Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 6, 2013, 08:53 AM   #1
prosty41
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
iMac RAM

I know this topic has been beat to death but i get a bit confused as I search throught the old threads.

My 27 in Imac is on the way and I want to upgrade the RAM ASAP. Is it best to go with Cruical from amazon? I am thinking bump it up to 24? Which stick are the best if I want to leave an use the stock RAM?
prosty41 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 06:31 AM   #2
prosty41
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Is this what I need?

Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3 1333 MT/s (PC3-10600) CL9 SODIMM 204-Pin 1.35V/1.5V Notebook Memory Modules CT2KIT102464BF1339 http://amzn.com/B005LAYH3K
prosty41 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 06:34 AM   #3
turtlez
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by prosty41 View Post
Is this what I need?

Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3 1333 MT/s (PC3-10600) CL9 SODIMM 204-Pin 1.35V/1.5V Notebook Memory Modules CT2KIT102464BF1339 http://amzn.com/B005LAYH3K
as long as you put brands in pairs you are fine so if you got four slots 2 for Apple stock ram and 2 for crucial it will be good
turtlez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 06:59 AM   #4
glintoz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
The RAM you are talking about looks like it is 1333MHz and the new iMacs will run @ 1600MHz. It will work (I think) but you can do better. Just go to the crucial site and go through their product selector on the home page to get the right part number then search on Amazon or wherever for the best price.
glintoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 07:17 AM   #5
SamPhoto
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I'm in a similar situation. Have an iMac 27" on order w/16gb. I ordered two 8gb chips from OWC for a total of 32.
SamPhoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 08:44 AM   #6
Ajay(UK)
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Monday evening I ordered 2 x 8GB ram from the Crucial website direct using their compatability checker. It arrived in the post yesterday (Wednesday) and all I need now is my new imac
__________________
Late 2012 27" 3.4Ghz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB FD, GTX 680MX;
iPad Air 32GB White, LTE;
iPhone 5 32GB White;
Ajay(UK) is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much RAM for iMac? aware iMac 20 Apr 2, 2014 06:46 PM
2011 MP 2.2 i7 16 gb ram vs 2012 iMac 2.9 i5 32gb ram absoluteelsewhe iMac 3 Feb 8, 2014 03:03 PM
Transfer RAM from '11 iMac to '12 iMac? mikalh78 iMac 1 Apr 2, 2013 08:17 AM
New iMac, Upgraded Ram, But Ram Running @ 1333mhz Jazwire iMac 159 Jan 11, 2013 06:43 PM
21.5" iMac Has No User-Upgradable RAM; 27" Has Four Accessible RAM Slots MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 257 Dec 27, 2012 03:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC