Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 28, 2013, 05:33 PM   #1
tommy0614
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Where to install Win 7

I have the Imac 27 fusion drive. If I understand right the installation of Win 7 thru bootcamp will load on the hard drive not the SSD. If that is correct what would I have to purchase to load Win 7 on ie SSD in order to run my games thru the SSD. Thank you.
tommy0614 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:07 PM   #2
oldhifi
macrumors 6502a
 
oldhifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
with all the problems that occurs with windows on a Mac, I would just buy a old laptop to use windows ..I plan to keep my old laptop for this, and never use windows on my Mac..
oldhifi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:16 PM   #3
Ant2369
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy0614 View Post
I have the Imac 27 fusion drive. If I understand right the installation of Win 7 thru bootcamp will load on the hard drive not the SSD. If that is correct what would I have to purchase to load Win 7 on ie SSD in order to run my games thru the SSD. Thank you.
From my readings you'd need to separate the 2 drives via terminal commands thus pretty much defeating the purpose of the fusion drive. Personally I'd leave it and just run your games from the Bootcamp partition. I did this and I've played max Payne 3 maxed out with no stuttering or issues
Ant2369 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:24 PM   #4
tommy0614
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thank you Ant2369. So you suggest loading Win 7 thru bootcamp onto my Imac and then loading my games. Is that correct?
tommy0614 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:41 PM   #5
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
If you REALLY REALLY wanted to, you could un-fuse the Fusion, partition it, partition the HDD, re-fuse part of the SSD with part of the Fusion, bootcamp the other partition of the SSD, and use the other part of the HDD for extra Windows data. However, this is all a royal pain in the hiney. Personally I just accept the fact that Windows doesn't run at SSD speeds, and I go into bootcamp no more than once a week probably anyway.

Also bear in mind that many games do have OS X versions that perform well.. you don't need to game exclusively in Windows if you don't want to.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 6  Apple TV 2  iPad Air 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:19 PM   #6
seanm9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Cod, MA
if you really, really, really needed SSD speeds there are a few threads here about installing Windows on a TunderBolt drive... install with Bootcamp... clone windows partition to external TB SSD.... delete windows partition from HDD... re-Fusion the drive...

but that seems like a lot of work...

Sean
seanm9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:11 PM   #7
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanm9 View Post
if you really, really, really needed SSD speeds there are a few threads here about installing Windows on a TunderBolt drive... install with Bootcamp... clone windows partition to external TB SSD.... delete windows partition from HDD... re-Fusion the drive...

but that seems like a lot of work...

Sean
Or ... you could simply install Windows to an external Thunderbolt SSD drive. No cloning, no re-Fusioning required.


See this thread here:
Installing Windows 8 on an External SSD Guide

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1508618



If you had the option of a larger blade SSD with a Fusion drive, you could install Windows internally on a SSD partition and use the remainder of the SSD as your Fusion portion. However, the 128GB SSD that Apple offers is really too small to do this effectively. I configure my DIY Fusion drives this way ... but with 512GB SSDs.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:14 PM   #8
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy0614 View Post
I have the Imac 27 fusion drive. If I understand right the installation of Win 7 thru bootcamp will load on the hard drive not the SSD. If that is correct what would I have to purchase to load Win 7 on ie SSD in order to run my games thru the SSD. Thank you.
Install windows on the normal HDD and get an external SSD to install your games onto.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:44 PM   #9
DerekS
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I'd install it here.

DerekS is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:19 PM   #10
Outrigger
macrumors 68000
 
Outrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekS View Post
I'd install it here.

Image
I'm waiting for some os x vs. windows posts, but you beat everyone to the punch.
__________________
iMac | Intel i7 3.4GHz | 32GB RAM | 1TB Fusion | GTX 680MX
Mini | Intel i5 2.5GHz | 8GB RAM | 750GBSSD | AMD 6630M
rMBP 13 | Intel i5 2.6Ghz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
Outrigger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 12:31 AM   #11
Drharrington
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Really getting away from partitions and doing virtual. Virtual box is excellent and free. IMHO better than any other option. Very clean.
Drharrington is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot get Win 7 to install chetzar Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 7 Jan 6, 2014 05:49 AM
Can't install Win 7 via Bootcamp drtanz Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Sep 7, 2013 10:35 PM
Install Win 7 on Mc Mini seniorgeek Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Dec 18, 2012 01:34 PM
Do I need win 7 to install win 8? Jenja Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Oct 29, 2012 07:42 AM
Re-install Win 7 panoman Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jun 24, 2012 02:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC