Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:04 PM   #1
icetech
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
HELP. iPhone 3GS bricked.

So, I sold my iphone 3GS on ebay and decided on resetting the phone for the new owner. Here is exactly what happened

This iphone is IOS 6 and tethered jailbroken. It was off and when i turned it on, I DID NOT BOOT THROUGH REDSNOW, thinking i did not need to since all i needed to do was reset the phone and all shall be good. When i pressed reset, the apple logo came up, then a loading bar and then the loading circle.

As of now: The loading circle is still on my phone.

How do i fix this?

BE AWARE: The power button on this phone is broken and is super super super hard to get it to work. In other words, IT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE to put this phone into DFU mode.

I already "tried" to put it into DFU mode, unsure if i pressed the home button hard enough or not. I tired to hard reset. I tried the up volume reset trick. Nothing is working. iTunes AND redsnow cannot find the device.

Any help would be awesome!!

Last edited by icetech; Jan 24, 2013 at 06:13 PM.
icetech is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:19 PM   #2
Appl3FTW
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Connect and dfu under redsnow then boot only?
Appl3FTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:02 PM   #3
icetech
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I cant DFU. Also the computer doesnt see the device when i connect it.
icetech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:06 PM   #4
itjw
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Time to refund the buyer and re-sell it as broken/for-parts.

That way you won't have to deal with a chargeback when the buyer can't get the phone to power on or off lol...

A 3GS is no longer worth the trouble unless it's MINT. If it's broken (as this one is), sell it "as-is" and move on.
itjw is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:16 PM   #5
praktical
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oklahoma City Oklahoma.
Dfu

Quote:
Originally Posted by icetech View Post
I cant DFU. Also the computer doesnt see the device when i connect it.
Actually you can just follow the DFU procedure, connect to iTunes and do a full restore.
praktical is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:18 PM   #6
icetech
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by praktical View Post
Actually you can just follow the DFU procedure, connect to iTunes and do a full restore.
I cant put it into DFU mode, idk how many times I have to say it.
icetech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:20 PM   #7
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Use a different computer or USB cable. Else contact the buyer.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:25 PM   #8
PNutts
macrumors 601
 
PNutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by icetech View Post
I cant put it into DFU mode, idk how many times I have to say it.
lol - I was thinking the same thing.

If you haven't seen it already, there is a forum for jailbreaks and hacks. If you can't get what you need here you might get more play over there. Sorry, but I don't know the answer to your question.

Oh, and you'll probably get grief for using the term "bricked" if there's something on the display.

Edit: I just Googled and there are some links. Here's one and the only reason I see that Step 10 has you use iTunes is to back it up. Good luck!

Edit #2: Opps. I didn't read far enough. They want you to restore the special .ipsw via iTunes. Sorry.

Last edited by PNutts; Jan 24, 2013 at 07:31 PM. Reason: Found link
PNutts is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:38 PM   #9
sulpfiction
macrumors 68020
 
sulpfiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by praktical View Post
Actually you can just follow the DFU procedure, connect to iTunes and do a full restore.
Wow..how many times does the OP have to mention he is unable to get into DFU.
sulpfiction is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:45 PM   #10
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by sulpfiction View Post
Wow..how many times does the OP have to mention he is unable to get into DFU.
Then the OP has to get it repaired and inform the buyer, puddles of fun.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 08:11 PM   #11
icetech
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Are there anyways to force shutdown the iphone?


Also, if i were to let the iphone die? what should i do after that?
icetech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 08:59 PM   #12
lunaoso
macrumors 65816
 
lunaoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New England, USA
Then I guess you could plug it in and see if it boots as usual or if it gets stuck again.
__________________
Great iPhone wallpaper website | Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.
lunaoso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 06:00 AM   #13
Xenomorph
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis
Saying it is "bricked" is dishonest and a lie.

Just fix the button and restore the device.
Xenomorph is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 09:23 AM   #14
HKSSS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Repeat what i say: NEVER PRESS THE RESET/ERASE BUTTON A JAILBROKEN IDEVICES.

You've learned your lesson.

I suggest refund the it and sell it as parts OR fix the button and sell it again.
HKSSS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:37 AM   #15
braxton34
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
you can use redsn0w to get it into dfu mode if you have a non-working button (you install a dfu ipsw i believe).
braxton34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:51 PM   #16
praktical
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oklahoma City Oklahoma.
DFU Mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by icetech View Post
I cant put it into DFU mode, idk how many times I have to say it.
sorry about that. i was basing my response on the fact that I have on many occasions had to put the phone in DFU when the screen was completely blank.
I would get the phone in DFU mode and then connect it to itunes and do a restore.
praktical is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:55 PM   #17
0dev
macrumors 68040
 
0dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
OP are you sure you're trying to get into DFU mode and not just restore mode? They're different things and as far as I know DFU is in the ROM and it's not really possible to **** it up unless you have a hardware fault.
0dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:00 PM   #18
Redjericho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0dev View Post
OP are you sure you're trying to get into DFU mode and not just restore mode? They're different things and as far as I know DFU is in the ROM and it's not really possible to **** it up unless you have a hardware fault.
His sleep button is broken so he can't.
Redjericho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:11 PM   #19
0dev
macrumors 68040
 
0dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redjericho View Post
His sleep button is broken so he can't.
You can try and jump it into DFU from PwnageTool or similar apps.

Or can't he just try pushing the button at the right angle or with the end of a key or something to make it work? My home button's bust but if I push it at a certain angle hard it still works.
0dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC