Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JohnnyComeLatly

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 12, 2010
I followed the how-to linked to Apple's support from a few threads on here, but I've noticed most are about iTunes 10 and older. I have a MBA, MBP (2008, can't upgrade to Mtn Lion), and Mac Mini that I would like to all connect to one, central library using iTunes 11.

While following the instructions, I created a directory called iTunes Media on my NAS. I then went into "Library" and consolidated. This took my 70 gigs of music and a couple movies and copied them to my NAS. I then deleted my iTunes Library on the Mini (which was my main Library beforehand). I closed, and reopened the iTunes app, which then found the NAS iTunes Media Library.

I then went to the MBA and tried changing the Preferences > Advanced > Library location to the same. Closed, reopened, and it didn't find it. I then tried the OPTiON + double click iTunes icon, and was prompted to point to a library. However this won't accept selecting the NAS iTunes Media folder. It says, "No Library found." Here's the irony, I open again the MBA iTunes, and see my shared "Mac Mini Library" (which is on the NAS) and it loads the whole library just fine. Click the NAS name under Shared, and the same: it loads and plays just fine.

In every case on the MBA, I can't get the library to recognize it's own local library as the one on the NAS, and I double checked the preferences/advanced are identical between the Mini and MBA ( /Volumes/Public/iTunes Media ).

What am I missing? I spent about 20 minutes on Apple's tech support, since I still have about 2 months left on my MBA's phone support, but he couldn't think of anything else to try.

Attonine

macrumors 6502a
Feb 15, 2006
Kent. UK