Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:15 AM   #1
SpRoX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denmark
Flashing a HD 4870 on MP 3,1/10.8.2 possible?

Mjellow

I recently got my first Mac, a Mac Pro 3,1, so I'm pretty much a Mac newbie...

It's equipped 2x ATI 2600 XT's and is currently running ML 10.8.2. But it just so happens that I have a couple of HD 4870's lying around, so I thought about flashing one of them to boost the gfx performance.

And now comes the question: Is it still possible to use a flashed pc-card in ML 10.8.2 and if so, which guide/tools should I use?

The card I would like to use, is this Sapphire 512 MB one: http://www.sapphiretech.com/presenta...n=&lid=1&leg=0

Hope you guys can help me!
__________________
- Mac Pro 3,1 - iPhone 5 - iPhone 4 - iPad 2 - Loads of pc's -
SpRoX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 03:11 PM   #2
SpRoX
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denmark
So, I've done some more searching and found the Zeus-tool, but it only seems to work with SN and Lion -can anyone confirm this?

And will a card flashed in SL work on a clean ML install + update to 10.8.2?
__________________
- Mac Pro 3,1 - iPhone 5 - iPhone 4 - iPad 2 - Loads of pc's -
SpRoX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:11 PM   #3
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpRoX View Post
And will a card flashed in SL work on a clean ML install + update to 10.8.2?
It should work without problems. The forum member tjlazer has provided an archive of 4870 flash package here, you should try it first.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 01:52 PM   #4
SpRoX
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcodeSyn View Post
It should work without problems. The forum member tjlazer has provided an archive of 4870 flash package here, you should try it first.
You are my hero! Just the post I was looking for! :-)

With HD4870 in port 2 everything is running perfectly... Unfortunately there is black screen during boot, but it works en SL, ML and Win 7 via bootcamp -sweet!

All I need now is the aux-powercables that goes on the motherboard. Anybody know a good/cheap place to buy that ships to Denmark?
__________________
- Mac Pro 3,1 - iPhone 5 - iPhone 4 - iPad 2 - Loads of pc's -
SpRoX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:39 PM   #5
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpRoX View Post
All I need now is the aux-powercables that goes on the motherboard. Anybody know a good/cheap place to buy that ships to Denmark?
Glad to hear that it worked for you. You can search eBay for sellers shipping worldwide, this one, for example, seems to have the lowest price and good feedback.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flashing a Saphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 to Mac npaisnel Mac Pro 5 Dec 8, 2013 06:17 PM
Need feedback - ATI 4870 vs 5770 ScottProck Mac Pro 3 Nov 1, 2013 01:25 AM
4850's, 4870's, 4890's Any new posts? sharpiess Mac Pro 1 Jan 24, 2013 04:51 PM
Radeon HD 4870 Iffy Performance Tucom Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Sep 14, 2012 01:07 PM
Ati 4870 problem Jackers008 Mac Pro 1 Jun 23, 2012 02:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC