Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

XNine

macrumors 68040
Original poster
So, I want to learn coding for OS X. I've been told learning C, because Cocoa uses a lot of the same language terms, would be helpful. But I suck at programming. Would the C for dummies really be worth my while, or should i forget about it altogether.

Some honest feedback would be appreciated.

rainman::|:|

macrumors 603
Feb 2, 2002
iowa
Although it's been a few years since I studied or did any programming, I always found that the Dummies books weren't good for learning languages. They're just not concise enough... why say the same thing in 400 pages that you could in 80? But maybe chalk that up to different learning styles... probably some people are exactly the opposite, they love a lot of lengthy monologue and humor in the text...

sreedy

macrumors 6502a
Feb 24, 2005
Somerset
robbieduncan said:
Probably not. I'd suggest getting K&R (The C Programming Language).

I second that!

Easily the best C book on the market for all levels, I used it when I started out with C and still use it today.

jim.

macrumors 6502
Dec 22, 2004
C-ville, VA
I've seen the Dummies book. It doesn't even mention the use of namespaces. Unfortunately if you are using gcc 3.0+ as your compiler, you need to use namespaces (or at least the std:: format) to avoid some nasty compiler errors. Of course, I may have just seen an old edition. They may have updated it since then.

I'd go with one of the above suggestions instead. Taking a programming course will help also, because it will teach you the value of non-obfuscated code, and keep you out of bad practices.

Jim

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
jim. said: