Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 23, 2013, 08:45 AM   #1
lucasfer899
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London
What is the best PowerMac G5?

Hey all.
I need some help here,

So, I'm rockin' 3x 20" Alu ACD's, and a very powerful custom built PC.

However, I want a workstation, for doing school work, playing the odd, low-end game on.

For this, I want the most powerful PM G5 Quad core..
And I also want to know which is the best graphics card I can put in this PM also, will I need multiple graphics cards to run all of my displays?
Also, need info on ram, such as can it be any old DDR2 ram, or does it have to be special mac stuff?

Thanks alot!

(Storage is not of a concern, I have a big nas box.)
lucasfer899 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 10:29 AM   #2
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Any Mac Pro will beat Quad G5 in CPU speed and app compatibility (for modern apps). I haven't checked prices but before purchase, make sure you know what you are paying for.
Zotaccian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 10:48 AM   #3
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
What is it you expect the quad to do that the PC doesn't?
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 10:53 AM   #4
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasfer899 View Post
Hey all.
I need some help here,

So, I'm rockin' 3x 20" Alu ACD's, and a very powerful custom built PC.

However, I want a workstation, for doing school work, playing the odd, low-end game on.

For this, I want the most powerful PM G5 Quad core..
And I also want to know which is the best graphics card I can put in this PM also, will I need multiple graphics cards to run all of my displays?
Also, need info on ram, such as can it be any old DDR2 ram, or does it have to be special mac stuff?

Thanks alot!

(Storage is not of a concern, I have a big nas box.)
A late 2005 quad is the most powerful. Any desktop ddr2 will work in its 8 slots. It can take 16GB of ram in 8 2gb modules. The best vid card is a flashed 512MB 7800 GTX. There is one on ebay, make sure it is mac flashed. do not use any ebay filters to find it. the card is incredibly rare. Every xpansion slot is pci express, so no pci or pcix devices.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:07 AM   #5
mrkramer
macrumors 601
 
mrkramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somewhere
If you want a mac and don't want to spend too much money why not just turn your PC into a hackintosh? The G5s are old and you'll be disappointed by the performance. Also I'm pretty sure the quad G5s were liquid cooled which weren't the most reliable.
__________________
"Jesus was the first socialist, the first to seek a better life for mankind." -Mikhail Gorbachev
mrkramer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:49 AM   #6
lucasfer899
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkramer View Post
If you want a mac and don't want to spend too much money why not just turn your PC into a hackintosh? The G5s are old and you'll be disappointed by the performance. Also I'm pretty sure the quad G5s were liquid cooled which weren't the most reliable.
My PC uses AMD FX 8350. No hackintosh available for AMD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
A late 2005 quad is the most powerful. Any desktop ddr2 will work in its 8 slots. It can take 16GB of ram in 8 2gb modules. The best vid card is a flashed 512MB 7800 GTX. There is one on ebay, make sure it is mac flashed. do not use any ebay filters to find it. the card is incredibly rare. Every xpansion slot is pci express, so no pci or pcix devices.
Thank you very much.
I will look out for all that you have said

Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
What is it you expect the quad to do that the PC doesn't?
Nothing. I want a desktop workstation, of which is a mac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotaccian View Post
Any Mac Pro will beat Quad G5 in CPU speed and app compatibility (for modern apps). I haven't checked prices but before purchase, make sure you know what you are paying for.
I think I'll look out for Mac Pro 1,1 and upgrade the socket 771 xeons.
Only if I can find one at the right price.
lucasfer899 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:59 AM   #7
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasfer899 View Post
My PC uses AMD FX 8350. No hackintosh available for AMD.


Thank you very much.
I will look out for all that you have said


Nothing. I want a desktop workstation, of which is a mac.


I think I'll look out for Mac Pro 1,1 and upgrade the socket 771 xeons.
Only if I can find one at the right price.
I have the same cpu and its a hackintosh. I used ways that I cant discuss here. Google amd hackintosh.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 02:35 PM   #8
lucasfer899
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
I have the same cpu and its a hackintosh. I used ways that I cant discuss here. Google amd hackintosh.
Hmm, thanks.
Not really into the whole hackintosh scene anyway tbh.
lucasfer899 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 06:52 PM   #9
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkramer View Post
Also I'm pretty sure the quad G5s were liquid cooled which weren't the most reliable.
Strangely enough, the Quad was a pretty reliable machine despite the LCS. Here is part of an article from LowEndMac (yes, they actually have articles ).

Quote:
G5/1.6 single (June 2003), D- (24%, logicboard, hard drive)
G5/1.8 single (June 2003), D+ (19%, logicboard, video card)
G5/2.0 dual (June 2003), F (32%, video card, logicboard)
G5/1.8 dual (Nov. 2003), F (27%, logicboard, optical drive)
G5/1.8 dual (June 2004), D+ (19%, logicboard, optical drive)
G5/2.0 dual (June 2004), C- (17%, logicboard, hard or optical drive)
G5/2.5 dual (June 2004), F (26%, logicboard, hard drive)
G5/1.8 single (Oct. 2004), D+ (19%, hard drive, logicboard)
G5/2.3 dual (April 2005), B- (11%, logicboard, power supply)
G5/2.7 dual (April 2005), D (22%, logicboard, power supply)
G5/2.0 dual-core (Oct. 2005), C- (18%, power supply, logicboard)
G5/2.3 dual-core (Oct. 2005), C- (18%, power supply, logicboard or optical drive)
G5/2.5 quad-core (Oct. 2005), C- (17%, logicboard, power supply)
The Quad has a 17% failure rate, tying for 2nd.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 07:06 PM   #10
cocacolakid
macrumors 6502a
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
So the person who wants to start selling brand new Power PC Macs that IBM would somehow make isn't even using a Power PC Mac.
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 4S
cocacolakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:02 PM   #11
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocacolakid View Post
So the person who wants to start selling brand new Power PC Macs that IBM would somehow make isn't even using a Power PC Mac.
Yes I am.
Power Mac G5 quad, 2.5 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 1 Tb HDD,
128 Gb SSD, 512 Mb 7800 GTX, 32" monitor
Osx Mountain lion via cpu emulation on linux
Geekbench= 4700
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:05 PM   #12
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
Yes I am.
Power Mac G5 quad, 2.5 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 1 Tb HDD,
128 Gb SSD, 512 Mb 7800 GTX, 32" monitor
Osx Mountain lion via cpu emulation on linux
Geekbench= 4700
Get me the Linux GeekBench on that. Boot times would be nice as well.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:07 PM   #13
ybz90
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
Osx Mountain lion via cpu emulation on linux
How do you get 4700 on Geekbench? I recently acquired the exact same PowerMac and with a fresh install and SSD, it gets just north of 3500. My instinct was that 64-bit gives a bump to scores over 32-bit, but since you're using some kind of "CPU emulation", the performance degradation should eliminate that many times over.

Speaking of which, would you care to elucidate? I can't imagine any sort of CPU emulation that would result in an even remotely usable system, let alone one that can score 4700 on Geekbench.

I'm not calling you a liar, but to me, this does not look right. Things don't add up at all. Please feel welcome to correct me, I would be eager to find out how you squeezed that kind of performance out of the G5 machine, since as I mentioned, I just got one myself.

EDIT: Oh wait, you're this guy - http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1525892. Should've figured as much. If it looks like BS, sounds like BS, you get the idea.

Last edited by ybz90; Jan 28, 2013 at 08:14 PM.
ybz90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:12 PM   #14
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybz90 View Post
How do you get 4700 on Geekbench? I recently acquired the exact same PowerMac and with a fresh install and SSD, it gets just north of 3500. My instinct was that 64-bit gives a bump to scores over 32-bit, but since you're using some kind of "CPU emulation", the performance degradation should eliminate that many times over.

Speaking of which, would you care to elucidate? I can't imagine any sort of CPU emulation that would result in an even remotely usable system, let alone one that can score 4700 on Geekbench.

I'm not calling you a liar, but to me, this does not look right. Things don't add up at all. Please feel welcome to correct me, I would be eager to find out how you squeezed that kind of performance out of the G5 machine, since as I mentioned, I just got one myself.
32 bit tops out at 3614. 64 bit tops out just above 3700. This one is from a user here (Nameci).

So, I agree. 4700 is impossible on a G5.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got a powermac g4 what did I get? nizmoz PowerPC Macs 28 Jul 16, 2014 11:40 PM
When will the G6 PowerMac be out? rabidz7 Wasteland 47 Jul 17, 2013 07:58 PM
Powermac G5 ForceGhost Buying Tips and Advice 1 Dec 17, 2012 04:32 PM
New PowerMac G5 Lynxd PowerPC Macs 19 Oct 28, 2012 02:07 AM
Need help with my PowerMac G5 Orange Furball PowerPC Macs 5 Jun 13, 2012 12:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC