Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:42 PM   #1
Chris64tx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, Tx.
New to the iMac World

Hello everyone, I am ready to pull the trigger and buy my first iMac. Here's a little bit about why I want the iMac. I am a teacher so my budget is limited.
I am an amateur photographer. (I do earn some money from my photo shoots)
I use Adobe CS5 Design Permium. I am also getting into video mixing. Will the 27" iMac i5 be enough for what I want to do?
Chris64tx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:05 PM   #2
jstnlzr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Should be, from what I have been doing (Photoshop/Flash/Illustrator, works fine ((for now)) )
jstnlzr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:08 PM   #3
AT06
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Winwick, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris64tx View Post
Hello everyone, I am ready to pull the trigger and buy my first iMac. Here's a little bit about why I want the iMac. I am a teacher so my budget is limited.
I am an amateur photographer. (I do earn some money from my photo shoots)
I use Adobe CS5 Design Permium. I am also getting into video mixing. Will the 27" iMac i5 be enough for what I want to do?
In short, yes.

You will have many people telling you that upgrading to the faster graphics would be better, but as your on a budget the base 27" is more than enough. Just order it stock, and perhaps once you get it order some extra RAM from crucial to help with photoshop - especially if your using RAW images.
__________________
"Twenty seconds of insane courage"
iMac 27"| iPad 32GB | iPhone 5 | Canon 6D, 24-105mm f/4L & 50mm f/1.8
AT06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:19 PM   #4
Chris64tx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, Tx.
Thanks, one ome thing I have a Nikon D800 which produces 36 mega pixel images. Will the i5 still be enough? I will add more RAM to 16 gigs


Quote:
Originally Posted by AT06 View Post
In short, yes.

You will have many people telling you that upgrading to the faster graphics would be better, but as your on a budget the base 27" is more than enough. Just order it stock, and perhaps once you get it order some extra RAM from crucial to help with photoshop - especially if your using RAW images.
Chris64tx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:30 PM   #5
fruitpunch.ben
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Surrey, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris64tx View Post
Thanks, one ome thing I have a Nikon D800 which produces 36 mega pixel images. Will the i5 still be enough? I will add more RAM to 16 gigs
It will be "enough" to do everything you want. The higher end model with upgraded graphics and/or upgraded i7 processor will be faster for what you want to do (photoshop, iMovie or Final Cut) etc. But if you are indeed on a budget, the i5 will be easily able to handle amateur photo and video work. Get it and you'll be very happy with it.
__________________
2009 27" iMac 2011 11" Macbook Air
2012 iPhone 5 2012 iPad (3rd Gen)
2009 iPhone 3GS 2009 iPod Classic
Older: 2005 15" PB G4 iPhone 3G
fruitpunch.ben is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:34 PM   #6
Chris64tx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, Tx.
Thanks!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fruitpunch.ben View Post
It will be "enough" to do everything you want. The higher end model with upgraded graphics and/or upgraded i7 processor will be faster for what you want to do (photoshop, iMovie or Final Cut) etc. But if you are indeed on a budget, the i5 will be easily able to handle amateur photo and video work. Get it and you'll be very happy with it.
Chris64tx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:46 PM   #7
lali
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
chrix64tx

Here is some background reading on macs, cs5, and photography.

http://macperformanceguide.com/Photo...rformance.html

http://macperformanceguide.com/Optim...CS5-Intro.html

your camera is no ordinary 8mp point and shoot so this is why I point you towards this site.

enjoy!
lali is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:50 PM   #8
Dr FranknFurter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cambridge UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by lali View Post
chrix64tx

Here is some background reading on macs, cs5, and photography.

http://macperformanceguide.com/Photo...rformance.html

http://macperformanceguide.com/Optim...CS5-Intro.html

your camera is no ordinary 8mp point and shoot so this is why I point you towards this site.

enjoy!
Nice links, thanks dude
__________________
MacBook Air 2012 # Old iPad 3 # iPhone 5 # Apple TV3 # Time Capsule 2TB # 2 x Pods # and finally received my 2012 27" iMac
Dr FranknFurter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 07:30 PM   #9
Chris64tx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, Tx.
Thanks for the links.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by lali View Post
chrix64tx

Here is some background reading on macs, cs5, and photography.

http://macperformanceguide.com/Photo...rformance.html

http://macperformanceguide.com/Optim...CS5-Intro.html

your camera is no ordinary 8mp point and shoot so this is why I point you towards this site.

enjoy!
Chris64tx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 04:42 PM   #10
mtngoatjoe
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I've been importing some old DV video from my old Sony DV camera that uses Hi8 tapes. iMovie records the movies in real time (i.e. 1 minute of video requires 1 minute of recording). With "Analyze for Stabilization and People" turned on, my iMac i7 with Fusion drive and 680MX takes about 30 minutes to analyze 1 hour of video (those are rough numbers). I have not edited any HD video yet, but I will soon. I'm assuming the analyze process will take longer with HD video, but since the importing will be MUCH faster, I think I'll be pretty pleased.

It seems that iMovie does not utilize the hyper threading in in the i7, but I've read that Final Cut Pro would. It also sounds like Photoshop would use the hyper threading. So, my suggestion is that you look for some actual comparisons between the two processors. I'm likely to have my iMac for 6-7 years, so future proofing was important in my purchase. Your mileage may vary.
mtngoatjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 2011 and WD My Book World Edition II ToroLoco iMac 0 Apr 1, 2013 04:05 AM
Anyone that has corsair valueselect in their iMac that World Fantola iMac 0 Dec 17, 2012 02:22 PM
World of Warcraft specs on 27" iMac? Tofray iMac 8 Dec 6, 2012 02:20 AM
Unclear... will the iMac will be available world wide? Overg iMac 14 Nov 29, 2012 07:42 PM
new to the iMac world, best VM software? thatpoopmccray iMac 9 Nov 5, 2012 11:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC