Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:21 AM   #1
evanmac3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
How to backup 2 mac pros on time machine

I've just gotten a 2TB time machine. The first pro was used to set up the time machine, so the back up worked. The second pro won't find the time machine/air porter. How do I get everything to work properly time capsule with two different computers?
evanmac3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:13 AM   #2
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
I this time Machine disk connected to the first Mac pro and is it connected to a USB port on a router?
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:15 PM   #3
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by evanmac3 View Post
I've just gotten a 2TB time machine. The first pro was used to set up the time machine, so the back up worked. The second pro won't find the time machine/air porter. How do I get everything to work properly time capsule with two different computers?
Just to be clear, you bought a Time Capsule like this (router with a backup drive built in)? As long as both machines are on the Time Capsule network, you should be able to go into the Time Machine settings on the computer and click on "select disk", then choose the Time Capsule disk.

What do you see when you try this?
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 01:03 PM   #4
designs216
macrumors 65816
 
designs216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Down the rabbit hole
Sometimes you have to mount the TimeMachine disk first before you can do your first backup. Usually the subsequent backups don't require this step.

Which version of OSX are you using, BTW?
designs216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting a Time Machine backup from one Mac to another. cosrocket Mac Basics and Help 2 Sep 11, 2013 06:56 PM
Mac Mini Backup with Time Machine ramnj Mac mini 3 Oct 27, 2012 09:26 AM
Pros and cons for using the new encrypted backup option with Time Machine? forgotmyusernam OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 26, 2012 09:37 AM
How to a Mac as Time Machine Backup? gmpirate Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jun 30, 2012 02:28 PM
Time Machine Backup + New Mac randomguyishere OS X 2 Jun 12, 2012 11:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC