Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 01:51 PM   #1
Serban
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
iMac 21.5"

Does anyone have this config to show us the benchmark to see if there any difference between this and base model?

I mean 21.5 at 2.9ghz, Geforce 650M, 8 Gram and fusion drive

i know that the base model has about ~9100 points
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:22 PM   #2
trustever
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
The iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2012) Intel Core i5-3335S 2700 MHz (4 cores) reaches a value of 8163 where the iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
Intel Core i5-3470S 2900 MHz (4 cores) reached 9188.

The fusion drive should not be relevant as this test valuates the processor and memory performance
trustever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:28 PM   #3
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
The base model 21.5 is always above 9000 here are some examples
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HV3RrdqZxMA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hDivIGYhUtA at 5"
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:46 PM   #4
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
And i think these benchmarks test CPU RAM and Video
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:50 PM   #5
trustever
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I picked the data from here.. Should you need to refer it for any reason

http://browser.primatelabs.com/mac-benchmarks
trustever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 06:42 AM   #6
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Seems that Crysis 3 will not run on any 21.5" models and 27" base model.
http://tech2.in.com/news/gaming/cryt...rysis-3/632112

seems to run at minimum you will need at least 1GB vram....so sad..a 2012 dektop not even run a game just for casual player like me
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 09:21 AM   #7
azentropy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Surprise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
Seems that Crysis 3 will not run on any 21.5" models and 27" base model.
http://tech2.in.com/news/gaming/cryt...rysis-3/632112

seems to run at minimum you will need at least 1GB vram....so sad..a 2012 dektop not even run a game just for casual player like me
Crysis 3 isn't a casual game
azentropy is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 12:58 PM   #8
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
If i want just to play it for 30 min/week , i classify this as casual so....still i think all of the games that comes out from this year you will need a minimum 1gb vram...so said, i think apple i getting behind with the desktop in terms of video cards(beside the max 27" model)
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 08:13 AM   #9
azentropy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Surprise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
If i want just to play it for 30 min/week , i classify this as casual so....still i think all of the games that comes out from this year you will need a minimum 1gb vram...so said, i think apple i getting behind with the desktop in terms of video cards(beside the max 27" model)
That is casual in time, not in requirements. If you want to play high end games at all then you are an "occasional" high end gamer. I've never seen game requirements based on how long you might want to play the game each week. Your system either meets the requirements or not!

I agree with you that they should offer more/better options and I really wish they would offer a consumer tower. But considering that most every other manufacture's all-in-one's include just integrated graphics standard, the iMac has an advantage there.

[annoying car analogy]Being upset that you can't play Crysis 3 at all would kinda be like saying you are a casual driver, but occasionally you want to drag race and you are upset that your car doesn't can't go 0-60mph in 5 seconds every once in a while.
azentropy is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:07 AM   #10
Irishman
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by azentropy View Post
That is casual in time, not in requirements. If you want to play high end games at all then you are an "occasional" high end gamer. I've never seen game requirements based on how long you might want to play the game each week. Your system either meets the requirements or not!

I agree with you that they should offer more/better options and I really wish they would offer a consumer tower. But considering that most every other manufacture's all-in-one's include just integrated graphics standard, the iMac has an advantage there.

[annoying car analogy]Being upset that you can't play Crysis
3 at all would kinda be like saying you are a casual driver, but occasionally you want to drag race and you are upset that your car doesn't can't go 0-60mph in 5 seconds every once in a while.
I'm hopeful that, now that Intel is loosening the thunderbolt licensing requirements, external GPU boxes connected via TB will lengthen the life of All in Ones like the iMac.

Thunderbolt has alot of potential.
Irishman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 02:40 PM   #11
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I have a question: i just played with an 21.5 imac for 5 minutes, i want to see how trailers in full hd are looking so a trailer in 1080p doesn't shown in full screen (there are black borders up and down) so this wasn't any differences in 21.5 widescreen 1080p and my actual monitor 19" . What the hell? i am doing something wrong? because i thought any movie in 1080p will take the full screen experience
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 03:40 PM   #12
azentropy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Surprise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
I have a question: i just played with an 21.5 imac for 5 minutes, i want to see how trailers in full hd are looking so a trailer in 1080p doesn't shown in full screen (there are black borders up and down) so this wasn't any differences in 21.5 widescreen 1080p and my actual monitor 19" . What the hell? i am doing something wrong? because i thought any movie in 1080p will take the full screen experience
1080p is the resolution, not the aspect ratio.
The trailer was probably in 2.35:1 rather than 16:9.
azentropy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 03:51 PM   #13
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
So there are not movies in 1080p 16:9 aspect ratio?
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 04:00 PM   #14
azentropy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Surprise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
So there are not movies in 1080p 16:9 aspect ratio?
Sure, but in the theatre most movies are 1.85:1 to ~ 2.35:1, so the trailers typically are too.
azentropy is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 27" iMac screen issue..."dirty", "cloudy", image retention issues MMcCraryNJ iMac 1 May 18, 2013 04:02 PM
Confused?!?! Maxed out iMac or "base" iMac and MBA as combo? MacPat333 iMac 10 Nov 3, 2012 10:55 PM
RAM from "Late 2009" iMac in "Mid 2011" iMac? desertman iMac 1 Aug 12, 2012 06:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC