Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 24, 2013, 10:11 AM   #1
DrJack6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
2012 27" iMac SATA options?

I asked Apple and they said "We don't release that information."

I know the 2011 has 2 SATA III ports and 1 SATA II port.

What are the SATA options in the new 2012?

Really want to upgrade because the GTX card but I won't get it if I can't put my 2 OWC SSDs in SATA III RAID....
DrJack6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 01:58 PM   #2
FireWire2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJack6 View Post
I asked Apple and they said "We don't release that information."

I know the 2011 has 2 SATA III ports and 1 SATA II port.

What are the SATA options in the new 2012?

Really want to upgrade because the GTX card but I won't get it if I can't put my 2 OWC SSDs in SATA III RAID....
I chat with the tech at DATOptic via Online chat. He said DATOptic will release a TBolt to 4x eSATA 6Gb/s module very soon
It is in final state
FireWire2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 02:40 PM   #3
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
one SATA III connector for the HDD models and onboard flash card for SSD Storage.
Will have to use Thunderbolt devices
AppleNewton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:17 PM   #4
Aqueous
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireWire2 View Post
I chat with the tech at DATOptic via Online chat. He said DATOptic will release a TBolt to 4x eSATA 6Gb/s module very soon
It is in final state
Awesome News! This info is hard to come by...
I just finally got my two 5-bay burly's connected via USB3 internal port multiplier card upgrade. Almost dropped $1000 on TB to PCI-X chassis and eSATA Card. Almost bought the WD my book TB duo just to get drives hooked up and get back to work. I am not super excited about the USB3 interface yet - can't Hot Swap Drives, AND if you have a drive acting up, it can make all of the drives in the enclosure act strange. Did the tech say if this will support Port Multiplier??? That's the million dollar question. And how much???
Aqueous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 08:10 PM   #5
FireWire2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqueous View Post
Awesome News! This info is hard to come by...
I just finally got my two 5-bay burly's connected via USB3 internal port multiplier card upgrade. Almost dropped $1000 on TB to PCI-X chassis and eSATA Card. Almost bought the WD my book TB duo just to get drives hooked up and get back to work. I am not super excited about the USB3 interface yet - can't Hot Swap Drives, AND if you have a drive acting up, it can make all of the drives in the enclosure act strange. Did the tech say if this will support Port Multiplier??? That's the million dollar question. And how much???
Base on the tech told me

- Four eSATA 6Gb/s
- Support ONE Port Multiplier connection ???! <-- Dont understand why
- Support HW RAID 0, 1, 10 on direct connect
- No driver install on OS X

Don't know the price yet! I would guess about 300 - 400's range
Hard to believe what he said
When it release then I believe it :-)

Last edited by FireWire2; Jan 24, 2013 at 08:16 PM.
FireWire2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 10:09 PM   #6
Aqueous
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireWire2 View Post
Base on the tech told me

- Four eSATA 6Gb/s
- Support ONE Port Multiplier connection ???! <-- Dont understand why
- Support HW RAID 0, 1, 10 on direct connect
- No driver install on OS X

Don't know the price yet! I would guess about 300 - 400's range
Hard to believe what he said
When it release then I believe it :-)
Hhmmmm, very interesting... I hope it supports Port Multiplier!! I thought the Sonnet TB to PCI-E adapter would work out, even at 3Gbs but it will only attach 2 individual drives, so scrapped that idea. Just a matter of time I guess. Thanks for the info!
Aqueous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 11:09 PM   #7
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqueous View Post
Hhmmmm, very interesting... I hope it supports Port Multiplier!! I thought the Sonnet TB to PCI-E adapter would work out, even at 3Gbs but it will only attach 2 individual drives, so scrapped that idea. Just a matter of time I guess. Thanks for the info!
Would the Promise Technology "Pegasus J4" do what you want to do?

Thunderbolt enclosure to 4 SATA-III 2.5" drives with individual drive access.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 12:52 AM   #8
Aqueous
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
Would the Promise Technology "Pegasus J4" do what you want to do?

Thunderbolt enclosure to 4 SATA-III 2.5" drives with individual drive access.
Sadly, no. I already have 36 3.5" drives mounted in Trays for the Burly. Thought about going for a Trayless 3.5" TB Enclosure, but you pay mostly for RAID which I don't want, just JBOD. If I were starting fresh though, I would be all over the Pegasus J4! Especially with all the 2.5" SSD's coming out and price drops on the horizon.
Aqueous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 07:55 AM   #9
itsamacthing
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
My dream setup is 4 2.5 bays, Hardware Raid with BBU, SATA III, RAID 0,1,5,10 ... connected via Thunderbolt

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqueous View Post
Sadly, no. I already have 36 3.5" drives mounted in Trays for the Burly. Thought about going for a Trayless 3.5" TB Enclosure, but you pay mostly for RAID which I don't want, just JBOD. If I were starting fresh though, I would be all over the Pegasus J4! Especially with all the 2.5" SSD's coming out and price drops on the horizon.
The J4 is ok, but it's just a software RAID setup via Disk Utility - so basically, its a SAS expander
itsamacthing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:19 AM   #10
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsamacthing View Post
My dream setup is 4 2.5 bays, Hardware Raid with BBU, SATA III, RAID 0,1,5,10 ... connected via Thunderbolt

----------



The J4 is ok, but it's just a software RAID setup via Disk Utility - so basically, its a SAS expander
The Pegasus J4 is working well for me due to its configuration flexibility.

My main OS environment is on the internal 768GB SSD in the iMac which boots both OS X and Windows.

I configured the Thunderbolt Pegasus J4 with a 1.25TB Fusion drive for archive stuff, iTunes, etc. using a 256GB Samsung 840 Pro and 1TB hard disk. The other 2 drive bays each have a 1TB hard disk in 2TB RAID-0 for fast DAS Time Machine backup (supplemented with a large NAS TM backup as well).
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 01:05 PM   #11
FireWire2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqueous View Post
Hhmmmm, very interesting... I hope it supports Port Multiplier!! I thought the Sonnet TB to PCI-E adapter would work out, even at 3Gbs but it will only attach 2 individual drives, so scrapped that idea. Just a matter of time I guess. Thanks for the info!

I'm sure it supports PM, but don't know why only ONE PM, the guy could not explain...:-)

----------

I order the eBOX-TeSU from DATOptic
It seems to be the best cost
It will be here next week, I will throw my media library into RAID5 with 5x 4TB
and serve it around the house

Will report back.
FireWire2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 08:23 PM   #12
itsamacthing
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
The Pegasus J4 is working well for me due to its configuration flexibility.

My main OS environment is on the internal 768GB SSD in the iMac which boots both OS X and Windows.

I configured the Thunderbolt Pegasus J4 with a 1.25TB Fusion drive for archive stuff, iTunes, etc. using a 256GB Samsung 840 Pro and 1TB hard disk. The other 2 drive bays each have a 1TB hard disk in 2TB RAID-0 for fast DAS Time Machine backup (supplemented with a large NAS TM backup as well).
H, I'm confident your system runs great .. Always enjoy reading your posts. I'm sorta bummed about the specs on the 3tb fusion drive in the sense it should have had a bigger flash portion. But I could not justify the cost of 768 when I could install 1tb sad via TB. I'm thinking about looking for a 256 Apple flash drive on ebay or something to replace the 128... IF I'm not happy with the performance.
itsamacthing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:58 PM   #13
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsamacthing View Post
H, I'm confident your system runs great .. Always enjoy reading your posts. I'm sorta bummed about the specs on the 3tb fusion drive in the sense it should have had a bigger flash portion. But I could not justify the cost of 768 when I could install 1tb sad via TB. I'm thinking about looking for a 256 Apple flash drive on ebay or something to replace the 128... IF I'm not happy with the performance.
Yeah ... I think 128GB is too small too, 256GB would have been a better ratio and provided more SSD benefit for more ambitious users. That would be great if you can locate a 256GB from someone upgrading.

Good luck ...

I am not too keen on some suggestions about building a Fusion drive with an internal-drive and an external-drive due to the possibility of Thunderbolt disconnect and the havoc it would cause. However, I see no problem with a dual drive Thunderbolt enclosure and building a Fusion drive in that with a larger SSD and 3TB hard disk ... no chance of a disconnect between the drives as they are both in the same box. My Fusion drive in the J4 seems to be running fine externally.

Last edited by hfg; Jan 25, 2013 at 11:07 PM.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 03:32 AM   #14
itsamacthing
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
Yeah ... I think 128GB is too small too, 256GB would have been a better ratio and provided more SSD benefit for more ambitious users. That would be great if you can locate a 256GB from someone upgrading.
Wondering if the iMac uses the same blade as the retina MBP. Either way, OWC will have an upgrade soon. I have a ton of storage (NAS, 2 USB 3 external, and I can roll a storage VM on my Vsphere beast), so I'm not starved for storage. I'm gonna try to change my order on Monday, if its too late Ill stick it out with the fusion. Worried the 768 model imac won't have a second Sata port, what do yo see if your system report?
itsamacthing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 10:30 AM   #15
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsamacthing View Post
Wondering if the iMac uses the same blade as the retina MBP. Either way, OWC will have an upgrade soon. I have a ton of storage (NAS, 2 USB 3 external, and I can roll a storage VM on my Vsphere beast), so I'm not starved for storage. I'm gonna try to change my order on Monday, if its too late Ill stick it out with the fusion. Worried the 768 model imac won't have a second Sata port, what do yo see if your system report?
The posts I have seen seem to think the blade SSD is the same one as used in the rMBP. I think there is something to that effect over on the OWC website as well, as they sell upgrade blade SSDs and I am sure would like to offer a kit for the iMac with SSD, tools, and resealing tape.

The second SATA-III port is there, however I would bet that the SATA/Power cable is not there on models with the 768GB SSD (no hard disk option). I have been looking around for one with no luck so far (part# 923-0312) as I would like to add another internal SSD drive. I want to have the cable in hand before I even think about opening the iMac. I'm sure eventually that cable will be available, R.OG's teardown thread here has some pictures of it and it appears to be standard SATA on both ends, but the Power cable is standard on one end, but a non-standard straight-line pinfield on the other.

Here is a service guide which shows an exploded parts diagram towards the end:

http://www.scribd.com/doc/118836055/2012iMac


-howard

Last edited by hfg; Jan 26, 2013 at 10:36 AM.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:26 AM   #16
DrJack6
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Well that was a large conversation about EXTERNAL STORAGE. Anyway, from the 2 answers got for INTERNAL storage, looks like 2011 Imac is far superior as it can easily hold 2 SATA III SSDs.
DrJack6 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:02 PM   #17
Aqueous
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Sorry. Your thread "Title" pretty much sums up the posts in this thread. I don't think your question was posed clearly enough with regard to internal storage. You specifically mention TB and SATA and 2012 iMac so...
Aqueous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:40 PM   #18
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJack6 View Post
I asked Apple and they said "We don't release that information."

I know the 2011 has 2 SATA III ports and 1 SATA II port.

What are the SATA options in the new 2012?

Really want to upgrade because the GTX card but I won't get it if I can't put my 2 OWC SSDs in SATA III RAID....
OK ...

You can't install your 2 OWC SSD 2.5" form-factor drives in the 27" 2012 iMac to run as RAID.

There are 2 SATA-III controllers in the 2012 iMac ... one is connected to a "blade type" connector for a SSD, the other is connected to a standard SATA-III power/data cable and plugs into the 3.5" hard drive if ordered with one. If you open the iMac case, you can replace the hard drive with one of your OWC 2.5" SSD drives using suitable mounting hardware.

Off topic: you can, however, run your 2 OWC SSDs as RAID-0 externally in a Thunderbolt enclosure such as a LaCie LBD or Pegasus J4. And you don't have to slice the iMac open to do so.

Last edited by hfg; Jan 28, 2013 at 08:47 PM.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 08:49 AM   #19
DrJack6
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Nah... gotta stick to internal.. Not gonna lose 1gb/s internal speed to get a better GPU.
DrJack6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual drive solution for 2012 iMac from Micro SATA Cables theaero iMac 18 Sep 28, 2013 11:35 AM
2nd SATA drive in 2012 iMac tanker5 iMac 2 Sep 2, 2013 06:07 AM
Resolved: Trying to decide options. Refurbished iMac 2012 DdMac679 Buying Tips and Advice 5 May 28, 2013 01:21 PM
iMac Late 2012 Options Elektrikz iMac 7 Mar 23, 2013 04:16 PM
Too many choices, options and can't decide... 27" iMac (New Late 2012) craigblues iMac 3 Dec 7, 2012 06:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC