Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 29, 2013, 08:35 PM   #1
Qwerty11
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Do I have to restart Mac to get MIDI controller to function after unplugging?

I'm using Garageband and a keyboard connected via USB. If for some reason I disconnect the keyboard, I get a message in Garageband saying that all midi inputs have dropped. The only way I can figure out to get it to re-connect is to restart the Mac. Is there any other way?
Qwerty11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:19 AM   #2
bwhli
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwerty11 View Post
I'm using Garageband and a keyboard connected via USB. If for some reason I disconnect the keyboard, I get a message in Garageband saying that all midi inputs have dropped. The only way I can figure out to get it to re-connect is to restart the Mac. Is there any other way?
Garageband should automatically detect the MIDI keyboard. Just tried it in Garageband with a USB MIDI controller I have, and unplugging and replugging did not require a restart to function.
__________________
@bwhli
bwhli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:28 PM   #3
Qwerty11
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwhli View Post
Garageband should automatically detect the MIDI keyboard. Just tried it in Garageband with a USB MIDI controller I have, and unplugging and replugging did not require a restart to function.
Plugging in the keyboard creates to prefs pane "YAMAHA USB-MIDI." Maybe it is creating some type of ad-hoc connection.
Qwerty11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:18 PM   #4
bwhli
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwerty11 View Post
Plugging in the keyboard creates to prefs pane "YAMAHA USB-MIDI." Maybe it is creating some type of ad-hoc connection.
The Yamaha USB-MIDI is the Yamaha MIDI driver being loaded up. It's normal. I'm not really sure what could be causing your issue. Have you updated to the latest drivers?
__________________
@bwhli
bwhli is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there any ways to use a midi controller to control a Mac zionation Digital Audio 4 Apr 18, 2014 01:47 PM
Recommendations for Midi keyboard/Controller rangers12 Digital Audio 5 Oct 25, 2013 01:44 AM
USB Hub for MIDI controller? Puckman1 Digital Audio 1 Jul 16, 2013 04:49 PM
Which MIDI controller to buy? vesne Digital Audio 3 Feb 10, 2013 12:42 PM
MIDI Keyboard Controller For Mountain Lion peglegjack Digital Audio 0 Nov 22, 2012 05:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC