Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 10, 2014, 05:19 PM   #1
SingularityG
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Simcity 4 Deluxe Edition!

On the Mac App Store! How long has it been there? I imagine everyone but me knew about it.

Here is my money Aspyr and thanks for ruining my life!
__________________
sINGULARITY uNIVERSE
SingularityG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2014, 05:29 PM   #2
westonm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I just saw it myself. I remember it had several performance issues and bugs back in the day, I hope the App Store version is moderately updated -- as even with the bugs I'm interested in playing it again. Although from what I can recall it doesn't seem the version number has been bumped from whatever it was on discs, back in... '06, or whatever it was.
westonm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2014, 05:32 PM   #3
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SingularityG View Post
On the Mac App Store! How long has it been there? I imagine everyone but me knew about it.

Here is my money Aspyr and thanks for ruining my life!
Haha, you havent missed anything. Its only been on the store for a few hours, surprise!

We have been working on this re-release for months. Cleaned up a TON of old bugs, and really pushed on performance increases as well. You can now get a city up to 4-500k pop without any performance hitches.

We also completely scrapped the old fixed resolution option. The game now detects your machine's top 4 available native resolutions for your options. SimCity4 on an iMac at 2560x1440 is really something to see
Aspyr-Blair is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2014, 05:38 PM   #4
SingularityG
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by westonm View Post
I just saw it myself. I remember it had several performance issues and bugs back in the day, I hope the App Store version is moderately updated -- as even with the bugs I'm interested in playing it again. Although from what I can recall it doesn't seem the version number has been bumped from whatever it was on discs, back in... '06, or whatever it was.
I also hope this is a fixed version, or without the serious issues, at least. Downloading now.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspyr-Blair View Post
Haha, you havent missed anything. Its only been on the store for a few hours, surprise!

We have been working on this re-release for months. Cleaned up a TON of old bugs, and really pushed on performance increases as well. You can now get a city up to 4-500k pop without any performance hitches.

We also completely scrapped the old fixed resolution option. The game now detects your machine's top 4 available native resolutions for your options. SimCity4 on an iMac at 2560x1440 is really something to see
Blissful!

Thanks Blair!

Now, if you'll excuse me...
__________________
sINGULARITY uNIVERSE
SingularityG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 12:00 AM   #5
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Awesome! I just saw this there too. I'd much rather play this than the new one.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 01:45 AM   #6
jeanlain
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
How can the system requirements be so high for a 12-year-old game?
The PC version requires ŕ pentium III, 256 MB ram and a DX 8.1 card. The Mac version requires a C2D 2.2 GHz with 4GB Ram and a radeon HD 3870/Geforce 8800. How can it not run on, say, even a radeon HD 2XXX?
jeanlain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 09:33 AM   #7
andydckent
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
@Aspyr-Blair

I have a boxed copy of this game. Is there some way for me to download the update without purchasing again?

Thanks

Andy
andydckent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 09:36 AM   #8
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanlain View Post
How can the system requirements be so high for a 12-year-old game?
The PC version requires ŕ pentium III, 256 MB ram and a DX 8.1 card. The Mac version requires a C2D 2.2 GHz with 4GB Ram and a radeon HD 3870/Geforce 8800. How can it not run on, say, even a radeon HD 2XXX?
Because it is not a 12 year old game, it was just redone and released with significant changes to it including the mentioned display changes. It is also coded for a different operating system using a different graphics API.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 09:37 AM   #9
saturnotaku
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by andydckent View Post
@Aspyr-Blair

I have a boxed copy of this game. Is there some way for me to download the update without purchasing again?

Thanks

Andy
I think if you send their support team an e-mail with a photo of the box and/or CD, they'll send you a code to get the update from their store.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 8.1
iPhone 6 Plus (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 09:38 AM   #10
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspyr-Blair View Post
Haha, you havent missed anything. Its only been on the store for a few hours, surprise!
I forgot to ask yesterday, will this be releasing on Steam also?
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 11:52 AM   #11
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Can someone who has bought this confirm it works with the NAM mod?

Also +1 for seeing this on Steam at some point.
Edit: looks like the SteamDB is showing a Mac version, nice.
Cougarcat is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 12:01 PM   #12
westonm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Having now sunk a few hours into it...

Performance of the graphics engine still isn't super, somewhat slow panning and whatnot. (late '09 iMac, 4850; not a beast by any means) It's perfectly playable though.

I haven't encountered in crashes yet, which is a rather huge step up from my experience with the boxed game.

No idea on if mods work, I wouldn't know how to go about installing them.

it's SimCity, it's not buggy (thus far) and it's on the App Store. <thumb>
westonm is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 12:37 PM   #13
andydckent
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
I think if you send their support team an e-mail with a photo of the box and/or CD, they'll send you a code to get the update from their store.
I emailed Aspyr but unfortunately they won't update the game.

Quote:
*******, Apr 11 11:32 AM: The Release of SimCity4 Deluxe marks the first digital release of the game since the original release in 2003 (more than a decade ago).
Since a considerable amount of Development time and effort went into making this game available on the AppStore, we cannot give out free or replacement downloads for people who own the disc version of the game.

Thank you.
Aspyr Support
andydckent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 12:42 PM   #14
SWD
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Does it have cloud saves of cities, to play on multiple machines?
SWD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 12:58 PM   #15
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by andydckent View Post
I emailed Aspyr but unfortunately they won't update the game.
Too bad, but it's understandable. It's $5 on Steam all the time, I'll get it then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by westonm View Post
No idea on if mods work, I wouldn't know how to go about installing them.
Mods go here: ~/Library/Containers/com.aspyr.simcity4.appstore/Data/Documents/SimCity 4/Plugins

To install NAM you have to use a tool like http://www.kekaosx.com/en/ to unpack the .exe
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 01:03 PM   #16
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Yes, the Steam release will be in May!

To those who have the old version, apologies for not being able to supply you all with a key. The original boxed release was over a decade ago, and as you all know was coded for the PowerPC, a completely different architecture from what we have now. We spent months on the new compatibility and improvements. In short, this isnt a patch...but a completely new port. The best analogy I have is PS3 to PS4 or similar. Sure, some of the codework can be reused, but its actually a whole other effort to make the jump. I hope you will understand.

Thanks for all the support folks. We are super pumped for this release. My weekend was completely lost to this game. If you have a small child like I do...make sure they are good and fed before launching
Aspyr-Blair is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 02:11 PM   #17
davecom
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Thanks for publishing this. I will purchase it when it comes out on Steam for sure!
davecom is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 02:12 PM   #18
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanlain View Post
How can the system requirements be so high for a 12-year-old game?
The PC version requires ŕ pentium III, 256 MB ram and a DX 8.1 card. The Mac version requires a C2D 2.2 GHz with 4GB Ram and a radeon HD 3870/Geforce 8800. How can it not run on, say, even a radeon HD 2XXX?
Partly because those are the baseline specs for the modern machines available that run the game. Partly because the game is actually quite the hog. Once you get a big city going, that is a LOT of stuff happening on the screen at once.
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 02:18 PM   #19
emio
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
How is this new version of Sim City running on a iMac Late 2012 with GeForce 650M (2.9GHz, 8GB RAM)? The Aspyr website says:

Quote:
Supported Video Cards:
NVIDIA GeForceŽ 8800, 9400, 9600, GT 120, 320M, 330M, 640M, 650M, 660M, 675MX, 680MX, 750M, 755M, 775M, 780M
But how is the performance? It's fully playable with no stuttering?
emio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 02:29 PM   #20
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by emio View Post
How is this new version of Sim City running on a iMac Late 2012 with GeForce 650M (2.9GHz, 8GB RAM)? The Aspyr website says:


But how is the performance? It's fully playable with no stuttering?
Performance is of course always subjective, but we think its quite good...especially on the newer iMacs.

SC4D has always been a bit of a resource hog, especially when panning across a large city. We've done a ton of work to tweak performance and the difference between the old version or even the current PC version vs. this new release is night and day.
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 02:39 PM   #21
emio
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspyr-Blair View Post
Performance is of course always subjective, but we think its quite good...especially on the newer iMacs.
More RAM ist better, isn't it?

On which Mac do you play SC4? Playing SC4 on a iMac 27" must be delightful.
emio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2014, 07:13 PM   #22
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by emio View Post
More RAM ist better, isn't it?

On which Mac do you play SC4? Playing SC4 on a iMac 27" must be delightful.
More RAM never hurts, but this isnt a 64bit app, so the effectiveness of RAM is essentially capped at 8GB.

Yes, me and the publishing team have our own 27" rig we play on in the office

I took that same machine out to MacWorld to show an early build to press folks, and everyone came away really impressed. Its just stunning on a screen that size in that resolution.
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2014, 12:20 AM   #23
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
People on SimTropolis are reporting that NAM doesn't work, which is a deal breaker...hopefully it or SimCity can be updated. I'll stick with the Wine version for now.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2014, 04:33 AM   #24
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspyr-Blair View Post
Yes, the Steam release will be in May!
Yay! I will pick it up then. Thanks.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2014, 10:20 AM   #25
MathBunny123
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada | Sibiu, Romania
I already purchased this game in 2008...so I need to rebuy it for Mac??
__________________
Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini; iPod Touch 5th Generation [64GB]; MacBook Pro Retina 15.4'' Mid-2012; Surface 2 [32GB]
iPad Mini Retina [16GB]
MathBunny123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimCity 4 Deluxe System Requirements - Can I run it? LOLZpersonok PowerPC Macs 5 Mar 13, 2013 06:06 PM
Ronin Snake Edition - Limited Edition with Gold Platings Adutrumque iPhone Accessories 5 Feb 14, 2013 11:19 AM
Airport Express Australia Edition vs. US Edition avsrock90 Buying Tips and Advice 1 Feb 9, 2013 06:12 AM
OS X: SimCity Digital Deluxe - No Mac version? rsnapeuk Mac and PC Games 28 Jan 26, 2013 09:23 PM
Linux: SimCity Deluxe Query LastLine Mac and PC Games 2 Nov 23, 2012 10:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC