Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:28 AM   #1
drkmnx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
New iMac 27' Boot Time?

I got my new iMac 27' with fusion drive.
Everything looks great expect booting time.
The booting time is about 40 sec.
Is it normal or not ?
drkmnx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:00 AM   #2
trustever
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
wait for others to re but I remembe that the base 21,5 no fusion should boot in 35 seconds (or maybe I am confused)...
trustever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:08 AM   #3
mlamb64150
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Isle of Man
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkmnx View Post
I got my new iMac 27' with fusion drive.
Everything looks great expect booting time.
The booting time is about 40 sec.
Is it normal or not ?
Definitely not normal. Mine boots in <10 secs, super fast and no crawl once it hits the desktop.
__________________
MBP 17 16GB iPad 3 32GB iPhone 5 Late'12 iMac 27 3.4ghz i7, GTX 680MX 2G, 1TB Fusion drive Apple TV G2/3 120GB iPod Classic 1TB Time Capsule
mlamb64150 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:18 AM   #4
TeeZee1000
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I has a similar issue with istat installed, once I uninstalled it, my quick boot times were back. I would check your "boot up" software if you have any? Also a external drive might hinder the speed as well.
TeeZee1000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:13 AM   #5
JoshMKB24
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Midwest
What are you considering boot time? Are you considering the time from pressing the power button to when it turns on, or from the time you turn on the power button to when it asks for user password to log in? If its the 1st one then yeah thats really slow, but from when I turn it on or restart and it gets to user login screen 40 seconds sounds about right?
__________________
2012/13 27" iMac, (2013)13" MacBook Air, iPhone 5s, iPad Air, Apple TV
JoshMKB24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:02 AM   #6
macpro2000
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Takes 4 sec to get to the apple and 6.5 sec to get to desktop. 3tb fusion 3.4 i7

Basically it screams.
macpro2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:13 PM   #7
smoking monkey
macrumors 6502a
 
smoking monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by macpro2000 View Post
Takes 4 sec to get to the apple and 6.5 sec to get to desktop. 3tb fusion 3.4 i7

Basically it screams.
Yeah, mine is super fast as well. I used to turn my computer on, go away, grab a drink, get a back rub, then watch the wife make me a sandwich. When I returned it might just have been ready. BUT now, I barely got time to readjust the underpants wedgie that my chair so lovingly gives me.
__________________
G3 450 B&W, K-Lime iBook G3/466SE, PB G4 867(Ti), G4 800 DP(QS), PB G4 1.5 17 (Al), iPT 1G, 08 24 iMac, MBP 09 17, iP3Gs, iPad1&2, iP4s, '12 27 iMac, iP5s, rMBP(H) 15", Air.
smoking monkey is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:10 PM   #8
Megaoctane
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Norway
Check what program's you have installed lately, or try to re-install OS.
I take it you checked the specs that you really got a fusion drive, and not just the regular HDD. Mistakes can happen..
__________________
Ordered 16-Jan, Preparing 02-Feb, Shipped 04-Feb-2013.
Late 2012 27" 2.9 i5, 8GB RAM 1TB FD; iPad 4th Gen; iPad mini; iPhone 5
Megaoctane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 05:29 AM   #9
s.farrelly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I have the same problem as well. sometimes it is fast and other times very slow in booting up.

Going to reinstall osx and see what happens then
s.farrelly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 05:32 AM   #10
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkmnx View Post
I got my new iMac 27' with fusion drive.
Everything looks great expect booting time.
The booting time is about 40 sec.
Is it normal or not ?
Not normal, mine boots in under 12 secs consistently.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:16 AM   #11
Spectrum
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
On my MBPro I had a slow startup caused by the start up disk not being selected correctly.

Go to System Prefs > Startup Disk.

Make sure you have the correct HD highlighted.
Spectrum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:22 AM   #12
s.farrelly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thanks Spectrum shall also try that out.
s.farrelly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:40 AM   #13
benjaminfoden
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
This is not right

Quote:
Originally Posted by drkmnx View Post
I got my new iMac 27' with fusion drive.
Everything looks great expect booting time.
The booting time is about 40 sec.
Is it normal or not ?
That does not sound right at all, to put things into perspective (I'm waiting for my iMac) my Macbook Air boots in around 8 seconds including unlocking the disk - I never even see the wheel. My Windows 8 PC off SSD boots in around 15 seconds so 40 seconds seems unbelievable to me.

Like everyone has said, remove any programs you have installed which may have background processes running which could cause this. Otherwise, make yourself a Genius Appointment and take it up with Apple.
benjaminfoden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:07 AM   #14
drkmnx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectrum View Post
On my MBPro I had a slow startup caused by the start up disk not being selected correctly.

Go to System Prefs > Startup Disk.

Make sure you have the correct HD highlighted.
yeah i did like this and now
booting time 14 sec

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjaminfoden View Post
That does not sound right at all, to put things into perspective (I'm waiting for my iMac) my Macbook Air boots in around 8 seconds including unlocking the disk - I never even see the wheel. My Windows 8 PC off SSD boots in around 15 seconds so 40 seconds seems unbelievable to me.

Like everyone has said, remove any programs you have installed which may have background processes running which could cause this. Otherwise, make yourself a Genius Appointment and take it up with Apple.
this is first booting time i did not install any programs
drkmnx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:19 AM   #15
s.farrelly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Should OSX actually not pick this up automatically? I am going to try it out when I get home tonight, but I thought OSX should be smart enough to automatically place the OS in fusion drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by drkmnx View Post
yeah i did like this and now
booting time 14 sec

----------



this is first booting time i did not install any programs
s.farrelly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:27 AM   #16
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by s.farrelly View Post
Should OSX actually not pick this up automatically? I am going to try it out when I get home tonight, but I thought OSX should be smart enough to automatically place the OS in fusion drive
That's not the issue. Yes the OS will be on the SSD portion of the Fusion drive. The problem, is if an incorrect drive (or no drive) is selected as the Start up disk in the Start up disk preferences, then the EFI has to check all of the drives attached to your computer and determine which one has a valid OS and then boot from there. If it has a drive ear marked as the boot, then it just goes straight to that and boots. You can tell when this is a problem, because it just sits at the gray screen at bootup for about 30 seconds....
__________________
MBP 8,2 15" 2.2Ghz w/ 120GB SSD + 500GB
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:32 AM   #17
benjaminfoden
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkmnx View Post
yeah i did like this and now
booting time 14 sec

----------



this is first booting time i did not install any programs
You have paid a lot of money for this machine, thus I suggest you complain to Apple (I know I would). Perosnally, I would be particularly concerned as the problem could deteriorate the health of the whole machine in the long run and it shouldn't be there.
benjaminfoden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:47 AM   #18
s.farrelly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrbeers View Post
That's not the issue. Yes the OS will be on the SSD portion of the Fusion drive. The problem, is if an incorrect drive (or no drive) is selected as the Start up disk in the Start up disk preferences, then the EFI has to check all of the drives attached to your computer and determine which one has a valid OS and then boot from there. If it has a drive ear marked as the boot, then it just goes straight to that and boots. You can tell when this is a problem, because it just sits at the gray screen at bootup for about 30 seconds....
Ok, that is clear. But does benjaminfoden have a point? Might there be something wrong (in the long run) and that the solution provided is just a (quick) fix?
s.farrelly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 10:44 AM   #19
jtrainor56
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
New i7 with 3TB fusion abt 15 seconds.... which for me it could take 60 seconds, it's still faster then the Lenovo stinkpad I have at work. From startup loading all my apps takes about 12 minutes!
__________________
2012 27" iMac: i7 3.4GHz: GTX 680 MX: 24 GB RAM; 3TB Fusion HD| Apple TV | iPad 16gb 1st Gen| iPhone 5c
Nikon D5100, 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6
jtrainor56 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:19 PM   #20
s.farrelly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectrum View Post
On my MBPro I had a slow startup caused by the start up disk not being selected correctly.

Go to System Prefs > Startup Disk.

Make sure you have the correct HD highlighted.
Sad to say this does not work for me. Should I see more than Macintosh HD OS X, 10.8.2? Going to re-install OSX and see what happens then
s.farrelly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 03:29 AM   #21
Spectrum
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkmnx View Post
yeah i did like this and now
booting time 14 sec[COLOR="#808080"]
Glad to hear it worked. Rarely my setting gets forgotten (but I do have 3 possible OS's/drives to boot from...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by s.farrelly View Post
Sad to say this does not work for me. Should I see more than Macintosh HD OS X, 10.8.2? Going to re-install OSX and see what happens then
Sorry to hear it didn't work. Either reinstall, or make a clone of your system to a partition on the same drive (or a FW external), select that and test.

...Actually, I'm not sure how the Fusion drive behaves when you partition it...Is it even possible to do so? How does it decide which partition is on which drive (SSD vs HD)?

I'd be interested to know...not that I have a fusion drive...yet.
Spectrum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 06:39 AM   #22
s.farrelly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectrum View Post
Glad to hear it worked. Rarely my setting gets forgotten (but I do have 3 possible OS's/drives to boot from...)



Sorry to hear it didn't work. Either reinstall, or make a clone of your system to a partition on the same drive (or a FW external), select that and test.

...Actually, I'm not sure how the Fusion drive behaves when you partition it...Is it even possible to do so? How does it decide which partition is on which drive (SSD vs HD)?

I'd be interested to know...not that I have a fusion drive...yet.
Well it is working now far better. Most of the times under the 20 sec :-). What I did was a hard reset. CMD +P + R just before the Apple logo shows up when the computer starts up. Make sure you use a cabled keyboard, because the bluetooth is not fast enough.

I am pretty happy now :-)
s.farrelly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2013, 05:05 PM   #23
DSchorow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I just setup my new 27" iMac with a Fusion drive. My Boot times are horrible. It takes 2 1/2 minutes from the time I push the power button to when the login prompt appears. I measure these with my watch (format "minute:second").

Time Delta Event
0:00 0:00 Pushed start button
0:04 0:04 Chimes ring and grey screen appears
1:19 1:15 Flashing globe appears
2:21 1:02 Apple icon appears
2:30 0:09 Login prompt appears

I don't think this is from any software I have loaded. When I first booted it up after taking it out the box, it took such a long time to start the startup assistant that I thought it was hung. It eventually started with the flashing globe, something I've never seen before (is this tied to location services?).

I did have the memory upgraded to 24 GB by the store where I bought it. So, they must have turned it on to test that, but somehow restored it to the factory state.

Any ideas?
DSchorow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2013, 05:14 PM   #24
mushroomtip
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSchorow View Post
I just setup my new 27" iMac with a Fusion drive. My Boot times are horrible. It takes 2 1/2 minutes from the time I push the power button to when the login prompt appears. I measure these with my watch (format "minute:second").

Time Delta Event
0:00 0:00 Pushed start button
0:04 0:04 Chimes ring and grey screen appears
1:19 1:15 Flashing globe appears
2:21 1:02 Apple icon appears
2:30 0:09 Login prompt appears

I don't think this is from any software I have loaded. When I first booted it up after taking it out the box, it took such a long time to start the startup assistant that I thought it was hung. It eventually started with the flashing globe, something I've never seen before (is this tied to location services?).

I did have the memory upgraded to 24 GB by the store where I bought it. So, they must have turned it on to test that, but somehow restored it to the factory state.

Any ideas?
something is definitely not right. it should not take more than 20 seconds . I believe 16 is the norm.
__________________
Once You Go Mac, You Never Go Back !
mushroomtip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2013, 05:14 PM   #25
DSchorow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Solved it, thanks to the ideas on this forum.

To test the ram, the store must have set the startup disk to an external disk. When I went into the "Startup Disk" preference screen, nothing was selected. I selected "Macintosh HD" and tried it again. This time it took around 16 seconds from the time I pushed the button to the time it prompted for my login. There was no flashing globe intermediate step.

Thanks forum.
DSchorow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC