Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 27, 2013, 11:31 PM   #1
ohh epic fail
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Mac Pro 1,1 CPU upgrade

considering what route i should take for my next upgrade. i have about $100 to spend and it's between used processors or a 120GB SSD.

two questions:
1. which should i worry about first?
2. will any CPU with the LGA771 socket work?
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 1,1 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD, 3TB HD, 2x Insignia 20" LED monitors; Mid-2009 MacBook Pro 13", 8GB RAM, 250GB HD; Late-2007 MacBook Pro 15", 2GB RAM, 180GB HD; iPhone 4S 32GB; Apple TV
ohh epic fail is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 11:57 PM   #2
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
SDD gives you the most noticeable boost. It will feel like a brand new machine. Upgrading to quad cores will really only make a difference in render heavy tasks. It cut my AE renders in half.
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:08 AM   #3
tousmic88
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Xeon dual core 3ghz or Xeon Quad core (4mo cache an sfb 1333 mhz) 2.33 ghz, 2 66 ghz (65eur an ebay)& 3ghz (high price).
tousmic88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:07 AM   #4
teameurox
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I just finished my install in my 1,1 of dual x5355 turning mine into a 8core 2,1 essiential I got my mine shipped for 99 bucks on ebay and am very pleased
__________________
13" Mid 2010 MBP, OWC 16gb Ram, Data Doubler Mac Pro 2,1 (upgraded 1,1) GTX 760-8800gt, Octo 2.66ghz, 16gb ram Sprint Gold iPhone 5s 64gb
teameurox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:00 AM   #5
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohh epic fail View Post
considering what route i should take for my next upgrade. i have about $100 to spend and it's between used processors or a 120GB SSD.

two questions:
1. which should i worry about first?
2. will any CPU with the LGA771 socket work?
What software you're using? Check if it will benefit more from higher core count or faster file access (and read/write speed). For $100 you can't have both of these.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:59 AM   #6
nilk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Florida, U.S.
With a bit of luck and deal hunting, you can do both for $100. I found my pair of E5345's on Ebay for $18 (including shipping). I've seen 120GB SSD's for <= $80. Might need to factor in a mounting kit into the cost, but I can't imagine it will be that much.

The E5345's aren't the fastest possible CPUs you can get for these machines, though.

The SSD will make a bigger difference in general usage, and will be much easier to install. Of course it depends on your workload, but the SSD would probably be the better upgrade. I actually don't have an SSD in my Mac Pro yet, but if a 120GB system drive was big enough for my needs, I would have done this long ago.
__________________
Mac Pro 2,1 w/ Xeon E5345's & ATI 5770 / Early '09 17" MBP / Early '08 15" MBP / 2012 15" rMBP / iPhone 4S 64GB

Last edited by nilk; Jan 28, 2013 at 12:04 PM.
nilk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:22 PM   #7
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by teameurox View Post
I just finished my install in my 1,1 of dual x5355 turning mine into a 8core 2,1 essiential I got my mine shipped for 99 bucks on ebay and am very pleased
Great Price! I recently paid $150 shipped. Very happy with results.

With that said, to the original poster, you *may* notice more improvement day to day, depending on what software you use, with a speedy SSD.
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:29 PM   #8
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohh epic fail View Post
considering what route i should take for my next upgrade. i have about $100 to spend and it's between used processors or a 120GB SSD.

two questions:
1. which should i worry about first?
2. will any CPU with the LGA771 socket work?
SSD unless you do a lot of encoding. SSD will allow you to boot up faster, load applications faster, write and read from the hard drive faster, etc. etc. etc. The processor bump will only help you in processor intensive tasks, so if you feel like your Mac Pro isn't processing stuff fast enough, then go CPU. Otherwise SSD. You'll also need some kind of mount for the SSD into the Mac Pro sleds. I went with an Icy Dock from amazon for about $15 for mine.
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:41 PM   #9
ohh epic fail
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
i ended up going with the ocz vertex 3 120 GB SSD and a cheap 2.5/3.5 adapter. i decided i'm gonna hold off til the x5365 come down in price a bit more or i can afford them, that way i can step up to 3GHz from the 2.66 i've got as well as going to 8 cores from 4. the CPU isn't necessary as i don't do any gaming or anything, but i do run logic pro 9 and when i get several plugins going it starts to bog down a bit but the SSD should help with it at least a little bit.
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 1,1 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD, 3TB HD, 2x Insignia 20" LED monitors; Mid-2009 MacBook Pro 13", 8GB RAM, 250GB HD; Late-2007 MacBook Pro 15", 2GB RAM, 180GB HD; iPhone 4S 32GB; Apple TV
ohh epic fail is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:39 AM   #10
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohh epic fail View Post
i ended up going with the ocz vertex 3 120 GB SSD and a cheap 2.5/3.5 adapter. i decided i'm gonna hold off til the x5365 come down in price a bit more or i can afford them, that way i can step up to 3GHz from the 2.66 i've got as well as going to 8 cores from 4. the CPU isn't necessary as i don't do any gaming or anything, but i do run logic pro 9 and when i get several plugins going it starts to bog down a bit but the SSD should help with it at least a little bit.
Don't wait for 5365 price drop, not worth it.
Pair of 5355s ~$100, pair of 5365s ~$360.
Less than 30% performance difference for more than 300% cost.
When you'll get another $100 to spend, get yourself nice pair of 5355s.
666sheep is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:14 PM   #11
ohh epic fail
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Don't wait for 5365 price drop, not worth it.
Pair of 5355s ~$100, pair of 5365s ~$360.
Less than 30% performance difference for more than 300% cost.
When you'll get another $100 to spend, get yourself nice pair of 5355s.
alright, thanks for putting that into perspective for me i hadn't taken that into consideration. it'll probably be a while before i can get it anyway so maybe a good deal will pop up.
__________________
2006 Mac Pro 1,1 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD, 3TB HD, 2x Insignia 20" LED monitors; Mid-2009 MacBook Pro 13", 8GB RAM, 250GB HD; Late-2007 MacBook Pro 15", 2GB RAM, 180GB HD; iPhone 4S 32GB; Apple TV
ohh epic fail is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 10:34 AM   #12
tousmic88
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
High difference to Quad Core 2.66 ghz and Quad Core 3 ghz ? (120 eur vs 360 eur)....
tousmic88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 09:09 PM   #13
kenetic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
SSD price had drop alot lately. I would go for it. Replacing a CPU is a bit of a hassle for me. I might mess up the CPU installation and screw up the whole system.
kenetic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 01:47 AM   #14
Colpeas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Prague, Czech Rep.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tousmic88 View Post
High difference to Quad Core 2.66 ghz and Quad Core 3 ghz ? (120 eur vs 360 eur)....
No, not really worth it. You can find a matched pair of X5355 SLAEG for less than $80 incl. shipping, whereas X5365 are always >$150 a piece. The difference is approximately 20-25% when paired.

It will take 5365s a few more years to become affordable.
---

Just today I purchased a pair of E5345 SLAEJ for $27 and a pair of X5355 SLAEG for $59 and now I need to decide which ones will I keep and which ones will I let go. What I really like about 5345s is lower wattage, which means less heat and quieter fans, but on the other hand, 5355s are about 10% more powerful. Tempting...

I don't know what the hell would I use the extra power for, though...
Colpeas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2013, 04:40 PM   #15
wdjudd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Mac Pro 1,1 CPU Upgrades for ProTools 11

I have been reading about CPU upgrades for the 2006 MacPro 1,1. The upgrades sound like they will work fine with 2,1 firmware update, but I have the following questions:

Will the CPU upgrades/updates run at 64-bit in the 2006 Macs?

Will they run 10.8.3 (Mountain Lion)?

Will these upgrades/updates allow running ProTools 11? I realize that these machines will not be supported by AVID but will they work?
wdjudd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2013, 05:15 PM   #16
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
the chips can run 64bit (iirc).

the EFI remains 32bit.
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2013, 05:27 PM   #17
wdjudd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonie1972 View Post
the chips can run 64bit (iirc).

the EFI remains 32bit.
I assume that you are telling me that although the chips can run at 64bit, my old computer will only run at 34bit, which will prevent me from running OS10.8.3 (or ProTools 11 at 64bit)? Is this correct? Or is there a way to make this work . . . that is practical?
wdjudd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 12:55 PM   #18
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdjudd View Post
I assume that you are telling me that although the chips can run at 64bit, my old computer will only run at 34bit, which will prevent me from running OS10.8.3 (or ProTools 11 at 64bit)? Is this correct? Or is there a way to make this work . . . that is practical?
Look into bootloaders, better yet google Mountain Lion on Mac Pro 1,1
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 03:36 PM   #19
tabsaid
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
The 5365's are starting to come down a bit. 200-225 can score you a matched pair on eBay. Paid 100 for my 5355's a few months back when the 5365's where still 400$. O well. Installing a SSD with mountain lion this week. MLPostFactor 0.3 should be out soon, looks like the best solution as of now?
tabsaid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 04:25 PM   #20
maghemi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Melbourne Australia
I've gone with the E5340 CPU's. They're a lot harder to find as they're engineering samples, but they're A LOT cheaper than the X5365's

The reason I went this way is that they can be modded to run at 3.0ghz up from their standard 2.4ghz relatively easily. Though the downside to doing this is that cooling becomes a bit of an issue.

In the 1,1 dual core mac pro's the heatsink isn't as beefy as the 2,1 quad core mac pro's, so you either have to force the fan to run harder or swap out the heatsink.

I'm in the process of modding my mac pro for some better cooling. Will create a thread once I'm done. But in the end it won't end up being any cheaper than just getting the X5365's

So I'd say for bang for buck you can't go past the X5355's
__________________
A Mac Computer
maghemi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2013, 06:59 AM   #21
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdjudd View Post
I assume that you are telling me that although the chips can run at 64bit, my old computer will only run at 34bit, which will prevent me from running OS10.8.3 (or ProTools 11 at 64bit)? Is this correct? Or is there a way to make this work . . . that is practical?
Software can still run in 64-bit mode. EFI affects what you plug into the PCI slots. If i'm wrong, i'm sure someone here will correct me.

With that said... if you're running PT11, and you plan on using HDX, those new cards probably call for new(er) hardware that use 64bit EFI. Best to check their requirements page.
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2013, 03:39 PM   #22
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonie1972 View Post
Software can still run in 64-bit mode. EFI affects what you plug into the PCI slots. If i'm wrong, i'm sure someone here will correct me.

With that said... if you're running PT11, and you plan on using HDX, those new cards probably call for new(er) hardware that use 64bit EFI. Best to check their requirements page.
EFI effects what kernal can be loaded therefore effects other things
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 10:15 AM   #23
Macquero
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Venezuela
Intel Xeon X5355

Hi Guys, I want to buy a pair of Intel Xeon X5355 processors to upgrade my Mac Pro 1.1 they must be matched? Or there is no problem if you buy them separately at different stores?
Macquero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 01:23 PM   #24
bax2003
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macquero View Post
Hi Guys, I want to buy a pair of Intel Xeon X5355 processors to upgrade my Mac Pro 1.1 they must be matched? Or there is no problem if you buy them separately at different stores?
Look for matched pairs.
__________________
Mac mini i7 2.3 Quad (Late 2012), MacBook Pro 13" R/2.6/8/256 (Mid 2014), iMac 20" (Early 2008)
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad mini Retina WiFi + Cell
bax2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2013, 01:13 PM   #25
ensure
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
I'm about to upgrade CPU on my 2006 mac pro and come across this post. However, I'm not sure any one still have "Mac Pro 2006-2007 Firmware Tool" from netkas.org site to update the firmware from 1,1 to 2,1.

The site has been down for last couple days and don't know if ever gonna coming back.

Thanks.
ensure is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 3,1 CPU Upgrade DawgBone Mac Pro 36 Aug 10, 2014 08:37 PM
Mac Pro 4.1 CPU upgrade BrioBriss Mac Pro 80 Jun 3, 2014 09:22 AM
Mac Pro '09 CPU upgrade joshlac Mac Pro 31 Mar 24, 2014 04:06 AM
Can I upgrade a Mac Pro 4,1 CPU with a 3,1 CPU? cbt3 Mac Pro 11 Jul 30, 2012 08:54 AM
Mac Pro 1,1 CPU upgrade michael_aos Mac Pro 5 Jun 13, 2012 04:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC