Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 25, 2013, 11:26 PM   #1
massiah81
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Compressor 4 - Does it come w/ ProRes codec?

Anyone with Apple Compressor 4? If so, does it come with the ProRes codec?
I would like to purchase it, however I only want it for the ProRes codec for working with Adobe After Effects.

Thanks!
massiah81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 03:56 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
As far as I have gathered, yes, but it comes via Software Update after you have installed Compressor.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 07:54 AM   #3
linuxcooldude
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
From what I remember you have to download the codec package separately.
__________________
Techshow:http://www.justin.tv/linuxcooldude
linuxcooldude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 12:22 PM   #4
massiah81
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks for the feedback. It's good to know that I can use ProRes, even though I will have to download it afterwards.

Btw: Is there a link for the codec download? Or does it update once I have the program on my machine?
massiah81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 10:31 PM   #5
linuxcooldude
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I think it may of come as a software update once I installed compressor. But either way, you can still install it seperately.

http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1396
__________________
Techshow:http://www.justin.tv/linuxcooldude
linuxcooldude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 08:05 PM   #6
massiah81
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thank you! This is excellent knowledge to know before purchasing.
massiah81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVCHD to ProRes 422 Dukey Digital Video 11 Jul 19, 2014 02:41 PM
ProRes 422 vs ProRes 422 HQ rdsii64 Digital Video 1 Jul 13, 2013 01:36 PM
Converting XDCAM EX to ProRes? puckhead193 Digital Video 4 Oct 24, 2012 07:35 PM
USB 3.0/Prores 422 fast enough? joeysarks Digital Video 3 Aug 22, 2012 04:24 PM
Apart from bitrate, what are the differences between ProRes LT, normal and HQ? ramalam Digital Video 2 Jun 4, 2012 12:39 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC