Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 26, 2013, 03:01 PM   #1
Eduardboon
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Simcity

Dear all,

I played the simcity beta for a while on my retina macbook pro and found that the game would run great on 1920x1200. However, when I set the lightning setting on anything beyond minimum I'd get a LOT of stutters in the game.

Is there anyone with this machine that can agree on this? Game doesn't look nearly as good with the setting on minimum (draw distance is impacted as well)
Eduardboon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 03:09 PM   #2
smoge
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I have the beta on my windows laptop, runs like crap. its only the beta though.
smoge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 03:24 PM   #3
Eduardboon
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoge View Post
I have the beta on my windows laptop, runs like crap. its only the beta though.
On my desktop PC the game runs just fine.

Could just be the rMBP though.. In Chivalry you have to turn off the lightning as well for FPS
Eduardboon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 09:19 PM   #4
Airforcekid
macrumors 65816
 
Airforcekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States of America
Overall looks like a great game if the servers stay up. I have an extra code if anyone wants access to it decided to preorder and I was picked as a beta tester.
__________________
"The answer to 1984 is 1776" Google Infowars to learn more or search Endgame on YouTube
Airforcekid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:01 AM   #5
anshuvorty
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Konoha
with a decent video card, this game looks AMAZING for a city-building, rts-style game. it really seems like a realistic simulation albeit with a cartoon-esque drawing style. I like it! Sim City 2000 with the realistic art style wasn't too color and thus seemed very bland to me. I am really excited for this game to come out!
__________________
2nd Generation iPod Touch (8GB), 6th Generation iPod Classic (80GB), 2nd Generation iPod Shuffle (Silver, 1 GB), 5th Generation iPod Touch (Black/Slate, 32 GB)
anshuvorty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 11:40 AM   #6
iKwick7
macrumors 65816
 
iKwick7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Wood of Spots, NJ
SimCity addict since the original. 2000 is my favorite so far....


Been playing the beta all weekend. Liking it a lot but I have 2 MAJOR complaints:

1- City sizes are far too small.

2- No terrain editing. Maybe beta only but I don't think so. Seriously bad- might as well just play Simcity on iOS.
__________________
iPad / 17" iMac G4 (my baby!)
iKwick7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 02:47 PM   #7
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKwick7 View Post
SimCity addict since the original. 2000 is my favorite so far....


Been playing the beta all weekend. Liking it a lot but I have 2 MAJOR complaints:

1- City sizes are far too small.

2- No terrain editing. Maybe beta only but I don't think so. Seriously bad- might as well just play Simcity on iOS.
The city sizes are small because of the region gameplay. You're meant to specialize your cities. So you might have one that's a residential suburb which is connected to an urban center. You could think of it as one big city across several maps. It's not really that much different than before. They probably had to do this in order to not kill everyone's computers.

I agree with you about the terrain editing, though. Not sure why they decided to take that out.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:08 PM   #8
ScottishCaptain
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
The city sizes are small because of the region gameplay. You're meant to specialize your cities. So you might have one that's a residential suburb which is connected to an urban center. You could think of it as one big city across several maps. It's not really that much different than before. They probably had to do this in order to not kill everyone's computers.
The simulations are ran server-side.

They did this to alleviate the stress of running the game on EA's servers, because EA has to pay for bandwidth and power to keep those systems alive.

Had they made a proper SimCity sequel instead, where everything was ran locally- your typical modern day computer would have been able to handle a city approximately 2x larger then the largest region in SimCity 4.

Oh, and you'd have terrain editing too. The reason why they dropped that was because it's easier, again, on EA's servers- to keep a common set of terrain templates and vend those out to the players.

In other words, any limitations you are encountering are specifically because of the way they opted to tie the game into an online service.

-SC
__________________
2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1), 2*2.93ghz, 64GB, 4x2TB, Apple RAID Card, 5970 GPU, 2xSD, Eizo CG276W
ScottishCaptain is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimCity Fimeg OS X Mavericks (10.9) 19 Oct 23, 2013 11:31 AM
Mavericks and SimCity Aylan OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Oct 4, 2013 09:18 PM
OS X: Simcity cost? trackbikes Mac and PC Games 3 Sep 6, 2013 04:34 PM
Simcity 5 super tomtendo iMac 1 Jan 13, 2013 08:13 PM
Will the new SimCity be available on ML Tom2893 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Dec 31, 2012 07:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC