Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 23, 2013, 12:30 AM   #1
theuserjohnny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Can PowerBook hdd be put into a curent Macbook to wipe?

I have a friend who is selling their Powerbook for parts however they are unable to wipe the harddrive pior to it no longer working.

My idea was to just transfer the hdd into a working Macbook and then wipe it from there but I'm unsure if that'll actually work.
__________________
2013 13' Macbook Air, 1.3GHz, 4GBRAM, 256GBSSD
2012 15" rMBP, 2.7GHz, 16GBRAM, 768GBSSD
2006 13" Macbook (white), 2.16GHz, 3GBRAM, 120GBHD
Google Nexus 4 16GB
theuserjohnny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:19 AM   #2
Graveyard
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Romania
Send a message via Yahoo to Graveyard Send a message via Skype™ to Graveyard
Powerbooks have PATA drives while Macbooks have SATA drives. You can wipe the hdd if it's still working, using an external usb-pata adapter or a rack.
__________________
27" iMac i5 3.1 GHz; 20" iMac C2D 2.4 GHz; G4 dual 800MHz; iMac G3; G3 B&W; iBook G3 white; iBook clamshell; PowerBook 3400c; Quadra 610; Classic II; 2 x iPad 2 32GB; iPhone 3GS 16 GB.
Graveyard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:43 AM   #3
ybz90
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Short answer, no. Long answer, see above post.
ybz90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 01:10 AM   #4
burnout8488
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Endwell, NY
If the PowerBook can still turn on and enter target disk mode....

Connect your 13" MacBook to the PowerBook via FireWire 400. Put the PowerBook in FireWire Target Disk Mode. (hold Command-T at boot) It will show up as an external volume on the MacBook. Use Disk Utility on the MacBook to format the PowerBook without having to touch a screwdriver.
__________________
Intel: 2012 MBA 13" Base
iOS: iPhone 6 16GB Sprint / iPad Air 2 - 64GB LTE (Soon)
burnout8488 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I put a Sata III HDD in a Old Macbook pro Sata I drive ? globalmark MacBook Pro 8 Mar 13, 2013 11:18 PM
Mountain Lion external install from one MacBook then put HDD in another MacBook paradawx72 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Feb 12, 2013 09:26 PM
Question about OS install after HDD Wipe bgiaach MacBook Pro 3 Jan 12, 2013 11:09 PM
Simple: Wipe HDD and reinstall OSX 10.8 Hellishness Mac Basics and Help 4 Aug 24, 2012 12:17 AM
iCloud Problem After HDD Wipe TOMIMOT OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 26, 2012 08:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC