Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 24, 2013, 05:29 PM   #1
mikefal33
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Xbox on iMac

Can I use a Mini Display Port to HDMI to put the Xbox video on my iMac display? I don't need audio and video because I have a headset for it.
mikefal33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 05:30 PM   #2
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefal33 View Post
Can I use a Mini Display Port to HDMI to put the Xbox video on my iMac display? I don't need audio and video because I have a headset for it.
Nope.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 05:31 PM   #3
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
Nope.
Yes, but only on the 27" non-Thunderbolt models.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 05:38 PM   #4
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Yes, but only on the 27" non-Thunderbolt models.
i.e. only 2009 and 2010 27" iMacs.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:39 PM   #5
mikefal33
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
i.e. only 2009 and 2010 27" iMacs.
Why not the late 2012 models?
mikefal33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:41 PM   #6
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefal33 View Post
Why not the late 2012 models?
Because those only accept Thunderbolt video input, not mini-DisplayPort like the 2009 and 2010 models. The XBox cannot output its video signal via Thunderbolt.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:43 PM   #7
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefal33 View Post
Why not the late 2012 models?
No target display mode.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Because those only accept Thunderbolt video input, not mini-DisplayPort like the 2009 and 2010 models. The XBox cannot output its video signal via Thunderbolt.
Incorrect. MiniDP and Thunderbolt are one and the same (in this particular scenario).
__________________
YouTube | @beautifulcode
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:46 PM   #8
Stetrain
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowLeopard2008 View Post
No target display mode.
2011 and 2012 iMacs have target display mode, but only when connected to another computer with Thunderbolt.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowLeopard2008 View Post
Incorrect. MiniDP and Thunderbolt are one and the same (in this particular scenario).
There is a distinction. 2009 and 2010 27" iMacs can accept video via a Mini-Displayport adapter (like the Kanex XD). 2011 and 2012 iMacs can accept video in but only as a Thunderbolt signal.
Stetrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:48 PM   #9
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowLeopard2008 View Post
Incorrect. MiniDP and Thunderbolt are one and the same (in this particular scenario).
Physically the two are the same, but the 2012 iMac does not accept DVI compatible signals via the video port, only Thunderbolt signals. The 2012 iMac does have Target Display Mode, but can act as a display only for other Thunderbolt Macs just like the 2011 iMac. The 2009 and 2010 27" iMacs can act as a display for any device that outputs DVI compatible signals.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:52 PM   #10
mikefal33
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Physically the two are the same, but the 2012 iMac does not accept DVI compatible signals via the video port, only Thunderbolt signals. The 2012 iMac does have Target Display Mode, but can act as a display only for other Thunderbolt Macs just like the 2011 iMac. The 2009 and 2010 27" iMacs can act as a display for any device that outputs DVI compatible signals.
No even if it is HDMI to the thunderbolt port.
mikefal33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:54 PM   #11
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefal33 View Post
No even if it is HDMI to the thunderbolt port.
No, they aren't the same signals. The 2011/2012 only take Thunderbolt signals from other Macs. Nothing else. And no adapters exist.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 08:37 PM   #12
bungiefan89
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
No, they aren't the same signals. The 2011/2012 only take Thunderbolt signals from other Macs. Nothing else. And no adapters exist.
Which is exactly why I hate Apple for not growing a brain and just slapping an HDMI port on the back of their 27" computer screens.
__________________
27" 2011 iMac, 3.4 GHz, 12GB RAM, 2GB VRAM - Late 2009 Macbook, 2.26 GHz, 4GB RAM - iPod touch 32GB 4g
bungiefan89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 09:00 PM   #13
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefal33 View Post
Can I use a Mini Display Port to HDMI to put the Xbox video on my iMac display? I don't need audio and video because I have a headset for it.
No, but you could try video capture or game capture devices that would work to play games on your Mac. It would rely on usb connectivity, but I think it performs better than expected.
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 09:02 PM   #14
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCroissant View Post
No, but you could try video capture or game capture devices that would work to play games on your Mac. It would rely on usb connectivity, but I think it performs better than expected.
I've played games with an EyeTV Hybrid before. Works really well, little to no noticeable lag.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 10:31 PM   #15
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
I've played games with an EyeTV Hybrid before. Works really well, little to no noticeable lag.
I thought buying the actual HD capture device with my 20" iMac and my PS3, but I never got to play anyway due to being a full-time student and stay-at-home dad. I was really tempted though.
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 08:45 AM   #16
FFabian
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bochum, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
I've played games with an EyeTV Hybrid before. Works really well, little to no noticeable lag.
I have an EyeTV Hybrid too. Don't get what you're doing. Please explain.
FFabian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 09:36 AM   #17
RedCroissant
macrumors 68000
 
RedCroissant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by FFabian View Post
I have an EyeTV Hybrid too. Don't get what you're doing. Please explain.
http://support.elgato.com/index.php?...articleid=1063

You can connect this via the break out cable either with the s-video or composite output, then you can connect them and play.
__________________
Welcome to the Grid, Program.

27" iMac, 3.2GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 3TB HDD; 32GB iPad 1 WiFi+3G; 30GB iPod Video 5G
RedCroissant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 12:45 PM   #18
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by FFabian View Post
I have an EyeTV Hybrid too. Don't get what you're doing. Please explain.
Plug EyeTV Hybrid into iMac, plug in the breakout cable into EyeTV, plug GameCube/Playstation/Xbox/whatever into EyeTV, turn off recording and timeshifting, play game.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:42 AM   #19
FFabian
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bochum, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Plug EyeTV Hybrid into iMac, plug in the breakout cable into EyeTV, plug GameCube/Playstation/Xbox/whatever into EyeTV, turn off recording and timeshifting, play game.
Thanks. "Console with iMac as Display" is a question that is asked very often but I never read of this solution before.
FFabian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:52 AM   #20
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by FFabian View Post
Thanks. "Console with iMac as Display" is a question that is asked very often but I never read of this solution before.
I wouldn't count on any acceptable input lag with that solution, though I admit I've never personally tried it. Just from what I read.... not so good!

With the analog setup it might be fine, but not digitally. So games will look pretty darn awful.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:49 AM   #21
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
I wouldn't count on any acceptable input lag with that solution, though I admit I've never personally tried it. Just from what I read.... not so good!

With the analog setup it might be fine, but not digitally. So games will look pretty darn awful.
Unless you've personally tried it, don't claim it as being not good. There is very little to no lag. And if one uses the Eyetv 250 or whatever the non-Hybrid one is called, you can reduce the already inperceivable amount of lag even more. While the yellow RCA video doesn't look very nice, S-Video and RGB look very nice when stretched to fill a full iMac screen.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 12:41 PM   #22
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Unless you've personally tried it, don't claim it as being not good. There is very little to no lag. And if one uses the Eyetv 250 or whatever the non-Hybrid one is called, you can reduce the already inperceivable amount of lag even more. While the yellow RCA video doesn't look very nice, S-Video and RGB look very nice when stretched to fill a full iMac screen.
I didn't claim anything. I did say "from what I read."
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to connect Xbox One to iMac? Mikey86uk Mac Peripherals 0 Mar 1, 2014 11:44 AM
Xbox connection to imac goodfellauk34 iMac 3 Jul 13, 2013 05:46 AM
2012 iMac Connectivity to Xbox 360 Question SteveniMac iMac 13 Jun 3, 2013 06:13 PM
OS X: Xbox 360 to iMac 27 inch. RocYourSox Mac and PC Games 7 Apr 20, 2013 07:54 PM
Anything to use mac as xbox screen yet? (TB iMac) InfernoUk iMac 1 Nov 10, 2012 04:38 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC