Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2012, 03:57 PM   #1
Bez59
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Derbyshire, England
Is 2GB of RAM enough?

Hi, I am planning on getting a MacBook Air for my wife for christmas and i'm not sure if 2gb of ram will be enough or if i should get one with 4gb.

She will only be using it for web browsing and playing games like family farm and dragon city on facebook.

Will 2gb be enough?

If i got one with 2gb and it wasn't enough can i upgrade it or is it not replaceable?

Thanks.
__________________
2011 MacBook Pro 15" 2.2ghz i7 8gb 240gb SSD 2010 MacBook Air 11" 1.6ghz C2D 4gb 128gb
iPhone 4 32gb iPad 3 16gb iPod classic 5th gen 80gb
Bez59 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 03:59 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bez59 View Post
Hi, I am planning on getting a MacBook Air for my wife for christmas and i'm not sure if 2gb of ram will be enough or if i should get one with 4gb.

She will only be using it for web browsing and playing games like family farm and dragon city on facebook.

Will 2gb be enough?

If i got one with 2gb and it wasn't enough can i upgrade it or is it not replaceable?
No, you can't add RAM after purchase. 2GB may be enough, but it's borderline. I'd generally recommend a minimum of 4GB.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 04:18 PM   #3
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
I assume you mean refurbished ones or ones off non-Apple sites, since the new ones all come with 4GB minumum.

2GB of RAM is barely enough now. I assume you expect the computer to last a while, and 2GB of RAM will be woefully too little very soon.

That said, it'll work fine today for her needs and uses today... but no guarantees about next summer, for example.

----------

On a related note:

If those are truly her only uses, I strongly recommend considering one of the new Chromebooks (the $199 one is cheap, has lots of storage and outputs, but is a bit noisy with the fan, and the $249 one is really quite nice but very limited on storage... but it uses an SSD instead of a spinning hard disk, and that's a big plus).

They only really work when on WiFi (unless you're looking at stored media files... there aren't really any true apps on them), but... hey, $199 or $249 is a very good price, and even though they only come with 2GB, they're cheap enough that you could buy 4-5 of them over a few years for the price of the lowest-end MBA.

I have the $249 one, and it really is a very MacBook Air-like experience - 80% or more of the MBA for much less money. I also have the real MBA, which I prefer overall because I develop and use apps, but the Chromebook is a very nice option for those who mainly surf/play Flash games (yes, it plays Flash).
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 05:39 PM   #4
Beanoir
macrumors 6502a
 
Beanoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 51 degrees North
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
No, you can't add RAM after purchase. 2GB may be enough, but it's borderline. I'd generally recommend a minimum of 4GB.
Really??! i'd say given what the OP reckons it will be used for that 2GB is plenty...

Some people need to get off their RAM trip.
__________________
iPhone5 32Gb-iPad Mini 64Gb
iMac 27" 3.2Ghz i3 / 16Gb / 1Tb
MacMini 2.33GHz / 128Gb SSD / 20" ACD
Macbook Air 11.6" 1.6Ghz i5 / 4Gb / 128Gb
Beanoir is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 05:45 PM   #5
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beanoir View Post
Really??! i'd say given what the OP reckons it will be used for that 2GB is plenty...

Some people need to get off their RAM trip.
There is no "RAM trip". As I said, 2GB may be enough, but it depends on the user's browsing and other computing habits. It certainly isn't enough for me, as I frequently have 30+ tabs open simultaneously on sites with multimedia content. While 2GB may work fine for you, it may or may not be enough for the OP.
GGJstudios is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 07:05 PM   #6
Beanoir
macrumors 6502a
 
Beanoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 51 degrees North
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
There is no "RAM trip". As I said, 2GB may be enough, but it depends on the user's browsing and other computing habits. It certainly isn't enough for me, as I frequently have 30+ tabs open simultaneously on sites with multimedia content. While 2GB may work fine for you, it may or may not be enough for the OP.
The requirements were laid out in the first post.

2GB WILL be enough. Move on.
__________________
iPhone5 32Gb-iPad Mini 64Gb
iMac 27" 3.2Ghz i3 / 16Gb / 1Tb
MacMini 2.33GHz / 128Gb SSD / 20" ACD
Macbook Air 11.6" 1.6Ghz i5 / 4Gb / 128Gb
Beanoir is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 07:09 PM   #7
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
arent flash games on facebook especially ram hogs?

i remember when i was playing farmville back in the day, my ram almost filled up the 4GB and things started to get really sluggish (got 8 GB now) and all mba come with 4GB now anyway unless u want to buy a refurbished one
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD
bushido is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 07:16 PM   #8
Beanoir
macrumors 6502a
 
Beanoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 51 degrees North
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
arent flash games on facebook especially ram hogs?

i remember when i was playing farmville back in the day, my ram almost filled up the 4GB and things started to get really sluggish (got 8 GB now) and all mba come with 4GB now anyway unless u want to buy a refurbished one
Thats probably some plugin doing that that hadn't been updated or the like. A flash game on facebook on its own merit would not require 4GB of RAM, in fact nowhere even close to that.
__________________
iPhone5 32Gb-iPad Mini 64Gb
iMac 27" 3.2Ghz i3 / 16Gb / 1Tb
MacMini 2.33GHz / 128Gb SSD / 20" ACD
Macbook Air 11.6" 1.6Ghz i5 / 4Gb / 128Gb
Beanoir is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:01 PM   #9
glsillygili
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
no please get the 120gb ssd 4gb ram model 2gb is way to slow
glsillygili is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:07 PM   #10
spork183
macrumors 6502a
 
spork183's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beanoir View Post
Really??! i'd say given what the OP reckons it will be used for that 2GB is plenty...

Some people need to get off their RAM trip.
Good mercy. Needs change. A computer that is fixed at 2gb, with no ability to upgrade, is marginal at best for running 10.8 and if, heaven forbid, it needs an upgrade in (dare I say it...) RAM, he is SOL.


Some people need to get off their Judgemental trip. Maybe he likes slow and early obsolete. Maybe he likes spinning wheels. Maybe he hates his wife and wants her to have a stinking Mac experience. In that case, 2gb will be sufficient and he can rest assured he didn't succumb to the pressure of those on a "RAM trip".
__________________
"I'll buy almost anything if it's shiny and made by Apple..."
-Macbook Wheel Ad
spork183 is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:12 PM   #11
coldjeanzzz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I'm assuming you want to get the one from the refurbished store for $749

Personally I think spending that much money on such lousy specs just to have something that looks nice and will be used to browse the web is a bit ridiculous, but you might as well just spend the extra $80 and get the model with a 128 GB SSD and 4 GB RAM and you won't have be restricted to using it as only a web browsing machine in the future
coldjeanzzz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:18 PM   #12
Bez59
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Derbyshire, England
Thanks for the replies.

I will be getting one of the refurbs or a second hand one.

I didn't think 2gb would be enough but my wife was trying to save money as she is putting the rest towards it.

I will get one with 4gb or maybe a MacBook Pro and get an SSD for it.
Bez59 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:19 PM   #13
Calot
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bez59 View Post
Hi, I am planning on getting a MacBook Air for my wife for christmas and i'm not sure if 2gb of ram will be enough or if i should get one with 4gb.

She will only be using it for web browsing and playing games like family farm and dragon city on facebook.

Will 2gb be enough?

If i got one with 2gb and it wasn't enough can i upgrade it or is it not replaceable?

Thanks.
NO.Not NEARLY enough. Unless you run Windows 98. Then, yes, it is enough.
Calot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:30 PM   #14
spork183
macrumors 6502a
 
spork183's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bez59 View Post
Thanks for the replies.

I will be getting one of the refurbs or a second hand one.

I didn't think 2gb would be enough but my wife was trying to save money as she is putting the rest towards it.

I will get one with 4gb or maybe a MacBook Pro and get an SSD for it.
My daughter has a 13in Macbook Pro. My wife has a 13in macbook air. The difference in weight is substantial. The air is very nice for moving around, casual browsing, email, etc. My wife loves hers (4gb ram, btw ). The extra weight doesn't look like much, but it matters. Good Luck!
__________________
"I'll buy almost anything if it's shiny and made by Apple..."
-Macbook Wheel Ad
spork183 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:33 PM   #15
konicky
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calot View Post
NO.Not NEARLY enough. Unless you run Windows 98. Then, yes, it is enough.
My Air only has 2GB and works fine with OSX 10.8.2! It isn't marginal at all. Check out reviews of the 2010 revision which came with 2GB as standard. It will be fine for what she uses it for
konicky is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:34 PM   #16
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
No.
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!
littfam is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:36 PM   #17
konicky
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by littfam View Post
No.
Yes!
konicky is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:40 PM   #18
spork183
macrumors 6502a
 
spork183's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by konicky View Post
My Air only has 2GB and works fine with OSX 10.8.2! It isn't marginal at all. Check out reviews of the 2010 revision which came with 2GB as standard. It will be fine for what she uses it for
disclaimer: Not trying to be controversial or antagonistic.

Do you worry that the next OS will require more? (I hate that Apple makes the ram a static element on these, and on the RetinaMBP, the new 21iMac, etc.)

If you are running multiple programs, do you get any slowdowns? I'm just curious what the limit is before resource need begins to outstrip available ram.
__________________
"I'll buy almost anything if it's shiny and made by Apple..."
-Macbook Wheel Ad
spork183 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:54 PM   #19
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by konicky View Post
Yes!
No.

The question was "Is two gigs of RAM Enough?". My answer Is No. I would "NEVER" suggest that someone run a machine today with less than 8 gigs. Thats right 8 gigs. Why you ask? Because code will always be dependent on Hardware evolution and at the current rate a 2 gig machine will not be able to keep up. I think I'm giving "BEz 59" some pretty good advice considering it's for his Wife. Gotta keep the boss happy you know!
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!
littfam is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 09:20 PM   #20
Nukemkb
macrumors 6502a
 
Nukemkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Is 2GB of RAM enough

No.
__________________
iPhone 6, 64GB Silver
Nukemkb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 09:45 PM   #21
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Read this: Very useful info. Then decide.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Random-access_memory
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!
littfam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 12:48 AM   #22
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beanoir View Post
The requirements were laid out in the first post.
And yet not enough information about browsing habits or specific normal workload was given to make a definite determination.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beanoir View Post
2GB WILL be enough.
That's only your assumption, as the OP didn't give enough information to make a definite determination.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beanoir View Post
Move on.
I'll move when and where I like, but thanks for asking.
GGJstudios is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 05:12 AM   #23
konicky
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by spork183 View Post
disclaimer: Not trying to be controversial or antagonistic.

Do you worry that the next OS will require more? (I hate that Apple makes the ram a static element on these, and on the RetinaMBP, the new 21iMac, etc.)
That would be annoying if it was a major change to the OS but if it was just SL to L or L to ML then I wouldn't worry. This Air shipped with Snow Leopard and I would be quite happy still using that. It's not like the previous OS's suddenly stop working when they introduce a new one! My girlfriends PC is still running Windows XP and she sees no reason to change. Women tend to have more important things to worry about!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spork183 View Post
If you are running multiple programs, do you get any slowdowns? I'm just curious what the limit is before resource need begins to outstrip available ram.
I tend not to run too many programs but the only time I notice the spinning wheel is sometimes when editing photos in Aperture.

It might feel a bit sluggish if you were used to a much higher spec machine but the SSD makes it feel lightning fast compared to anything I have used before.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
And yet not enough information about browsing habits or specific normal workload was given to make a definite determination.
Yes it was

"She will only be using it for web browsing and playing games like family farm and dragon city on facebook."

What more do you need to know?
konicky is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 10:08 AM   #24
walkie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
If you install Linux e.g.: Ubuntu, 2Gb RAM is sufficient, it depends on OS, Linux is the most efficient OS I know.
walkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 11:37 AM   #25
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by konicky View Post

Yes it was

"She will only be using it for web browsing and playing games like family farm and dragon city on facebook."

What more do you need to know?
Read post #5. Web browsing alone can place very little or very high demands on RAM.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: What will 2GB of RAM do? Kendo iPad 31 Oct 16, 2013 04:19 PM
2GB Ram 64GB or 4GB Ram 128GB Model? Martylaa MacBook Air 4 Aug 31, 2012 05:50 PM
Anyone try 10.8 with 2GB RAM? artguy10 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 46 Aug 28, 2012 01:11 PM
2008 2GB Ram ---> 8GB Ram ZacNicholson OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Aug 1, 2012 04:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC