Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 26, 2013, 02:30 PM   #1
Designer Dale
macrumors 68040
 
Designer Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Folding space
How Do I Best Mix Old and New Airport Express?

My oldest Airport Express burned out recently and I got a new dual-band version to replace it with. I will be using it with one of the older single band ones in an extended network. Should I connect the new one to the Internet connection and use the older one as the repeater or will it even matter? I was thinking that the newer one would give better initial range because it can broadcast at up to 5GHz.

I use two laptops (08 and 2001 vintage Macs), an iPad and two iPhones in a small single story house with a finished basement. All the computers are on the first floor with a max of three walls between the devices and the router.

Dale
__________________
How to Post, Quote and Multi-Quote Photos - My Google Docs Folder 12/2011
I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message.

Last edited by Designer Dale; Jan 26, 2013 at 02:32 PM. Reason: Correct device name.
Designer Dale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 05:58 PM   #2
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Designer Dale View Post
My oldest Airport Express burned out recently and I got a new dual-band version to replace it with. I will be using it with one of the older single band ones in an extended network. Should I connect the new one to the Internet connection and use the older one as the repeater or will it even matter? I was thinking that the newer one would give better initial range because it can broadcast at up to 5GHz.

I use two laptops (08 and 2001 vintage Macs), an iPad and two iPhones in a small single story house with a finished basement. All the computers are on the first floor with a max of three walls between the devices and the router.

Dale
Definitely connect the newer one and use the older one as a repeater. Just try and put each of them near the center of the house if you can; the new one on the first floor, and the older one in the basement.
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 06:06 PM   #3
spork183
macrumors 6502a
 
spork183's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCroissant View Post
Definitely connect the newer one and use the older one as a repeater. Just try and put each of them near the center of the house if you can; the new one on the first floor, and the older one in the basement.
You may need to play with placement. I had a new AExpress extending from my timecapsule coming from the cable modem. Then I used the early model (so timecapsule to AE-new to AE-old) in my great room, mainly for audio. Microwave oven in kitchen wrecked havoc on the old AE, with multiple drops. Rearranged them so the new one was in the great room, no more issues. No difference in my coverage in the house with the switch, but placement for the old AE was critical for streaming music.
__________________
"I'll buy almost anything if it's shiny and made by Apple..."
-Macbook Wheel Ad
spork183 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:49 AM   #4
Designer Dale
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Designer Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Folding space
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCroissant View Post
Definitely connect the newer one and use the older one as a repeater. Just try and put each of them near the center of the house if you can; the new one on the first floor, and the older one in the basement.
Quote:
Originally Posted by spork183 View Post
You may need to play with placement. I had a new AExpress extending from my timecapsule coming from the cable modem. Then I used the early model (so timecapsule to AE-new to AE-old) in my great room, mainly for audio. Microwave oven in kitchen wrecked havoc on the old AE, with multiple drops. Rearranged them so the new one was in the great room, no more issues. No difference in my coverage in the house with the switch, but placement for the old AE was critical for streaming music.
Thanks for the tips. I set this up both ways and using the newer AExpress for the base station gave better coverage in my home. The old one is in my computer room as an extender and it provides full connection speed in my downstairs studio which is just under by computer room.

Dale
__________________
How to Post, Quote and Multi-Quote Photos - My Google Docs Folder 12/2011
I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message.
Designer Dale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:59 AM   #5
mabaty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Quote:
Originally Posted by Designer Dale View Post
I was thinking that the newer one would give better initial range because it can broadcast at up to 5GHz.
5Ghz does not increase range, it decreases it (less penetration), while increasing speed.
__________________
I write stuff on a bottlerocket
mabaty is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance issues when extending airport extreme network with airport express Birkovic Mac Peripherals 15 Jul 18, 2014 09:40 AM
Bridge Mode for Airport Extreme & Airport Express? ssavanna OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Apr 1, 2014 10:22 AM
Questions RE: Airport Express (2012) vs. Airport Extreme (2011) warvanov Mac Peripherals 3 Jan 3, 2014 12:15 PM
Streaming live Audio from Airport Extreme to an Airport Express (not iTunes/Airplay) marku5 Mac Peripherals 10 Sep 4, 2013 08:53 AM
Old Airport Express vs. 2012 Airport Express jazz1 Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 3, 2012 08:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC