Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 25, 2013, 09:10 AM   #1
walkreed
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
20" Cinema Display with Macbook Pro

So I bought an old 20" Cinema Display at a yard sale for dirt cheap. I didn't have any way to test it, but for the price I took their word that it worked great.

Now I've got it connected with a Mini Displayport to DVI adapter, but all I'm getting on the monitor is a black screen. My laptop (newer Macbook Pro) recognizes it, but I don't get anything on the monitor.

Does this mean the monitor is shot? Or do I need some other sort of connection?

Thanks!
walkreed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:47 AM   #2
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkreed View Post
So I bought an old 20" Cinema Display at a yard sale for dirt cheap. I didn't have any way to test it, but for the price I took their word that it worked great.

Now I've got it connected with a Mini Displayport to DVI adapter, but all I'm getting on the monitor is a black screen. My laptop (newer Macbook Pro) recognizes it, but I don't get anything on the monitor.

Does this mean the monitor is shot? Or do I need some other sort of connection?

Thanks!
When you say "newer MBP," what exactly do you mean by newer? Because if it's a TB MBP, then I don't think it will work with that display.
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:56 AM   #3
walkreed
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Not sure what you mean by "TB" but it's about two years old. It's the Intel i5, I think.
walkreed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 11:18 AM   #4
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkreed View Post
Not sure what you mean by "TB" but it's about two years old. It's the Intel i5, I think.
I mean Thunderbolt. I don't know if the thunderbolt enabled Macs are compatible with the older displays.
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:40 PM   #5
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
In theory, the Thunderbolt -> mini-DP -> DVI route should work. Like you said, though, the monitor might be shot. Do you know anyone else with a Thunderbolt MBP that can test the monitor?

You also might try any other (non-Apple) monitors you have. The problem could be with mini-DP/Thunderbolt port, but I doubt it since your MBP is detecting the cinema display.

Last resort would be to take it to an Apple store, if convenient, and see if it works with any of their machines.
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 12:04 AM   #6
ThirteenXIII
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Mini-DisplayPort to DVI adpater works

http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...to-dvi-adapter
ThirteenXIII is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 03:08 PM   #7
keehinckley@gma
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirteenXIII View Post
Mini-DisplayPort to DVI adpater works

http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...to-dvi-adapter
Nice in theory. Not good for me. I have 2011 17" MacBook Pro and a 20" Aluminum Cinema. I've tried multiple Mini-DisplayPort to DVI adaptors. Nothing. However the monitor works just fine with my DVI MacBook Pro. I've tried it with another MacBook. It worked a couple times, and then stopped. Very odd.

With the adapter on my laptop, I get nothing. Not a sign that the machine so much as knows something is plugged in.

With the DisplayPort->VGA adapter, and a VGA->DVI adapter, the laptop sees the display (I can even change the settings on the power buttons and such), but the monitor stays dark. I can put windows on it, I can't see them. Changing display sizes does nothing to help.
keehinckley@gma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 07:18 PM   #8
altuixde
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Is the monitor on? Forgive me if that's too obvious, I just want to be thorough.
altuixde is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 10:07 PM   #9
eatinbugs
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thunderbolt connection to ... old cimena display

I've been beating my head against the wall with this for a few days now. Yes, it can work... at least it did for a while. Here's a link to my post on the Apple Support forum: https://discussions.apple.com/message/21189700#21189700
eatinbugs is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple cinema display 23" and MacBook Pro 13 inch. thleeal Mac Basics and Help 5 Nov 20, 2013 11:35 AM
Macbook Pro 2010 & Old 20" Cinema Display problem br1nary MacBook Pro 4 May 8, 2013 09:36 AM
MacBook Pro Freezes with One 27" LED Cinema Display But Not The Other BlueGummiBear MacBook Pro 4 Mar 25, 2013 03:26 AM
DVI Cinema Display and the new Macbook Pro Retina display gugy Mac Peripherals 6 Jul 19, 2012 05:20 PM
MacBook Pro Freezes with One 27" LED Cinema Display But Not The Other BlueGummiBear Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Jun 12, 2012 07:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC