Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 30, 2013, 01:38 PM   #1
MaxHarryson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
670GTX not working, MP 3.1 , 10.8.3

EDIT: i ment 10.8.2 !! Sorry for misleading title !
EDIT 2: Works all right in w7 but it doesn't seem to outperform my 6870 by that much, possible CPU bottleneck?


I recently bought a Asus 670 gtx DirectCU II (or some other irrelevant suffix), the version with 2 6pin (i think that there is one asus version that has 1 6+2)¨

I updated to 10.8.2 and plugged the card into slot 2 since it won't fit into slot 1. It gives me no boot screen, as expected. But when it the screen finally turns on its full white, no mouse cursor or anything.

When i plugged in my 8800 gt into slot 1, keeping the 670 in slot two so that it would be faster switching back (removed all power cables from it ofc) the computer started doing an infinite restart loop, restarting at some point after the spinny thing pops up underneath the apple during startup. I tried restarting it a few times, including starting it up in safe and from the ML disk, everything yielding the same result.

At the final restart attempt I removed the 670. Suddenly it works again. I installed the latest drivers from nVidia and put the 670 back in. Still, whitescreen.

I popped the 8800gt in and switched to windows in bootcamp, then placed the 670 back in. It seems to be working in windows fully (Im going to try some 3d games on it now) after installing drivers from the website.

Anyone know whats wrong ?
As a side note, i had a 6870 previously but it gave me a blackscreen for some reason, even after installing all the kexts (or what they are called, I'm not that good on Mac OsX unfortunately). Worked the first time in OsX tough and also worked perfectly when booted into windows.

MP 3.1, 2x2.8 xeon, 8800gt / 670, 4gb ram

Recap:

- Asus 670 gtx gives no boot screen and then full whitescreen, nothing happening for 20+ minutes

-10.8.2

-Updated drivers from website

-8800gt works when 670 is not plugged in, otherwise restart loop

-670 works under windows 7 64bit

Last edited by MaxHarryson; Jan 30, 2013 at 02:15 PM.
MaxHarryson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:27 PM   #2
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
This poster seemed to have a similar symptom also with an Asus card, but in a 5,1 MP. Later the problem was solved by reinstalling OS X 10.8 as stated in this one.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:49 PM   #3
MaxHarryson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Does reinstalling mean that i lose all of my files unless i back them up ?

edit : Read something about some other guy who had a similar problem but reinstalled drivers and had it work. Also seems that my card actually goes into the first slot, will try to boot with it there

edit 2: tried reinstalling OSX from the CD, nothing changed. I did not do a clean wipe and then reinstall everything tough. Will try and uninstall all drivers i installed then try again

Last edited by MaxHarryson; Jan 30, 2013 at 03:46 PM.
MaxHarryson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 08:36 AM   #4
MaxHarryson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Bumpin

Anyone else have any possible fixes ? Will it possibly work better in 10.8.3 ? should get "downgrade" to lion ?
MaxHarryson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 08:56 AM   #5
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502a
 
BDM STUDIOS NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxHarryson View Post
Bumpin

Anyone else have any possible fixes ? Will it possibly work better in 10.8.3 ? should get "downgrade" to lion ?
This is my setup in MAC PRO 3.1 OS X 10.8.2!

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...7#post16745377



Goodluck mate!

Cheers
__________________
~ Berend

MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 8800-GT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:32 AM   #6
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxHarryson View Post
Anyone else have any possible fixes ? Will it possibly work better in 10.8.3 ? should get "downgrade" to lion ?
We all know that GTX 670 should work with 10.8.2 and you are hesitant to do a clean install, therefore here's an easier way for you: Find an external or USB drive with at least 16GB and do a clean install of 10.8.2 on it and then use it as a boot drive. If it works fine with the GTX 670, you know you have conflicting files in your original drive probably from the ones you installed earlier for the 6870. Since it works under Windows, it can't be defective. Good luck.

Last edited by xcodeSyn; Feb 3, 2013 at 12:07 PM.
xcodeSyn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:59 AM   #7
Baunkjaer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
How come the card doesn´t fit in slot 1?
__________________

MBP 8,2, 2,2GHz (i7), 16GB, 250GB Samsung 840 EVO, HD 3000/AMD HD 6750M  iPhone 5S  iPad Air  Qnap TS-221 @ 2*2TB WD Red
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 08:09 AM   #8
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baunkjaer View Post
How come the card doesn´t fit in slot 1?
I've not heard of this except with 3rd party coolers which have mounting apparatus on the underside of the card.
slughead is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 08:16 AM   #9
Baunkjaer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
Quote:
Originally Posted by slughead View Post
I've not heard of this except with 3rd party coolers which have mounting apparatus on the underside of the card.
Yeah, like a watercooled solution, with a big back-plate
__________________

MBP 8,2, 2,2GHz (i7), 16GB, 250GB Samsung 840 EVO, HD 3000/AMD HD 6750M  iPhone 5S  iPad Air  Qnap TS-221 @ 2*2TB WD Red
Baunkjaer is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 08:57 AM   #10
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502a
 
BDM STUDIOS NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by baunkjaer View Post
yeah, like a watercooled solution, with a big back-plate
:d:d:d
__________________
~ Berend

MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 8800-GT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 10:43 AM   #11
MaxHarryson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fixed problem, reformatted and reinstalled

Works like a charm
MaxHarryson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:55 AM   #12
Baunkjaer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxHarryson View Post
Fixed problem, reformatted and reinstalled

Works like a charm
Awesome. I´m not sure wether to choose GTX 670, or wait for 10.8.3 and the HD 7950....
__________________

MBP 8,2, 2,2GHz (i7), 16GB, 250GB Samsung 840 EVO, HD 3000/AMD HD 6750M  iPhone 5S  iPad Air  Qnap TS-221 @ 2*2TB WD Red
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 03:41 PM   #13
MaxHarryson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baunkjaer View Post
Awesome. I´m not sure wether to choose GTX 670, or wait for 10.8.3 and the HD 7950....
rumors say that 7950 has better money/performance ratio. The 670 is being bottlenecked quite a bit by my computer. However, its gonna go into a gaming pc soon so its k
MaxHarryson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:13 AM   #14
Baunkjaer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxHarryson View Post
rumors say that 7950 has better money/performance ratio. The 670 is being bottlenecked quite a bit by my computer. However, its gonna go into a gaming pc soon so its k
They will cost me the same, so it´s a matter of AMD or nVidia.
__________________

MBP 8,2, 2,2GHz (i7), 16GB, 250GB Samsung 840 EVO, HD 3000/AMD HD 6750M  iPhone 5S  iPad Air  Qnap TS-221 @ 2*2TB WD Red
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 11:06 AM   #15
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baunkjaer View Post
They will cost me the same, so it´s a matter of AMD or nVidia.
The GTX 670 is almost $100 over the Radeon 7950 in the US and it has better overall performance. The main advantage of the 7950 is in the OpenCL and GPGPU area. Unless you are into OpenCL, it's a no brainer to pick the GTX 670 especially when they have the same price and NVIDIA has a much better driver support for Mac OS X.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 02:09 AM   #16
Baunkjaer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcodeSyn View Post
The GTX 670 is almost $100 over the Radeon 7950 in the US and it has better overall performance. The main advantage of the 7950 is in the OpenCL and GPGPU area. Unless you are into OpenCL, it's a no brainer to pick the GTX 670 especially when they have the same price and NVIDIA has a much better driver support for Mac OS X.
Well, maybe it´s better to wait for some test with the 7950 - and 10.8.3
__________________

MBP 8,2, 2,2GHz (i7), 16GB, 250GB Samsung 840 EVO, HD 3000/AMD HD 6750M  iPhone 5S  iPad Air  Qnap TS-221 @ 2*2TB WD Red
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 05:00 AM   #17
vprocessing
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
GTX 670 4GB in Mac Pro 3.1

I'm wakening this thread

I have a Mac Pro 3.1 with ML 8.4 and a GTX 670 4GB…
I can't manage to have open CL working… Anyone has an idea ?

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mjv0thg8quemsa7/fQl1wl88eV

Thx
vprocessing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2013, 01:49 PM   #18
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxHarryson View Post
The 670 is being bottlenecked quite a bit by my computer.
I felt the same way when I was running a GTX 670 in my Mac Pro 3,1. When I upgraded to a Mac Pro 5,1 I saw a noticeable increase in performance. I don't know what exactly was the bottleneck but it was later proven again by rob-ART morgan here.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 12:23 AM   #19
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by vprocessing View Post
I'm wakening this thread

I have a Mac Pro 3.1 with ML 8.4 and a GTX 670 4GB…
I can't manage to have open CL working… Anyone has an idea ?

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mjv0thg8quemsa7/fQl1wl88eV

Thx
Have been helping poster on another board.

He received defective cards from a vendor in Hong Kong. We discovered that his GTX670 was only outputting 1100 Single Precision Gigaflops in CUDA-Z. Card should output around 1600. Also, once we got OpenCl working by removing the defective GT120 he was getting 400fps on OpenCl Waves benchmark. Should be over 500.

BAdly flashed card limiting throughput.

Others using GTX670 should be able to verify.
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 01:53 PM   #20
hmls
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Have been helping poster on another board.

He received defective cards from a vendor in Hong Kong. We discovered that his GTX670 was only outputting 1100 Single Precision Gigaflops in CUDA-Z. Card should output around 1600. Also, once we got OpenCl working by removing the defective GT120 he was getting 400fps on OpenCl Waves benchmark. Should be over 500.

BAdly flashed card limiting throughput.

Others using GTX670 should be able to verify.
Oh.. I saw your post at another forum, You mean that vendor Mxxgraphicfans? He is from Taiwan , AFAIK .
hmls is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 03:40 PM   #21
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmls View Post
Oh.. I saw your post at another forum, You mean that vendor Mxxgraphicfans? He is from Taiwan , AFAIK .
I was trying to avoid using names.

In any case, anyone with a flashed for Mac GTX670 should make sure that they get 1600 Single Precision Gigaflops in CUDA-Z. They should also get around 525 FPS in the OpenCl Oceanwaves test.

These scores are easily acheivable with a PC one running in OSX so one with an EFI should not take a 25% performance hit just for a boot screen.

Here is an example of another one running in OSX:

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/top...013/?p=1894922

The nice thing about both of those benchamrks I have mentioned is that they are largely CPU and resolution independent. So any Mac running them should get similar score from same GPU. ANy GTX670 that only scores 400/1100 has an incorrectly written rom that is throttling speeds.

This throttling will affect everything done with card, from games to OpenCl to CUDA to rendering the desktop.

Last edited by MacVidCards; Jul 29, 2013 at 04:19 PM.
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2014, 08:32 AM   #22
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502a
 
BDM STUDIOS NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
EVGA GTX-670 FTW 4GB -> flashed-to-the-Mac?

Hi MVC,

Been searching the MR forums and it seems to me that the GTX-670 is a more or less forgotten PC GPU regarding the flash-for-mac routine?

I would like to flash my GTX-670 for:
1. Getting PCI 2.0 speeds in Windows 8
2. Getting better (cooler) overall temp maintenance and lesser power consumption (green machine)
3. Free up one PCIe slot (#3) now in use by a 8800 GT Mac for bootscreen/maintenance, because there are so much more nice pci-cards to add to a MP

add: moved the GTX to a MP 5.1 2012

TIA for your directions.

~ Cheers
__________________
~ Berend

MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 8800-GT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)

Last edited by BDM STUDIOS NL; May 28, 2014 at 08:41 AM.
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2014, 02:30 PM   #23
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
There is no easy way to write and flash EFI for anything other than 680.

The roms now have 5 parts whereas a GTX285 had 1. And all 5 parts have to be in concert. The EFI replaces the UEFI which is now one of the 5. The other 4 and the EFI all have to have pieces that correspond to each other.

Sometimes takes me several hours to get one right.

I always meant to offer GTX670s but manufacturers keep switching RAM, I get a rom working, and then it gets broken by fresh batch of identical looking cards.
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2014, 02:46 PM   #24
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502a
 
BDM STUDIOS NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Thanks for your prompt reply and clarification MVC! I'll have to stick with the non EFI GTX670 for now.

- Cheers
__________________
~ Berend

MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 8800-GT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External HDD not working on Mac, but working on Windows BlaXpirit Mac Basics and Help 8 Jan 22, 2014 11:07 AM
iPhone: iPhone 5 / iPad 3 with Airport Extreme and WPA2 not working, WPA working ManuCH iOS 6 7 Aug 13, 2013 08:20 PM
Backspace & 'V' not working on keyboard passwords not working, Please help paintitblack Mac Peripherals 8 Jul 12, 2013 05:35 AM
General: The List of iOS 6 Compatible Jailbreak Tweaks (Working/Non Working) HeyGreggie Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 363 Feb 26, 2013 06:43 PM
Why background process stops working when other programs are working? kenreaves iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Aug 3, 2012 12:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC