Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 17, 2012, 11:13 PM   #1
SkriBlerLenZ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: "In my bedroom" -Mum
How much RAM would I need?

Hello all, new here (hence the little Newbie badge ).

I'm currently working on an ancient (OK, 2 year old) Dell Inspiron.
Long story short, 4GB RAM is not adequate enough to have Photoshop running with 20-40 14 mega-pixel photos open plus trying to work in them; let alone having Firefox, iTunes, Word, multiple folders, and the occasional game running in the background (tried it once. wasn't pretty).


So, being a massive Apple lover, I'm pretty much set on buying a Macbook Pro 15" once the Ivy Bridge refresh happens (looking epically soon at the end of April, am I right?). The only thing stopping me there is thinking about the hole it's going to put into my savings xD


I won't upgrade the RAM via Apple (expensive, anyone?), I'll probably do it with OWC and go DIY.

However, that's not the issue here. I'm concerned as to how much RAM I actually need.


I stated before what I'm using, but with the Mac, there'll be one slightly bigger problem: Adobe CS5 cannot be switched from Windows to Mac, and I'm too cheap to upgrade it.
So, I'm going to need a VM.


My question to all you lovely iSheep (i kid) out there is this:

How much RAM do you think I'm going to need if I'm running CS5 in a VM plus Firefox plus iTunes plus Word and plus my beloved Sims 3?


My original plan (and don't laugh) was 16gb. I planned to dedicate 8gb to the VM, and 8gb to OSX. But now that the upgrade is looming nearer, 16gb does sound a little like overkill.


Any advice and suggestions would be very muchly appreciated

Thanks for your time.
SkriBlerLenZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 11:25 PM   #2
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
16gb may seem overkill but it is so cheap you may as well go for it.

If 16gb was 100-150 bucks like it is now, rather than 1500 like it was when i bought my MBP mid-year last year, i'd be using 16gb right now.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2012, 11:33 PM   #3
SkriBlerLenZ
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: "In my bedroom" -Mum
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
16gb may seem overkill but it is so cheap you may as well go for it.

If 16gb was 100-150 bucks like it is now, rather than 1500 like it was when i bought my MBP mid-year last year, i'd be using 16gb right now.

Thank you very much. When I was comparing 8GB to 16GB prices awhile back, my gut reaction was just to get the 16gb. Thanks for confirming this
__________________
Sandy Bridge MacBook Pro 15 inch on its way.
Do not remind me the Ivy Bridge refresh is coming soon.
I like chocolate.
SkriBlerLenZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 08:16 AM   #4
beowulf70
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London
Simple answer: As much as you can afford.
But 16 GB is cheaper now than you could ever imagine... go for it.
Minimum 8 GB. Trust me.
__________________
Mac user since 1988
beowulf70 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 02:36 PM   #5
jb91
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
As annoying as it is, using CS on OSX over running it through VM is soo much nicer. Regardless of the RAM and power the simple fact is you are running two operating systems at once, something to connect them and then photoshop on top as well as any other programs you have running. Your are spending upwards of 1500 (or US equivalent) for something that is going to last you a long time and be a good investment. Agree with you completely on the RAM (I have put crucial in mine and had no problems whatsoever running Indesign, Photoshop and Illustrator simultaneously with others) but have a good think about the way you are going to run Photoshop. You could always decommission your current license and sell it onto a friend to put towards mac CS5?

Let us know what you decide to do.
jb91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 09:03 PM   #6
Capri
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Upgrade Photoshop from Windows to Mac

Rather than buy a complete new version of Photoshop, you should be able to buy a Mac upgrade version (you could wait for CS6 coming out later this year), call Adobe and explain that you are upgrading from a PC to a Mac, and they will give you an activation code to use the upgrade package for Mac. That way you don't have to run Photoshop on VM/Windows (which is like putting bicycle wheels on a new BMW IMHO). I did this years ago when I switched to a Mac. Call Adobe first before buying anything to verify that they will still do that.
Capri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 09:16 PM   #7
SkriBlerLenZ
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: "In my bedroom" -Mum
Quote:
Originally Posted by beowulf70 View Post
Simple answer: As much as you can afford.
But 16 GB is cheaper now than you could ever imagine... go for it.
Minimum 8 GB. Trust me.
Haha, I'd never think of going below 8GB, so don't worry

Thanks for your input

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb91 View Post
As annoying as it is, using CS on OSX over running it through VM is soo much nicer. Regardless of the RAM and power the simple fact is you are running two operating systems at once, something to connect them and then photoshop on top as well as any other programs you have running. Your are spending upwards of 1500 (or US equivalent) for something that is going to last you a long time and be a good investment. Agree with you completely on the RAM (I have put crucial in mine and had no problems whatsoever running Indesign, Photoshop and Illustrator simultaneously with others) but have a good think about the way you are going to run Photoshop. You could always decommission your current license and sell it onto a friend to put towards mac CS5?

Let us know what you decide to do.
Thanks for the advice Hopefully I am understanding what you said correctly here (It didn't quite make sense the way you worded things, sorry), but you're saying it's a bad idea to run Photoshop through a VM?

Obviously the ideal situation would be to NOT have to run CS5 through a VM, and I have looked into getting Mac CS5. Sadly, the only friend who would be slightly interested in buying CS5 from is broke.
That, and I am using the Student/Teacher standard ed- which means no transferring.

So selling it is out of the question. Sadly.

Thanks for your input, though. I did a bit of googling after your suggestion, but only to find that yes - I can't sell the Student Edition.

The other thing is that I would probably need a VM for awhile anyway, since I am currently Windows based. I'm pretty sure that everything I use is Windows/Mac compatible - except CS5 (So annoying -_-) - but my family and majority of people I operate with are also Windows based.

But still, CS5 through a VM is a last resort, and the only real major thing holding me back from making the jump.
__________________
Sandy Bridge MacBook Pro 15 inch on its way.
Do not remind me the Ivy Bridge refresh is coming soon.
I like chocolate.
SkriBlerLenZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2012, 10:40 PM   #8
SkriBlerLenZ
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: "In my bedroom" -Mum
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capri View Post
Rather than buy a complete new version of Photoshop, you should be able to buy a Mac upgrade version (you could wait for CS6 coming out later this year), call Adobe and explain that you are upgrading from a PC to a Mac, and they will give you an activation code to use the upgrade package for Mac. That way you don't have to run Photoshop on VM/Windows (which is like putting bicycle wheels on a new BMW IMHO). I did this years ago when I switched to a Mac. Call Adobe first before buying anything to verify that they will still do that.
Ah, that's such a tempting option!
Sadly, I'm using the Student ed. of CS5, and I'm not entirely sure if this is eligible for upgrade - especially cross platform afterwards. Confirmation on this would be nice


The other problem is price (pretty sure it's like buying a brand new student ed suit again? Price wise I mean) AND the fact that I'd have to adjust to a different version of CS.

Haha as silly as that last reason sounds, I'm in no way a professional - serious armature I believe it's called. Though it is a minor one, and nothing that I'm going to base buying decisions on


Any further advice on this front would be appreciated
__________________
Sandy Bridge MacBook Pro 15 inch on its way.
Do not remind me the Ivy Bridge refresh is coming soon.
I like chocolate.
SkriBlerLenZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 12:27 PM   #9
schimmel
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkriBlerLenZ View Post

The other problem is price (pretty sure it's like buying a brand new student ed suit again? Price wise I mean) AND the fact that I'd have to adjust to a different version of CS.

Haha as silly as that last reason sounds, I'm in no way a professional - serious armature I believe it's called. Though it is a minor one, and nothing that I'm going to base buying decisions on

Any further advice on this front would be appreciated
I haven't read the entirety of the thread, but I would suggest you look at Creative Cloud, which is a subscription service from Adobe, i.e you pay every month instead of one big bunch, to always have the latest software.

For current CS5 users, I believe it's 29.99 USD per month, which is really cheap imho. Plus, you may be able to sell your CS5 suite to another student, if that's legit (afraid not, but worth checking).

Plus, if you're gonna run a VM, you're basically gonna have to shell out some considerable amounts of cash for a proper VM app and a Windows license – which really is paying extra for a worse experience.

Last edited by schimmel; May 12, 2012 at 12:29 PM. Reason: Added last paragraph
schimmel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 12:44 PM   #10
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by schimmel View Post
I haven't read the entirety of the thread, but I would suggest you look at Creative Cloud, which is a subscription service from Adobe, i.e you pay every month instead of one big bunch, to always have the latest software.

For current CS5 users, I believe it's 29.99 USD per month, which is really cheap imho. Plus, you may be able to sell your CS5 suite to another student, if that's legit (afraid not, but worth checking).

Plus, if you're gonna run a VM, you're basically gonna have to shell out some considerable amounts of cash for a proper VM app and a Windows license which really is paying extra for a worse experience.
The OP is making a stupid mistake if he's going to try to run those programs through a VM. He'd be way better off using bootcamp. The monthly rates aren't actually that cheap considering that previously you could just upgrade every other release or so (or whenever they added something good) and it would come out way less in the end. I mean I never skipped an upgrade where they actually added something I wanted, but the past couple have been terrible on bugs.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 12:47 PM   #11
\-V-/
macrumors 65816
 
\-V-/'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkriBlerLenZ View Post
Hello all, new here (hence the little Newbie badge ).

I'm currently working on an ancient (OK, 2 year old) Dell Inspiron.
Long story short, 4GB RAM is not adequate enough to have Photoshop running with 20-40 14 mega-pixel photos open plus trying to work in them; let alone having Firefox, iTunes, Word, multiple folders, and the occasional game running in the background (tried it once. wasn't pretty).


So, being a massive Apple lover, I'm pretty much set on buying a Macbook Pro 15" once the Ivy Bridge refresh happens (looking epically soon at the end of April, am I right?). The only thing stopping me there is thinking about the hole it's going to put into my savings xD


I won't upgrade the RAM via Apple (expensive, anyone?), I'll probably do it with OWC and go DIY.

However, that's not the issue here. I'm concerned as to how much RAM I actually need.


I stated before what I'm using, but with the Mac, there'll be one slightly bigger problem: Adobe CS5 cannot be switched from Windows to Mac, and I'm too cheap to upgrade it.
So, I'm going to need a VM.


My question to all you lovely iSheep (i kid) out there is this:

How much RAM do you think I'm going to need if I'm running CS5 in a VM plus Firefox plus iTunes plus Word and plus my beloved Sims 3?


My original plan (and don't laugh) was 16gb. I planned to dedicate 8gb to the VM, and 8gb to OSX. But now that the upgrade is looming nearer, 16gb does sound a little like overkill.


Any advice and suggestions would be very muchly appreciated

Thanks for your time.
You need to make sure your Inspiron even supports 16 GB of RAM. It may not. That aside, I'd definitely recommend installing as much RAM as your machine can use, whatever that may be. RAM is your friend. :]
\-V-/ is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 05:31 PM   #12
Blue Fox
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
When it comes to Photoshop, the most RAM you can shove in the better. I've maxed out my 16GB RAM in my iMac several times while working with large projects in Photoshop. Max it out even quicker when I have iTunes and a few other programs running in the background.
__________________
27" i7 iMac w/SSD | 64 GB iPhone 6 | 120 GB iPod Classic | 13" MacBook Pro w/SSD | 15" i7 Retina MacBook Pro
Blue Fox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 01:15 AM   #13
SkriBlerLenZ
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: "In my bedroom" -Mum
Quote:
Originally Posted by schimmel View Post
I haven't read the entirety of the thread, but I would suggest you look at Creative Cloud, which is a subscription service from Adobe, i.e you pay every month instead of one big bunch, to always have the latest software.

For current CS5 users, I believe it's 29.99 USD per month, which is really cheap imho. Plus, you may be able to sell your CS5 suite to another student, if that's legit (afraid not, but worth checking).

Plus, if you're gonna run a VM, you're basically gonna have to shell out some considerable amounts of cash for a proper VM app and a Windows license which really is paying extra for a worse experience.

Sadly, I cannot sell my CS5 to anyone, because it is a student edition. Selling it is a definite no-no.

As for the Cloud option, I have looked at that. But, do you not need to download it first? If that is the case, then sadly I can't do that either. Where I'm currently residing (and can't move since I'm still a minor), we get terrible internet in terms of download allowance.
__________________
Sandy Bridge MacBook Pro 15 inch on its way.
Do not remind me the Ivy Bridge refresh is coming soon.
I like chocolate.
SkriBlerLenZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 07:05 PM   #14
SkriBlerLenZ
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: "In my bedroom" -Mum
Thank you everyone!

I'd just like to say a quick thank you to everyone who helped out here. After doing some more googling, I found a site that will sell me what I want in my country (no overseas shipping. yay!).

I've actually decided to go with the current MacBook Pros. I know Ivy Bridge is awesome and all, but for what I need (and I need it fast) Sandy Bridge is quite all right.

I'd also like to point out that running CS5 via VM was a total last resort. Mainly, CS6 wasn't out yet and I didn't want to upgrade to CS5.5 (nothing, basically, had been updated in what I used PLUS you can't upgrade Education Discounted products) and to save a little money I would try and use it [CS5] via VM for awhile.

However you'll all be happy to know I'm totally skipping the VM now, and getting CS6 for Mac with the MacBook Pro.

I'm also going 16gb ram, so this baby's gonna pack some punch


Thank you all again. You've all been really helpful in all the decision making
__________________
Sandy Bridge MacBook Pro 15 inch on its way.
Do not remind me the Ivy Bridge refresh is coming soon.
I like chocolate.
SkriBlerLenZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 09:54 PM   #15
TyroneShoes2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
The rule-of-thumb for Photoshop has always been to take the largest file size you will be working on and multiply that by 5 for the MINIMUM amount of RAM you need, not counting what the OS will eat up first. Otherwise you will be paging virtual memory all day and night long (an SSD helps).

If you are more than a casual user, just get as much RAM as you can shove into your computer. If that number isn't larger than the rule-of-thumb, get a better computer. Put your page file on a separate HDD (or better yet, a separate SSD). Also, only keep one document/image open at a time.

And quit all of those other programs when you are in Photoshop, or it probably wont even help to max out RAM. On Windows this probably means a reboot to shake loose all of that memory.
__________________
10 Macs, including the first 128K Mac and a late-2011 MBA, 7 iPods, 2 iPhones, iPad 1, iPad 3, and lord knows how much Apple software over the years.

Last edited by TyroneShoes2; May 16, 2012 at 10:01 PM.
TyroneShoes2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 07:08 PM   #16
Laird Knox
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkriBlerLenZ View Post
PLUS you can't upgrade Education Discounted products
Not true

Quote:
Can I upgrade from a validly licensed education version of a CS3, CS4, or CS5.x product to a noneducation version of a CS6 product?

Yes, you may purchase upgrades for education versions provided you meet the upgrade eligibility requirements. For requirements, pricing, or to place your single-user license order, visit the Adobe.com Store in your region.
http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/faq.html
Laird Knox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 01:52 AM   #17
SkriBlerLenZ
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: "In my bedroom" -Mum
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laird Knox View Post
Thanks for that I was actually talking about upgrading a Student Ed to a Student Ed (haha I know, cheapskate city). I talked to Adobe personally, and they said it was a big no-no. Which personally makes sense, but I was just doubly checking.

Thanks again though.
__________________
Sandy Bridge MacBook Pro 15 inch on its way.
Do not remind me the Ivy Bridge refresh is coming soon.
I like chocolate.
SkriBlerLenZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 02:59 AM   #18
\-V-/
macrumors 65816
 
\-V-/'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyroneShoes2 View Post
The rule-of-thumb for Photoshop has always been to take the largest file size you will be working on and multiply that by 5 for the MINIMUM amount of RAM you need, not counting what the OS will eat up first. Otherwise you will be paging virtual memory all day and night long (an SSD helps).

If you are more than a casual user, just get as much RAM as you can shove into your computer. If that number isn't larger than the rule-of-thumb, get a better computer. Put your page file on a separate HDD (or better yet, a separate SSD). Also, only keep one document/image open at a time.

And quit all of those other programs when you are in Photoshop, or it probably wont even help to max out RAM. On Windows this probably means a reboot to shake loose all of that memory.
This is good advice. Hopefully 16 GB sticks will be out soon so I can shove 32 GB of RAM in a MBP.
__________________
There is but one truly serious philosophical problem and that is suicide.
\-V-/ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 10:08 AM   #19
Laird Knox
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkriBlerLenZ View Post
Thanks for that I was actually talking about upgrading a Student Ed to a Student Ed (haha I know, cheapskate city). I talked to Adobe personally, and they said it was a big no-no. Which personally makes sense, but I was just doubly checking.

Thanks again though.
LOL that would be nice but I can't see Adobe upgrading anything for a dollar.
Laird Knox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 05:22 PM   #20
ectoplasmosis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Fox View Post
When it comes to Photoshop, the most RAM you can shove in the better. I've maxed out my 16GB RAM in my iMac several times while working with large projects in Photoshop. Max it out even quicker when I have iTunes and a few other programs running in the background.
What he said. I've got 32GB in my Mac Pro and even that is sometimes not enough when really taxing the system.

Paid 120 for it all. Peanuts.
ectoplasmosis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2012, 11:28 AM   #21
GSPice
macrumors 68000
 
GSPice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I am here to say, from experience:

1) If you're spending money on a MBP, please try, try, try to get CS for Mac.
2) Get as much memory as you can afford - the apps will use any available.
3) Besides using an SSD, your MBP will thank you (quite noticeably) for the memory upgrade, and you'll appreciate it.
__________________
15" Haswell rMBP 2.3/16/512/750m | 24" iMac 3.06/500/4/8800 | Mac OS X 10.9.2
AEBS MC340LL/A | APC RS 800VA/XS 1000 | iPhone 5 16GB 7.1 | iPad 16GB LTE 7.1 | Apple TV 2
GSPice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2012, 01:31 PM   #22
LaWally
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkriBlerLenZ View Post
Sadly, I cannot sell my CS5 to anyone, because it is a student edition. Selling it is a definite no-no.

As for the Cloud option, I have looked at that. But, do you not need to download it first? If that is the case, then sadly I can't do that either. Where I'm currently residing (and can't move since I'm still a minor), we get terrible internet in terms of download allowance.
Could you not find a friend of a friend of a friend who has fast internet access with no restrictions and do your downloads from their network?
LaWally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2012, 12:17 AM   #23
SkriBlerLenZ
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: "In my bedroom" -Mum
Mac has arrived :D

Thanks everyone for the continual replies :P

Just to clarify - I never *wanted* to use my Windows CS5 in a VM, but at the time of looking at stuff CS6 wasn't out AND I did NOT want to have to buy CS5.5 because after asking around on the the Adobe Forums it turned out it didn't update Photoshop.

Also to clarify, I have now purchased my Mac (which is sitting beside me now in its shipping box waiting to be opened ^_^ ) AND CS6 for Mac. So, don't worry, no VMs


I got the 16gb of RAM, and am SUPER excited to start this baby up. May start a thread with some photos to share my excitement, we shall see


Thanks again for the help everyone! It's muchly appreciated
__________________
Sandy Bridge MacBook Pro 15 inch on its way.
Do not remind me the Ivy Bridge refresh is coming soon.
I like chocolate.
SkriBlerLenZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2012, 12:31 AM   #24
lostngone
macrumors 6502a
 
lostngone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Anchorage
Depending on what you are doing with these images I would say 8 is not enough. It would say 16 for the vm and 8 for mac os x but 24 isn't an option so go for at least 32.
lostngone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 02:04 AM   #25
Chuck-Norris
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
can i get away with 8gb?
Chuck-Norris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
last minute decision; 21''/3.1Ghz i7/ 16gb RAM/ 512 flash. Do I need 32gb RAM 27''? bluesnina iMac 10 Feb 10, 2014 06:57 PM
Resolved: Does macbook (late 2007) support a maximum of 4gb RAM or 6gb RAM? ItsDaKronic MacBook 2 Sep 18, 2013 07:06 AM
Upgrading from 1x1GB 200pin 1067Mhz RAM to 4x4GB 1333Mhz 204pin RAM aningbo MacBook Pro 10 Jul 7, 2013 06:07 PM
i want any app to test my ram new ram and old ram TT1TT Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 12, 2012 04:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC