Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:19 AM   #1
VortexMK
macrumors member

Question New iMac 27" (late 2012) and system reinstall

I ordered my new iMac 27" (Late 2012) a week ago and I have a few questions about system reinstall because I'm new in Mac world and I have used PC and Windows for many years.

I ordered 1TB Fusion Drive instead of ordinary 1TB HDD. I suppose Mac OS X sees Fusion Drive as one drive...? What happens if system reinstall is needed???

If it is all one drive I suppose, during reinstall, the whole drive will be erased and new system will be installed... Am I right? That means I loose all my data on my Fusion drive?!

On PC (using Windows) I had one partition on my HDD on which the system was installed and on other partition was data. When I needed to reinstall the system I formatted Windows partition and installed new system, but all data on other (data) partition was untouched.

What happens in case of Fusion drive? Can I make partitions and if I can how can I make two partitions (SDD and HDD)? Is it possible?
VortexMK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 02:59 PM   #2
vodouman
macrumors regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by VortexMK View Post
I ordered my new iMac 27" (Late 2012) a week ago and I have a few questions about system reinstall because I'm new in Mac world and I have used PC and Windows for many years.

I ordered 1TB Fusion Drive instead of ordinary 1TB HDD. I suppose Mac OS X sees Fusion Drive as one drive...? What happens if system reinstall is needed???

If it is all one drive I suppose, during reinstall, the whole drive will be erased and new system will be installed... Am I right? That means I loose all my data on my Fusion drive?!