013 12:23 PM
iPhoto cannot copy and paste some files aaron5566 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Aug 6, 2013 07:36 PM
iPhoto cannot copy and paste some files aaron5566 MacBook Air 0 Aug 6, 2013 05:22 PM
Resolved: Copy 21 files, only Paste 20. Help please MatiCarne Mac Basics and Help 2 Apr 1, 2013 11:26 PM
Copy Paste instead of Time Machine? PeteTLT MacBook Pro 5 Dec 26, 2012 05:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC